We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not spectacular but it was clean and the staff is very friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Churchill Terneuzen
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Terneuzen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have travelled all over the world and this is by far one of the smallest rooms that I have stayed in and no real amenities in the hotel either. They have a sauna to relax in and a small pool but if you want exercise you may as well walk the dike or ride a bike that you can rent from them. The room was very clean and supposedly the normal type of European room type. Two twin beds pushed together to try to form a king. There is no AC so warm days can be difficult to bare with only a window to try and allow some moving air in the room. The hotel also has a restaurant attached that has a nice small menu with decent food. Not many choices to choose from in Terneuzen but good for the area with the other options that are available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ttwpff45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Churchill Terneuzen, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hopefully you had a good trip back home and I wanted to thank your for the (positieve) remarks, so we can improve our service in the future even more for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 418 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I travel to Terneuzen a few times/year staying at different hotels (my husband is from Zeeuws Vlanderen and we have friends/family there))including the Churchill in the past as well as Hampshire city hotel. We stayed at the Churchill just before Christmas and were so pleasantly surprised at the fabulous renovations, the incredible food and the polite, lovely staff. Our room was comfortable and the bathroom large and warm...loved the fact that our hotel room windows could be opened for fresh air. One HUGE drawback were the beds...WAY too soft, almost like sleeping in a hammock...in fact, I hurt my back after sleeping a few nights in that bed and am still having back pain!
Last spring we stayed at Hampshire city hotel and had the worst experience in the restaurant with the servers...so incredibly rude and inflexible, we vowed never to go there again.
So in conclusion...a BIG recommendation for the Churchill hotel...though PLEASE invest in some new beds!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Suz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire-Hotels, Sales Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Churchill Terneuzen, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013
Google Translation

Beste Suz,

Hartelijk dank voor uw reactie op uw verblijf in Terneuzen. Goed te horen dat u zo enthousiast bent over het Hampshire Hotel – Churchill Terneuzen. De bedden zijn inderdaad de laatste puntjes voor de renovatie. Verwachting is ook dat wanneer u ons weer bezoekt u zalig zult slapen.

Daarnaast hebben wij afgelopen jaar het Hampshire Hotel – City Terneuzen volledig gerenoveerd wat resulteert in een heerlijk hotel. Wel zullen wij kritisch kijken naar de vriendelijkheid en gastvrijheid welke wij binnen de hotels willen uitstralen.

Graag verwelkomen wij u en uw man in de toekomst weer bij ons in het hotel! Tot ziens in Terneuzen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The hotel is good, specially the restaurant facing the sea side. But, nothing much to do as the city center is 15 minutes by walk. The hotel staff is helpful. Breakfast is average and the hotel has package offers including dinner. One can enjoy having long walks along the seashore as it is very near to the hotel.

Room Tip: rooms facing sea side are more costly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shah_neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Last weekend we stayed for one night in this Hampshire Churchill hotel in Terneuzen: a very good hotel with good beds, clean and very modern bathroom and very good breakfast buffet.

Our room was clean, had a good size, partial view over the water and two good single beds. Also very pleasent: a window could be opened for fresh air. The bathroom was very modern, clean and had a very good rainshower.

The breakfast buffet in the morning was extensive and fresh. The employee cleaned the tables fast and kept the buffet filled despite the constant flow of guests. A very pleased experiance.

The only less pleasant point during our visit: The receptionist on arrival asked if we would like a update to a "de luxe" room which had partial seaview. Because it would cost 10 euro only for "partial" view, we clearly declined. When arriving in our room we were surprised we still got the view. On checking out the receptionist on duty initialy charged us the 10 euro for the upgrade (which we declined at checking in), but after our protest she instantly waved this and apologised. Maybe it was a mistake?!

From the outsite the hotel doesn't look fancy and isn't in the city center. The city center is a a very nice and easy 15 minute walk over the walking/cycling path on the dike. The path is also well lighted in the evening.

All in all a very nice stay and we would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_BigAppleLover_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend. We chose it because of the location of Terneuzen; nice city to take trips to Belgium (Gent, Brugge, Knokke) and Zeeland.

The hotel is situated just a bit out of the centre, right at the side of the river Schelde. From the bar/restaurant and terrace you have a great view at all the tall ships sailing by. It is a bit too far to walk to the centre of Terneuzen, if you cannot walk very well. Otherwise it is a nice walk!

Our (standard) room was in the basement, which sounds worse than it was. In the basement is also the swimmingpool, so that was easy to access. It was very convenient that plenty of towels were available at the swimming pool, so you didn't have to use the ones in the bathroom.

The swimmingpool is nice, and there is a sauna as well, but you always have to ask if they want to turn it on. We did that once, and it was not heated very well. Maybe it was turned off again?? No idea.

The rooms were okay, a bit dusty however and an oldfashioned, small TV. No minibar, but you could make coffee or tea.

Breakfast was excellent. We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but went to a nice restaurant in Terneuzen; brasserie Westbeer, we can recommend that one!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coe65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

We have just returned from a long weekend away at this hotel it was great ,the bathroom was a large wet room that suited us fine.the meals a bit pricey though very good quality.
its only a short walk to the town with plenty of resturants.
The nearby swimming pool has a bar and the food and service is great.

We would use this hotel again for our tours it has great view from the bar. and very nice staff.

Pirates of the southeast

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bikersRUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2007

Hampshire Hotel - Churchill Terneuzen - The Netherlands
Date 31st March 2007
Reviewer - A Trip Advisor Member in Hampshire,England.
Hi, my husband and I have just returned from a weekend break to the Netherlands. We booked a twin room in the Hampshire hotel wile visiting the famous cities of Bruges and Ghent.
The hotel is situated along the Westerschelde (sea front), with views from the dining room/bar of the ships sailing by.
The town centre is about a 20 minute walk.
The hotel has 54 rooms. Our downstairs room as you walked in had the bathroom on the right with a white bath and shower over. The glass shower screen had a large crack in it! Sink with mini shampo/bubble bath/shower cap/shoe shine set on the side. Free use of towels and bath mat.On the left a large wardrobe with sliding doors and plenty of coat hangers. Full length mirror on the back of room door.Further along the little passage our room had twin beds side by side, bedside tables with reading lamps. Phone on the right hand side. There was large desk at the bottom of the beds with internet connection, pen, note paper and hotel info....under the desk at one side was a cold empty fridge with instructions inside to phone room service to request the required drinks. A large window looking out onto the carpark with nets and curtains. Infront of the window in our room there was a small table and x2 comfy chairs. We found the room very clean and had every thing we needed, including a kettle. (I would recomend bringing more coffee etc if you want to drink more than one cup though!) Dinner we had the set menu. The drinks in the restaurent and bar are bought using a consumpton card which is purchased from reception at 10 euro's per card. If you have money left on your cards, reception change it back to euro's at the end of your stay.
Breakfast was very nice with a choice of bacon and scrambled egg /cold meats / yogurts / cereals / breads / fruits.
The staff were polite and helpfull.We did not view the pool so it would be unfair to comment....
I would not hesitate to recomend this hotel and it's exellant service to any traveller - I would stay at this hotel again!

Best Wishes...

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Pinkshoes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terneuzen
1.2 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - City Terneuzen
24.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
#1 of 5 in Burgh-Haamstede
1,417 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Tulip L'Escaut
Golden Tulip L'Escaut
#3 of 4 in Terneuzen
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen
10.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Goes
13.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Churchill Terneuzen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Churchill Terneuzen

Address: Churchillaan 700, 4532 JB Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Terneuzen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Terneuzen
Price Range: $109 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Churchill Terneuzen 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want peace as well as bustle in Zeeuws-Vlaanderen, then Hampshire Hotel - Churchill Terneuzen is ideal. The hotel is in a fabulous location on the Zeedijk, on the Western Scheldt. This is the perfect starting point for a walk to the centre of Terneuzen or a tour of the Otheense Kreek. From here, you can also cycle to the local (fortified) towns of Aardenburg, IJzendijke, Hulst and Sluis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Churchill Terneuzen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing