We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shanghai Hotel Holland
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by friendly team and had early access to our room.
The room's carpet (white - in a hotel?? had some filthy stains. Haven't they heard of steam cleaning?
The only soap available in the bathroom is from a dispenser in the bath. If you want to wash your hands in the basin you have to stand in the bath!
Mirror in room was cracked due to it being next to the kettle! Only green tea and one sachet Nescafé available
Breakfast very disappointing with scrambled egg the only nice thing available. No fruit but lots of yucky frankfurters. Not good value.
During our stay there was a business conference at the hotel with about 40 Chinese delegates.
40 Chinese people all trying to out shout each other in the restaurant was very annoying.
Management from the hotel tried to calm things down but with little effect.
Restaurant serves excellent dinner once you can understand the menu in Dutch and Chinese!
Definitely a business hotel and not suitable for tourists.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Farleycourtiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 116 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Major problems opening room door. Internet access a pain. Poor tv reception and choice of channels poor. Too far from centre of town. Desk people helpful.elevator extremely slow. Needs to fix these things. Desk kept saying going to be done. Met people at hotel who changed floors for reasons mentioned-3rd floor.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting the bulb fields. Large room with tea and coffee in the room,nice bathroom and up to date tv.
Ikea is just down road and food is very reasonably priced.
On arrival our room wasn't ready at 3.30pm (check in is from 2pm) and we eventually got in at 4pm.
On the next 2 days the room wasn't serviced till 4pm and even then we had to ask reception to arrange it.
There is free wifi plus 2 pc's in reception but they are slow and almost a waste of time. Coverage was not possible in our bedroom.
First impressions is of very laid back attitude and you will wait until they are ready.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Pros: Nice large rooms.

Cons:

It is a far cry from four stars, web description has little to do with the hotel itself. there were no coffee maker, only sticks of instant coffee, and no safe in the room. The fridge and kettle were leaking. the guy next door was smoking and the staff ignored all my complains about that.

It is also far from the train station.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I'm not much into the whole 'chinoiserie' scene but the hotel pulls it off. Very nice staff, clean room, large!!, comfortable. The only drawback is the restaurant. I dined there twice and just had appetizer type things and they were good but the staff is just apathetic and more interested in schmoozing. I didn't have the breakfast. Good thing McDonalds is right around the corner for breakfast. As others said, not much else in the area. Convenient to highways, quiet location (except for a couple of roosters who apparently live in the field next door, but that was kinda fun). Oh, yes, the internet. It was not very fast but it was free.

Room Tip: I was on the back side and there is a soccer field out back w/kids and parents and coaches practicin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurtEastPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed for one night during my trip. The hotel has a Chinese style, run by Chinese people, and the layout and design of the rooms and lobby makes you think you are in an Asian hotel.
The room I stayed was really big, with a really big bed and clean.
Some things I gave my feedback to the hotel:
- The bathroom doesn't have any toiletries apart from a single soap dispenser by the bathtub, which means that if you want to wash your hands/face in the sink, you need to go to get the soap from the bathtub.
-The room was cold, and the automatic air condition system didn't help, you make sure you turn on the heating for a while before going to take a shower.
-The breakfast was horrible in my opinion, with few options (English breakfast, or bread and butter and confiture), and didn't give me the impression to be of good quality for the price (no bacon left, the mushrooms tasted like leftovers from couple of days, and a lot of dirty tables with the breakfast rests from other guests)
- It is supposed the hotel is non-smoker, but somebody was smoking in his/her room since the smell got into my room through the vent system, disgusting when you want to sleep.
I didn't have dinner at the hotel, but they had dim sum available.
The hotel is close to the main road, and driving distance to Den Haag

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertoGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Mu husband and I found this hotel via the booking.com website and was drawn to it because
- it's strategically located in the outskirts of the city; so no traffic jams and noise
- it is a good distance between the cities of Rotterdam and Den Haag; just a 15-20minute drive to each from the hotel
after looking at it further, we realized that we've stayed at this hotel before early in Sept '09 when we were on our first visit to the Netherlands. Back then, it was known as China Hotel Holland.

As it wasn't our first visit, we knew what to expect - good price, beautiful interior with lavish, chinese-themed furnishing, clean rooms and baths, ample free parking spaces both covered and open.

This time around, we stayed two nights and we had a bad experience on the first night as the air conditioning was down and it was a sunny 28degrees outside, so the room was very stuffy. We contacted the reception and the staff on duty that day tried to help so she delivered a ventilator/fan to our room. But it was still relatively warm and we woke a few times bathed in sweat. The next morning, on our way out into the city, we spoke to the staff at the reception, Sander, about the heat. He then gave us a free upgrade to the suite as that room had its own air conditioning unit! Next, he even helped us to plan our trip into Rotterdam and Den Haag by advising us on where to park and what to do.

Needless to say, our second night at the hotel was perfect! We had a lovely night's sleep till checkout the next morning. It's rare to find such level of customer service in the Netherlands and we really appreciate it. Will definitely be back when on our next trip to Rotterdam, Den Haag or Delft.

Our only complaint is that the hair dryer in the bathroom of both our first room and in the suite were not working very well - it had a tendency to overheat! Wi-Fi on the 3rd floor was pretty weak but it was great on the 5th floor. And what would make this hotel even better is a spa/wellness center :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoonYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delft hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
0.1 mi away
Campanile Delft
Campanile Delft
#11 of 15 in Delft
186 reviews
1.3 mi away
WestCord Hotel Delft
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre
1.5 mi away
Casa Julia
Casa Julia
#8 of 15 in Delft
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bridges House Hotel
Bridges House Hotel
#12 of 15 in Delft
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Hotel Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Hotel Holland

Address: Kleveringweg 11, 2616 LZ Delft, The Netherlands (Formerly China Hotel Holland)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Delft
Price Range: $81 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanghai Hotel Holland 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Hotel Holland has reopened her doors with a brand new restaurant. The new owners and its management staff, will make sure that all the guests feel welcome and get the four star service they deserve. Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shanghai Hotel Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Hotel Delft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing