We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Reviewed May 9, 2013

In Delft at the moment.We arrived on the 7th May and are here for 5 days.Staff very welcoming.Put on a special French cuisine on 1st night-fabulous.Room spacious and spotless.Bathroom is huge(shower and the biggest bath Ive ever seen)ask for room 29.Only downside is only 3 English channels on TV-but so much to see,we can manage without.Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for room 29,its on ground floor and is a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pearl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 180 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just returned from Delft after visiting the keukenhof gardens. The hotel is in a great location. The accommodation we had was room 28 on the ground floor. A big room with an enormous bed. The bathroom was of a good size but had louvre doors about the size of a small wardrobe. The extractor fan did not work. The chambermaid forgot things most days, i.e., no shower gel, no tea bags, only left one cup. Next day no milk or creamers, next day no towels. The breakfast was buffet style - started at 7.45 - make sure you get there for that time - as one day we arrived at 8.15 and there was a distinct shortage of food. No croissants, only one cereal, every morning it was scambled egg and bacon.
One good point was that the staff were friendly but I think they were embarrassed when asked for more food and politely said there were sorry but there was none. The evening meals were quite boring - and if you are a vegetarian you only get salad.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice hotel in downtown Delft in the canal district. Although more expensive and more difficult to visit with a car, it is nice place to sleep and tour the city on foot.

We went to Delft in January, well before the tourist season. The rooms are standard with ensuite bathroodms, small by modern styles but it is a classic canal house and the rooms were not cramped for two people. The room comes with a very good breakfast without the silly extra expenses (For example, Ikea food court charges .40 euros for a packet of ketchup). The rooms are clean and there is little noise from the other rooms and the street. You can walk every where in the city and to the local transportation and to rail for Rotterdam and Amsterdam. There is a bar that is open at night but no restaurant service (just breakfast and lunch).

We visited the standard places in Delft: the two churches, the musuems, Ikea superstore, and china factory. There are many restaurants to choose as well as mall and shopping. The staff at the hotel and all the retail establishments speak fair to excellent English.

If you bring a car, you can park in the mall for a reasonable fee and the hotel will subsized the fee.

I recommend you stay here if it is yourself or a small party although the hotel is much bigger than a standard bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Use the photos. They are accurate. However, they are all good. Be advise: there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SV_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Foreign tourists most go to amsterdam to feel a touch of holland. Delft is just an hours traindrive away from Amsterdam, but very worthwile. It's as old as Amsterdam but still has the atmosphere of a small village. The Vermeer hotel is alongside a small canal. Not far away from the railwaystation and nearby a large parking garage. This old house is completed restyled to a small hotel with much atmosphere. Nearby the hotel are many restaurants for every budget. The breakfast was allright. The service was perfect.

Room Tip: we had a suite at the backside of the hotel with a nice view. A small patio for the different suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hansvink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights in early August. Location was great, not really far from the main train station and food area. Though it would be quite a walk with luggages (especially if you're traveling with family or kids). Rooms were refurbished and new. AC, tv, shower, lighting, worked perfectly well. I asked for the canal-view room, and it was great. My kids have the oude kerk (old church)-view. However, the little stairs to get to our rooms were hard to climb with luggages. The room was spacey, clean, and neat. Breakfast was served greatly, and they even served hot chocolate when you ask for it. When you use the taxi to go back to the train station, the hotel would book one for you.

Overall, it was a great stay and I would definitely stay in Johannes Vermeer when I visit Delft.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julius K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last weekend, and took their last available double room, at a nice price, though I did have to negotiate (twice) to get the price listed on their website. Unfortunately, I have to say that given the cuteness of the building and the nice ambience of the lobby and dining area, that the room was disappointing. It was room #31, way in the back, very gloomy and dark due to trees covering the windows. It also had a musty smell, but we figured, we'd only be there one night... we could deal with it. The bathroom was very nice, and spotlessly clean, but when my husband tried to open the small refrigerator in the room, the whole door came off in his hand! We went out for dinner and came back late - a little before 11.

When I got into the bed, I realized why the musty smell... the sheets and comforter were damp, cold and clammy, and so was the carpet, when I checked. We believe this was perhaps a storage room previously and the carpet is laid over bare concrete, probably no insulation...

At any rate, I knew I couldn't sleep there in a wet bed, so my husband went up to talk to the desk clerk and caught him just before he left (hotel is not staffed at all after 11). He phoned the manager, and they ended up giving us the honeymoon suite for the night.

We slept comfortably, however, the lights in the bathroom didn't work at all, and the jacuzzi tub was dirty and had lots of hair in it. The decor was a little odd too, but hey, we slept well.

The hotel staff was wonderful, very friendly and accommodating and breakfast was also quite good, with a nice variety of foods, fresh fruits and juices, nice pastries, eggs and delicious coffee.

However, this hotel that could be a first-class place, is instead a bit tired, worn, and not very well maintained. I'm hopeful they'll do some needed maintenance and stop booking people into room #31...

I would not rule it out... if you are looking for an excellent, central location, sweet outdoor seating along the canal... just don't let them put you in room #31!

Room Tip: Just avoid #31.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Comfortable bed and breakfast was very good.
Staff very friendly.
Good situation in Delft. The hotel paid our parking.
Do not forget to visit Vermeer Centrum which is very interesting and well presented.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaramelWalhain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delft hotels
0.8 mi away
WestCord Hotel Delft
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
#6 of 15 in Delft
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Plataan
Hotel de Plataan
#4 of 15 in Delft
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Koophandel
Hotel De Koophandel
#7 of 15 in Delft
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Johannes Vermeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johannes Vermeer

Address: Molslaan 18 /22, 2611 RM Delft, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Delft
Price Range: $104 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Johannes Vermeer 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Johannes Vermeer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johannes Vermeer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing