We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid it...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Cantina - CLOSED

Thai Cantina
Price range: $15 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Unique combination of Thai & Mexican Food thanks to the mixed backgrounds of the owners.(Thai & U.S.A.)East Meets West in a unique setting in the old center of Delft behind the old Townhall.
-
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Avoid it...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I didn't like it at all...ALthough I'm open to new food experiences,that didn't turn out good...The rice,the soup,the chicken,the wrap filling...Nothing was fresh cooked.And the cocktails below average.Service was ok.WC below average.Decoration tried to give some personality to the place but eventually it wasn't good...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miltos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“authentic atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

very authentic Mexican atmosphere. The first time i ate here (2009) i was thoroughly impressed by the food, the second time (august 2012) i had the same meal and found the standard had dropped somewhat. This restaurant was the cause of my enchilada obsession, however second time around i found myself deciding not to make a third visit, unless the cuisine improves.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JayL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“always nice to go here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

If you are looking for a cold beer with your tacos, then this ur place! The atmosphere is nice with a lot international guests.
That does not mean it is a tourist rip off! Many Dutch people also like it!
We go here quite often. The food is sometimes very good ( home made salsa with nachos for free!) and sometimes they are slow and quite unfriendly. I can agree on previous reviews. One time I wanted to order a dessert and the waitress just gave me the " what do you what now again?!"- look.
The cocktails are good!
Therefore I can just say: 3 out of 5 visits were nice with good food/ drinks!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KrisCobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

The slow service here is abominable. We must have waited well over an hour for our meal to arrive. It was cold and unappetizing.I l left most of it and it wasn't cheap. After such a long wait i had lost some appetite. we had to go and fetch our own drinks as nobody bothered to offer us a second drink.The bill was incorrect. The decor and atmosphere (apart from the TV on above our heads) was very attractive however it did not match the quality of food or service provided...tourist rip-off!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LostInTheHillsMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Bad service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

The food is OKe and It is the only Mexican restaurant with "Oke" food in Delft. They also have a nice choice for ordering food at home. They have enough Mexican beers and drinks. However, the service is really bad or the worst. More than once my plate or drink was literraly throuwn at me. Just for that I would just travel to AMS to Los pilones to eat proper Mexican food and good service.

Helpful?
Thank Titamxnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Cantina also viewed

Delft, South Holland Province
Delft, South Holland Province
 
Delft, South Holland Province
Delft, South Holland Province
 
Delft, South Holland Province
Delft, South Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing