We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive & arrogant...”
Review of Vriendschap

Vriendschap
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Middelburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: VRIENDSCHAPprosecco onder de kurk, gratis water bij de wijn, ook voor mensen die niet van concessies houden. De enige echte originele picknick aan lange aanschuiftafels, plek voor huiswerk, discussie, zakenborrel, verjaardagsdiner, spelletje, zakelijk snelle of juist trage lunch, lui filosoferen, de krant, Frame, Vogue, National Geographic of één van die andere fantastische leestafelbladen, koesteren in de zon, bij de kachel, vegetarisch, bio-logisch, immer originele (kerst)versiering, dieet, huisgedraaid ijs, mooie visjes van Aard, sashimi van de hofleverancier. Espresso, latte of sterke macchiato, diner voor veel, voor 2 of jou alleen. Mosselen, pistou, aïoli, langoustines, brood met gezouten boter, biefstuk van ossenhaas, kazen van Tricht......... (en nu even ademhalen) verse ingrediënten in originele gerechten met een glimlach op je bord.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“expensive & arrogant...”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

one Westmalle Tripel = 4.50 euros
really expensive..., but when you ask for some peanuts, you are charged 1.50 euro extra !
waiter is quite arrogant when you say you dont want to pay that ; but who is this guy...???
a member of the royal family ?
in Antwerp, you pay 3 euros for it, including peanuts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank fernand b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    178
    39
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mossel Festival midnight meal”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very good food options for vegetarians and treat for non vegetarians. A very lively and warm place to be. Superb service and waitress that are quite fluent in English (unusual site here). Carrot Risotto was one of it's kind, and my non Vegetarian friends vouch for this place as it serves them yummiest of non veg options.
The best thing is, the kitchen is open till midnight. Making a reservation prior to visiting is the best idea, as it may get too crowded.
Loved the small library they have and the interiors too much!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Priyanka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Lovely , sightly unusual food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I loved my seafood risotto, and our whole party of 4 rated their meals highly. The food is quite modern, not your average Dutch menu. Very tasty and beautifully presented.
One slight disappointment was my glass of prosecco, which was rather flat. When I queried it, the (very charming) waitress told me is was a 'low-bubble type of prosecco'. I've never heard of this before. However she did offer to change it for another drink.
That aside, eating at De Vriendschap was a very good experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kormachameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“It might not look much...”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I decided to ignore the one terrible review on trip advisor (what sort of person leaves a negative review for a restaurant they haven't actually been to, just because they didn't like the look of the menu?)
From the outside, this doesn't look impressive, but looks can be deceiving
The one "fault I would find is that they don't have a menu on display, and, as other restaurants nearby were taking their menu boards in to indicate the kitchen was closed, we assumed they had stopped serving the first night we were in Middelburg. The next night we gave it a try, we could see other people had menus.
My priority with any restaurant is that the food is excellent, fancy presentation and friendly service are nice but non-essential. Vriendschap scores highly on all accounts. The menu was imaginative and they have an English translation if, like us, Dutch is Double-Dutch to you. The staff were friendly (appropriately for a restaurant called "Friendship") and helpful with a few details that didn't translate well. The food was exquisite and the delicacy of the presentation just added to the experience.
We traditionally, on the last night of our holiday, go back to the best restaurant we've eaten in, so I know where I'm going on Thursday!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidMeighan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over-ambitious menu”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We couldn't make our choice from the menu, there was just nothing appealing; it's as if the restaurant had tried to make everything just a tad too special (bordering on pretentious) - so we left without ordering anything.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jojowiththeflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vriendschap also viewed

Middelburg, Zeeland Province
Middelburg, Zeeland Province
 
Middelburg, Zeeland Province
Middelburg, Zeeland Province
 
Middelburg, Zeeland Province
Middelburg, Zeeland Province
 

Been to Vriendschap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing