We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Room, Perfect Hotel, Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Perfect Room, Perfect Hotel, Perfect Location”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Contemporary, new, stylish 90 room hotel. A chain, but feels unique, chic, attentive to guests. My many pre-stay inquiries were answered promptly and helpfully by Arjan and Laura, who both went above and beyond. We opted for a “Double Deluxe Room” - check-in was smooth, with hors d'oeuvres and candies at reception. Excellent value for money.

Because we were staying 3 nights in a slow month, we were given a corner room on the 8th floor - room 815, on the small side, but with excellent amenities and an absolutely perfect layout. Note that the rooms with balcony are smaller than those without, so determine what is more important to you - we would always choose a balcony over more interior space. Ours was a corner room with windows that opened on two sides, allowing for best views and cross breezes. It had a (European) king bed, mini-fridge containing a bottle of still and sparkling water, complimentary small bottle of wine with glasses - a nice touch even if the wine was bit sweet, coffee-tea facilities, separate shower and deep soaker tub, and grey bathrobes and slippers. All furnishings were attractive and comfortable - a bed I never wanted to leave, high quality linens, plump duvet, cream leather chairs and side table for feet, laptop or food, roomy closet, full-length mirror, great TV, stylish fixtures, and convenient lighting. Deep plush carpeting and concrete floors made for absolutely silent moving about and no need for slippers. The water seeping from under the shower stall doors did not bother us as the floor slope is designed to minimize its spread onto the bathroom floor and maximize it flowing into the drain.

Music motif and colour scheme throughout was delightful - a spiffy, clean, modern, attractive little establishment, with gorgeous lounge and breakfast room.

Breakfast was plentiful, varied - lots of selection in breads, cereals, fruits, yogurts, beverages, scrambled and boiled eggs and bacon, even two types of sparkling wine/champagne in silver buckets.

A unique dining feature was the young piano player, Vitautus, who provided the most exquisite background music, sometimes for dinner, sometimes breakfast, and sometimes in the lounge. With his extensive repertoire, he played everything from swing, to Broadway, jazz, and Chopin and created such a welcoming and luxurious ambiance.

Dinner at the restaurant is highly recommended. The food was wonderful and great value for money compared with restaurants in town, and our server, Michael, with his friendly, positive demeanor, delivered prompt and generous service with a smile.

Quibbles: wifi ws available in lounge and breakfast areas but not in room (we brought our own wireless access point, so no issue for us); no clock radio.

If you are looking for a hotel that delivers long on amenities, is 6 pleasant minutes’ walk to town, is deliciously free from the nighttime sounds of party goers and late night revellers AND other guests and hotel staff, and offers comfortable surroundings at every turn, I can't recommend the Hotel Hampshire highly enough. We would never stay anywhere else in Delft.

Room Tip: Note that the rooms with balcony are smaller than those without, so determine what is more important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    568
    130
    24
    12
See reviews for
144
545
35
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent two nights here after a cruise from Rotterdam. Could not be happier about the choice. Delft is a great little city and this hotel was immediately 'like home'. Not the plushest or best appointed but modern and comfortable with uniformly helpful, welcoming and pleasant staff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bertram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalre, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed with a 6-persons group for a weekend in the Delft Hampshire Hotel. If you are visiting Delft by car, this hotel is likely the best location you can chose: only a few 100 meters from the "Delft" motorway exit, on the verge of the city center but no need to venture into it with your car, excellent underground car parking across the street from the hotel, only 5 minutes walk from the hotel to the historic town center. Parking anywhere in the city center is very limited and expensive, the car park offers you a clean and safe spot for only €7 per 24 hours. However if you come to Delft by train, you probably have to take a taxi or public transport to this hotel, it's quite a walk if you're carrying luggage.
The hotel rooms are roomy and nice, equipped with flatscreen TV and airco system, and offer an adequate bathroom. The rooms have large sliding windows, allowing plenty of fresh air into the room if you want. Beds may be a little hard to some travellers' liking, but for us they were great. Best of all: the rooms have incredibly good soundproofing, the silence will make you think there aren't any other guests in the hotel. There is free WiFi in hotel lobby and restaurant, didn't get connection in the room though.
Breakfast is good with decent food selection, is being replenished regularly. All hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
Would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Delft by car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerJanWaalre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Most hotel's i've visited in Delft are much older, the Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre is much newer with larger rooms, more floors & a modern (and musical) theme about it!.

Situated close to the A13, and ten minutes walk from the Markt (central Delft) the hotel has very good rooms, with first-rate staff. The 'Restaurant Swing' menu is decidedly lacking for vegetarian options, and the inclusive breakfast serves its basic purpose, but not much else. Overall a nice hotel for Business travel, however in a city such as Delft, there are many old/authentic hotels better suited for a romantic weekend away.

Room Tip: West facing rooms 4th floor & above have a great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stay here on business for about 10 weeks a year, it is the best placed hotel to enjoy the sights and good dining in Delft being a few minutes walk from the city centre. Pleasant staff and the bar and restaurant prices are comparable with the city restaurants and bars. 15 minutes walk from the train station, the only thing it lacks is dedicated car parking although there is a very secure car park next to the hotel for 7Euros a night. The themed rooms are interesting too, and the luxury rooms are splendid for that romantic weekend away!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinkieFanshawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
893 reviews
497 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Hampshire Hotel is in a great location in Delft just outside the centre. We drove to Delft and the Koepoort parking worked great, was close to the hotel and was inexpensive. Checkin at the hotel was easy and we loved the little appetizers they had to offer. The room was very comfortable although a little on the small side. We had a nice dinner in the hotel one of the nights and the breakfasts were very good too. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night in April after being tempted with positive reviews and we weren't dissapointed. The hotel is perfectly located in the center withing walking distance to the main attractions of the city. Hotel looks good and is decorated tastefully. He had quite big room with very comfortable bed and nice view of the city. The breakfast was excellent with good selection of product. The staff of the hotel was very friendly, helpfull and attentive to our needs. We had great time there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colintea89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delft hotels
0.6 mi away
WestCord Hotel Delft
WestCord Hotel Delft
#2 of 15 in Delft
999 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
0.8 mi away
Casa Julia
Casa Julia
#7 of 15 in Delft
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Plataan
Hotel de Plataan
#4 of 15 in Delft
504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
#6 of 15 in Delft
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Koophandel
Hotel De Koophandel
#8 of 15 in Delft
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre
Address: Koepoortplaats 3, 2612 RR Delft, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel- Delft Centre is a modern hotel on the outskirts of the centrum of Delft. The hotel has 92 deluxe rooms, each of which provides a unique musical theme. This is the best location if you are looking for a relaxing weekend away or a business visit. The old inner city of Delft finds itself just several minutes of walking distance away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing