We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice late dinner”

Restaurant & Eetcafe De Waag
Ranked #9 of 222 Restaurants in Delft
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $79
Cuisines: International, Bar, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice late dinner”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The staff at De Waag were kind enough to keep the kitchen open a bit late for us. We were meeting distant relatives for the first time and conversation over took our sense of time.

The atmosphere at De Waag is very historic and cozy. The food was quite good. Our servers did a great job of switching back and forth between Dutch and English during our service.

Given the location, quality of the food and service, I felt the prices were tolerable and not too expensive.

While we were there for vacation, I would gladly go back either for a casual evening or a business dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    156
    37
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
287 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice drinks & good food in excellent surroundings”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This cafe/restaurant has a lot of small stairs and different levels. That makes it a very nice cafe/restaurant to spend some time with friends or a date. There is always a spot that suits your company and mood. There is a broad range of beers, also on tap, and the food is very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wub67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
583 reviews
405 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Lovely and creative food, excellent service, beautiful setting”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although it is in the heart of the tourist area of the town where you might expect superficial service and average food, this is a big and positive surprise. I ate at several restaurants at the town square and most were disappointing, but here food is excellent. If you like to spend a bit less, go to the stadscafe downstairs where the food is also good and the location almost as nice.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jooplent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Top floor dining, lovely location & staff”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel & we Weren't disappointed. We dined at the top of the old building in the a la carte restaurant. It's up a small spiral staircase so if you have walking problems this may not suit you.
We were given a choice of option 1 - the normal menu or option 2 - the chefs surprise. You could choose if you wanted meat or fish for either starter or main, & asked if there was any meat / fish you didn't like. . . . And then sit back, enjoy your fine wine & wait for your surprise . . As you can tell that's what we opted for & it was absolutely delicious. 100% happy. If we ever go back to Delft we will most definitely re visit this restaurant. It's not the cheapest option, but we were there for a special birthday and it was well worth it.
It's centrally located off the main square & close to others bars.
The staff were lovely & (as with everywhere we went) spoke better English than I do ( holding head in shame) they were friendly knowledgable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Xhe1d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Level Contributor
209 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and beautiful old building in the centre of Delft”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

A great place for a snack or drink. Upstairs on the top floor is an a la carte menu and downstairs is the Stadscafe. Both are good value for money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ClaireofDelft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant & Eetcafe De Waag also viewed

Delft, South Holland Province
Delft, South Holland Province
 
Delft, South Holland Province
Delft, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant & Eetcafe De Waag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing