We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I fell in love with Delft as a wonderful base to explore South Holland”
Review of Hotel Coen Delft

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Coen Delft
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I fell in love with Delft as a wonderful base to explore South Holland”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed here for a week and really explored Delft before we started going further afield on a couple of day trips to other places.
We liked our attic room with its beams, space and lovely bathroom. Pity the downstairs sitting room was not a more pleasant area -- it had rather startling decor and it just wasn't comfortable.
Great breakfast! Except on the Sunday when the staff member never turned up and we had to go through the snow and ice to the main square.
Incredibly handy location to the station, especially in snow and ice. Also handy to the tram which goes all the way to Scheveningen through the centre of Den Haag.
The staff were really helpful and friendly.
This experience of the hotel was better than my husband's experience on a previous visit, when his passport was stolen from his room.
There was free internet, but it certainly wasn't as fast as our cable connection at home.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
11
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
323 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

This is a small hotel in an older building. It is literally across the street from the Delft train station. So, if you get a room facing the train station, you will hear the trains. More annoyingly, during the day you will hear people playing music in the underpass to the train station. I spent an hour in my room preparing for a meeting and the guy playing a continuous loop of 3 pieces on the accordion was driving me crazy.
The rooms are small, particularly the "small single" rooms - they are truly tiny, but there is a certain charm there and everything is very efficient, including the free WiFi.
The staff are friendly and the breakfast is just adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freqtrav17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I am a single traveller on my way home from work - transitting via Amsterdam and decided to visit Delft for 1 day.

The objective was to find a reasonable place to stay in Delft since I planned to tour Delft most of the day. I am happy to say that I've met my objective at Hotel Coen for €79 per night. (single room). The hotel is just next to the train station, which is very convenient. The hotel has a small but nice lobby. I requested a room not facing the train station - so, didn't hear anything at night. Not sure about the rooms facing the station though. The single room is good enough for 1 person. The bed is comfy. The bathroom/shower is clean. I am happy with the room condition.

They have free WiFi if you bring your laptop. If not, there's a desktop downstairs where you can check your email etc.

Cannot comment on breakfast as I didn't have one at the hotel.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the main attractions in the city. Delft is a small city, so no problem with getting around the city center.

Overall, I am satisfied with the stay at Hotel Coen.

Recommend this hotel for: budget or average travellers. Suitable also for business travellers.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2008

Have just returned from a short break to the beautiful town of Delft and stayed at this hotel which was close to the train station so very handy. The hotel was comfortable & the staff very friendly, cannot comment on the breakfast as we did not eat in the Hotel. The beds were very comfortable, all toiletries provided and a TV in the room. The hotel had a lift to all floors, but one step at the front door. The furnishings were basic & the carpets a little stained, but I thought the hotel was good value. We found the room was quiet & had no disturbance from the trains, I would definately stay again if I am lucky enough to return to Delft one day.

  • Liked — It had a lift which I need
  • Disliked — It was a 10 walk from the centre of town
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zip026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

A pleasant hotel right next to Delft Railway station. The noise of the trains was not too intrusive but we had a room facing onto the side. It may be more apparent if you had a front facing room. It is about a 10 minute walk into the centre of Delft from the hotel. The rooms were clean and tidy but I found the lighting a bit darker than I'm used to. Also the twin beds were very close together. I would have liked a cabinet or someting separating them. It was very easy to roll into the person next to you unintentionally in the night because of this. The bathroom/toilet was clean and quite big and a door in there led out onto a patio which would be useful in the Summer. The breakfasts were adequate and the hotel had a small bar with internet access on one of the tables. I would stay here again as it is in a convenient location with friendly staff.

  • Liked — The great location
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanglefoot201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

Great little hotel right near the train station (you could literally see it coming!). don't know what other reviewers are talking about with noise as I stayed on the opposite side and it was very quiet. Very clean and the staff were very nice. My only advice would be to skip the breakfast. For 12 euros its really not much and you could get yourself something much tastier in town before you visit the Churches!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Cam79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

The Hotel Coen Delft is located just behind the train station. When exiting the station through the main hall just turn left and follow the passageway under the train tracks. The hotel is just in front of you.

We were given a room at the back of the hotel so the trains didn’t really bother us.
Our room was really spacious and even had a small terrace. There was a bath and a shower in the bathroom. Both room and bathroom were really clean.

Breakfast was a real feast! There was homemade bread, eggs, bacon, donuts, cereal, yoghurt and plenty more. You won’t leave the hotel starving!

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Upon check-out they discovered our travel agent made a mistake in calculating our price. They made no problem of it. We paid the original price.

In conclusion: the Hotel Coen Delft is a small (40 rooms) hotel, ideally located when travelling by train. Delft itself is a charming city with plenty to see and do.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Location, Staff, Rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PlasticCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delft hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
0.5 mi away
Casa Julia
Casa Julia
#8 of 15 in Delft
25 reviews
1.0 mi away
WestCord Hotel Delft
WestCord Hotel Delft
#2 of 15 in Delft
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
#6 of 15 in Delft
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Compagnons Grand Canal
0.3 mi away
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
#10 of 15 in Delft
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coen Delft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coen Delft

Property: Hotel Coen Delft
Address: Coenderstraat 47, 2613 SN Delft, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coen Delft 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Coen Delft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coen Hotel Delft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing