We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal of the whole trip”

Spijshuis de Dis Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 222 Restaurants in Delft
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best meal of the whole trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I spent a week on business in Amsterdam and Delft. This was by far my best meal. The daily fish special was a hallibut done to perfection. I also had the mushroom apetizer, which had an amazing wine sauce. Great selection of wines.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty_from_the_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    101
    22
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ymare
Level Contributor
166 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A very pleasant moment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This restaurant is placed on a quiet place. The service was top: the restaurant team is at the kitchen, open to the restaurant room, and the chef is taking the order. On his recommendation I took the fish of the day which was really delicious, served with fresh vegetables. It was a good moment, not only because of the food quality, but also due to the quality of service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancoisD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hearty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Food was good and helpings generous but restaurants seemed to be full of tourists rather than locals which detracted a little from the atmosphere. A safe choice though

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quintessential Delft”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The place was packed with mostly locals, the warm wood paneling brings you back to the height of the golden Dutch age. Our reservations were made two months ago and out table was waiting for us, the waitress was helpful and attentive. The menu was available in English. The local dark beer was flavorful and intense. The appetizers were mostly topnotch, Truffle Mushrooms, Smoked Salmon, A Sampler Platter for Two and a Sausage and Cured Meat. The mains were as good with a flavorful Lamb Shank (Dutch call it Lamb Leg), a excellent fish platter and salty smoked salmon wrapped prawns. We were stuffed and skipped dessert. The meal for for 5 was €186, we left a small tip for the service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winnipeg1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still lovely after 11 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our first visit to Delft was in 2002, and the best part was a dinner at Spijshuis. We revisited in 2013 and couldn't wait to go to our favorite restaurant -- and it was as wonderful as we have remembered it. It overlooks a lovely town square shaded by plane trees, and live music from the square drifts through the windows into the small dark wood-paneled dining room decorated with brass pots and other antiques. Very cozy, and you you feel like your are dining among wealthy Dutch merchants of the Golden Age, who like a good meal after a day of trading in spices (or tulip bulbs :-) The food is exquisite and you are reminded that Dutch made their fortune in trading spices -- and obviously know how to use them! They have specialties of the house listed at the front entrance, and they are all very tasty, especially the fish stew. We really enjoyed our visit and hope to be back for a third helping!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spijshuis de Dis Restaurant also viewed

Delft, South Holland Province
Delft, South Holland Province
 
Delft, South Holland Province
Delft, South Holland Province
 
Delft, South Holland Province
Delft, South Holland Province
 

Been to Spijshuis de Dis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing