We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay at Hotel”
Review of Hotel de Ark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Ark
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay at Hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you arrive via train (Delft Station), it will take you a few minutes to get to the Hotel de Ark on foot..( 10 to 15 mins... while you point and stare.....and about 7mins once you get to know the route)

If you have luggage on wheels, it might be a good idea to carry it. The cobble stone roads are great for atmosphere.....but not very good for them little wheels!

The hotel is situated on a lovely road and quiet central.

Checking in staff are very pleasent and the hotel is good, clean and fresh.

The elevator is not huge, but it works very well and you will be glad if you are staying on one of the upper levels.

Breakfast is great with all the usual international cuisine....however, if you want to some toast, you will have to do it yourself...

My room ( number 1) was very spacious and could open out onto the courtyard....( get it if you can).. My colleagues on the higher levels, had smaller rooms...

The bathroom was large for international standards. It was also clean and fresh....( very nice)

The bed and bedding was REALLY nice......

In all, this hotel was VERY Good indeed.

Room Tip: Room 1 is great!!! Book it if you can!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
23
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a great three night stay here in August. We had a triple room at the front (204), which was very spacious, clean and had one double and one single bed. The furnishings were fairly basic but we had large opening windows which overlooked the canal, so overall it was a lovely room. The location is excellent as it is a short walk to the railway station and only moments from the town centre. I would definitely recommend a stay in Delft and wish we had had longer as not only is Delft a beautiful little town with lots to see and do, but there are so many interesting daytrips that can easily be done from here by train. We visited Gouda for the Thursday cheese market (touristy but still good fun) and Rotterdam. I was not especially enthused by the idea of going to Rotterdam and touring the container port, but I was very pleasantly surprised by everything in Rotterdam and a day wasn't enough to do it justice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyFamily0f3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

First of all, I really love this hotel and the staffs were very friendly and helpful. I stayed there for 3 weeks and the hotel offers an apartment for long duration stay and as IHE-UNESCO participants, I got discounted room rate. The apartment facing the canal was very comfortable and clean with queen size bed, small kitchenette with two stoves, electric kettle, microwave, fridge, pots and pan, dinnerware and cutleries. There were two comfy sofas, LCD TV, nice bathroom with hand held shower and overhead shower and a dishwasher. There were also a washing machine and dryer at the ground floor of the apartment. Thus provide an ample and warm space for one person.
The breakfast was served at main hotel and offers a selection of hot and cold food. The wifi both at the apartment and the main hotel were good and steady and free.
The Delft City Centrum is 5 to 7 minutes from the hotel and there are amenities like banks, post office, bookstore, convenient shops and restaurants nearby. There were halal restaurants nearby and I recommend the Doner King restaurant as it is 100% halal.
I also had opportunities to stay for one night at main hotel. The room on 3rd floor with elevator access was big, charming and clean with king size bed, mini bar, kettle, LCD TV, bathtub /shower and toiletries. Overall Hotel de Arks are the best in both hospitality and coziness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuraida Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is in very good location (just few minutes to wonderful town hall) and you can see the canal through the window. In few meters there is wonderful Argentinian restaurant - try it's really worth. The breakfast in hotel was also good. It's really worth to stay in this hotel, because the value for the price is really good. Also I recommend Delft accommodation rather than Rotterdam or The Hague.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMINDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and found it to be a great base for exploring Delft and the surrounding area. eg. Train or tram will get you quickly to Keukenhoff(1 hr), The Hague (30 min), Utrecht (1 hr) or Rorotterdam. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the ground floor and picked up any noise from walkers, cyclists, or vehicles passing by. The decor was very basic but the room was clean. The included breakfast had OK quality and selection with hot and cold items... although after several days of the same choices I did get tired of it. The WIFI connection was excellent. Its located about a 15 minute walk to the train station.

Room Tip: Our ground floor canal side room (r102) received a lot of street noise into the early morning hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_2_Go_Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent four days here around the Queensday celebration and couldn't have been happier with my hotel choice. I decided to splurge and get the suite, which featured a fabulous whirlpool tub and a sauna, as well as an outdoor area for sitting. The bed was comfortable, there were plenty of pillows, and the design was great. There was also a mini-fridge and safe in the room. The bathroom had plenty of hot water and solid water pressure, as well as nice towels. The entire hotel was very clean and well maintained. There was a nice, free breakfast offered, with eggs, waffles, bacon, cereal, fruit, juices, and rolls. Some rooms offer a canal view but mine had a nice view of the courtyard.

The location was superb. You are less than a minute's walk from several restaurants and three minutes walk from the town center, with dozens of shops and restaurants. If you drove, there's a parking lot (pay) just down the block. If you do pick that option, the ticket machine only takes coins so be prepared with plenty of change, as it's 13 euros for a day.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, even providing change for my first night's stay in the parking lot. They were always ready to offer an opinion or help if you weren't sure where to eat or where to start your sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carl0086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Location, Location, Location. A great selection of restaurants and cafes are all within a very short walk from de Ark.

Our room was huge, clean and very comfortable. The wi-fi connection was solid and supported mutliple devices during our stay. Our room looked out over the canal. It was really quite fantastic.

Delft is a great place to visit. Thursdays are Market Day and Hotel de Ark was a quick 5 minute walk from the market.

Breakfast was typical of a Dutch hotel with a good assortment of breads, meats, fruit and cereal as well as some hot breakfast items like pancakes, scrambled eggs and bacon.

The staff spoke perfect English but were more than happy to accomodate my desire to practice my Dutch without being too frustrated with my mistakes.

We enjoy smaller, locally operated hotels when traveling in Europe and Hotel de Ark was exactly what we were looking for. I could be quite comfortable there for a business stay as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delft hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
0.1 mi away
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
#10 of 15 in Delft
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
#6 of 15 in Delft
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bridges House Hotel
Bridges House Hotel
#9 of 15 in Delft
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Compagnons Grand Canal
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Plataan
Hotel de Plataan
#4 of 15 in Delft
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Ark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Ark

Property: Hotel de Ark
Address: Koornmarkt 65, 2611 EC Delft, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Delft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Ark 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Ark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Ark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing