We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bridges House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in one of the efficiency "studio" apartments at 29 Kromstraat, a 2-3 minute walk from the major part of the hotel on Oude Delft, where you check-in. Our room, #2H, was large, with two large windows with a nice view of both church spires, a comfortable double bed, a small refrigerator, kitchen sink with instant hot water, cupboards, cooking instruments, dishes, etc. We stayed over Christmas and New Year's and the heat was superb (easy to over-heat if not careful). Bath was large with nice shower and plentiful towels. Large LCD television and a small eating area, also. The staff are *extremely* competent, friendly, and helpful and very eager to ensure your stay is pleasant. There are free drink coupons at the check-in, that can be used with a meal at their very fine restaurant, also on Kromstraat, just downstairs from your room. The breakfast in he main part of the hotel is plentiful and fresh.

Surprisingly, our room price was nearly 50% less than other hotels for the holiday time period, which turned out to be for a reason. Kromstraat is also home to two or three nightclubs, which can be a bit noisy from about 2200 until their official 0200 closing time, mostly due to smokers opening entrance doors that otherwise muffle the music pretty well. Ear plugs helped a lot, as did the cold weather, which allowed us to sleep with the large (did we say nice view?) double-glazed windows shut. The clubs only operate on weekends, so it is bearable, however during our Christmas through New Year's stay, several also had private parties which coincided with holidays, and which exceeded the 0200 closing time.

The Delft townsfolk are very clever in avoiding problems and Kromstraat is probably the most well-lit street at night in all of Delft; our room had very effective blackout curtains, and in the mornings, there was never any trash, cigarette butts, or broken glass one finds in similar areas in other cities. In the summer, windows would probably have to be open, as #2H is on the top floor. If you are into clubbing, this is the perfect room, as you only need to walk a few steps to fall into bed, exhausted. Bring your own corkscrew, as only basic cooking tools are provided.

If you do go to Delft for New Year's get ready for some intense, citizen-created, firework displays, from 1000 on Dec 31 until 0200 on Jan 1 (amazingly, these legal times ARE heeded by the citizenry), along with a few piles of burning Christmas trees. Until now, I though Hamburg did it the wildest & best -- in a close call, Delft has them beat, and all without government using taxes to brighten the New Year sky. Another sign of the Delft government's desire to avoid problems, they put large metal containers in the main square with holes the size of a magnum champagne bottle, and public garbage cans and mailboxes are sealed until Jan 2.

The conscientious staff (particularly the cleaning woman who came on Christmas Eve to ensure we had enough towels and papier du derierre to last for the next few days) and the beautiful, friendly, city of Delft overwhelmingly compensated for the sound of young people having weekend fun.

Room Tip: Studios with windows that open onto Kromstraat will be noisy on weekend nights (not Sunday), but are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zincb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    92
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
33
106
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is very good, the only problem is the bed is not a king size bed, actually you have to single bed, not very comfortable.
Be aware of HOTELS.COM, they are not honest with you. The price shown when you make your reservation say it include all taxes, but when you get to the hotel the taxes are not included. I complained with hotels.com with no success. They send you an e-mail with the total price, but in the e-mail it does not show that the taxes are included, just give you the total price. So, when book it says that is included, but in fact they change it when send you the e-mail and you do not notice as it shows the same price as in the website. My experience is that hotels.com are cheating with customers, not an honest process. Be aware, better go to booking .com where they tell you the taxes are not included from the beginning.

Room Tip: Do not use hotels.com for your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eliane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were told not to book this hotel by the TU Delft as they had a reputation for being rude and unresponsive. Due to a last minute rush we had to settle for this as we had no other option.

SURPRISE SURPRISE IT WAS ALL TRUE!!!!

The hotel is run by two teenagers, and are very arrogant.

They have absolutely no communication skills and are blank rude to the customers.

The internet in the hotel did not work for a full day despite the fact that we paid almost 99 Euros a night.

The most unprofessional and dirty part of this hotel is that the showers do not work well, i.e. cold water in winter and they do not provide enough shampoo and gel. To top it off, they are impudent and arrogant as they said we only change things on odd days, so you pay 99 Euros and there is no shower gel and shampoo --> waw !!!

the staff is rude and I do not recommend this place to anyone.

totally screwed up place and

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 726globe_trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in oct 2013. the hotel was really tastefully decorated and very clean . we had a family room for 4 people with a large bathroom . the room was very big, very nice and at an excellent rate ( 2 large twin bed x 2 ) , .Some rooms are overlooking the canal. the breakfast was of a four star hotel .All the members of the staff were very friendly and helpul and answered all our questions..free internet on the 1st floor. the location couldn t be better. 3 mn walk from the center and 5mn from the railway station (12 mn by train to rotterdam or la haye ) Plenty of restaurants, bars, shop around..( possibility in the centre to rent bikes ) . You can park just opposite the hotel on the other side of the canal for a few minute to unload your luggage...and if you want have the possibility to leave your car in a secure and covered car park 2 mn away for a rate of 14 euros per 24h .you can pay the hotel with a visa card which is sometimes an issue in delft....dont look anywhere else...you won t be dissapointed..we will have to travel to delft again and will definitly stay there.

Room Tip: Very steep stairs so ask for 1st floor room if climbing is an real issue.my parents in their eighti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francoise316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Traditional Dutch style building on a pretty street just a short walk (with hand luggage) from the NS main railway station and HTM tram stop. Close (but not too close) to bars, restaurants and sights of this very attractive city. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good continental breakfast - they also offered to cook something for us. Comfortable room with smart bathroom with powerful over bath shower. The place to come to experience "real" Holland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferroequine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice hotel in quaint Delft city center. I stayed there in August and was able to leas the apartment for 2 weeks. A wonderful place and very comfortable with split-level seating/sleeping arrangements, full kitchen and bathroom.
Last week I stayed at the hotel itself. I choose the Studio, which covers the whole front of the third floor with no less than 4 windows. Convenient room with all the amenities, free internet and excellent breakfast in the morning. I will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great place to stay. Easy to find, only about 5 minutes walk from railway station. Hotel was clean, and the staff were very friendly. This is a small hotel, but they do offer excellent service. It is also only about 3 minutes walk to centre of Delft. Lots of restaurants to choose from, and all we used were good. Hotel offers enough choice for breakfast, with individual cooked if required.
It was generally quiet after 10pm, and only problem is if you are driving by car parking is difficult, but there is a large car park about 5 minutes walk away, but you can stop outside to drop off luggage (but the parking in Delft is difficult everywhere), and really you do not need a car. Small 1 hour canal trip opposite hotel, with a good guide. If I were visiting Delft again I would definitely consider this hotel due to its excellent location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: We had a slightly larger studio room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delft hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
#6 of 15 in Delft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Koophandel
Hotel De Koophandel
#8 of 15 in Delft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
#10 of 15 in Delft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Plataan
Hotel de Plataan
#4 of 15 in Delft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridges House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridges House Hotel

Property: Bridges House Hotel
Address: Oude Delft 74, 2611 CD Delft, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Delft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridges House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HRS so you can book your Bridges House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridges Hotel Delft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing