We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Middelburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Situated right on the canal and a short walk from the train station and town centre. The hotel bar is spacious, modern and warm. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good for a continental. Our room was comfortable and spacious. Wifi was free. We rode our bikes to the hotel and the staff were very helpful in securing them for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    36
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
39
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I really have no complaint about this hotel. Clean room, atmospheric bar and very good location opposite canal and station. The bar served us a lovely meal, the staff were friendly and carrying the food from across the road because they had no cook. The steak we had was gorgeous. The hotel made everyone in the hotel welcome to join in with the occasion of Holland playing in the World Cup quarter final supplying hats, horns and peanuts. Great service with staff running around supplying beer. We really enjoyed the hospitality and enjoyed our overnighter very much.

The rooms are not contemporary but very clean and functional. The breakfast was a self serve and was adequate but unexciting.

The main issue was price; because for 135 Euros a night it is natural to expect a more sophisticated hotel. Having said this I feel mean giving a 3/5 because it was an enjoyable stay but on balance this is my most objective view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Had to make a last minute trip to Middelburg for a day so I went on the internet to book a room. The only hotel available near the train station was the Hotel De Nieuwe. I figured for one night I could handle most anything so booked the room with little research. I arrived in Middelburg and saw the hotel sign as I left the train station...two minute walk.

Entering the hotel I was greeted with "Welcome - Can I help You?" I registered and went up to my room, the cheapest on my trip, and found this newly carpeted room overlooking a beautiful patio. The room was quite large, the bathroom was more than adequate and the internet worked very well.

Pluses: bike rental, patio seating on the canal, beautiful back yard patio, close to city center, close to the train station, reasonably quiet and very helpful staff.

Minuses: no teapot for coffee, no wash clothes

I would return and recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for canal side for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enjoythetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel. Good all-round hotel. Our room was nice and very tidy, bathroom quite small though. Breakfast is excellent and there's a nice pub on the ground floor. Excellent location, old city centre is just a 5 mins walk away.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Annaland/Zeeland/Holland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is situated nearby the Railwaystation and only minutes away from the very nice city centre. It has a small but nice terrace. Friendly male receptionist/waiter. A good breakfast. The cleanliness is not okay. The beds and shower are clean, but wall and floor decoration were nice 20 years ago. With a litte of fantasty this hotel could be much more nice than at this current situation. Nevertheless you have to try because the location is very good.

Room Tip: Room 307 is a superior room with a nice view at the old Railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackfromHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The modern bar/reception area are pleasant but our room was old and badly in need of updating and a coat of paint as were other areas of the hotel. Whilst spacious, the room did not even have a kettle or cups for a drink or a separate bathroom and the base of the shower unit needs attention. The room had noise from outside, above and from the garden and we had asked for a quiet room. So, a disappointing experience and certainly not value for the rates charged.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room if possible first or ask for one that has a private/separate bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacobs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Warm welcome at this hotel, we had a very pleasant stay. Coco the parrot kept us amused with his anticts. Staff very friendly, breakfast was nice, hot and cold food available. Lift available which was great as the stairs were very steep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooz2757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middelburg
1.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
#2 of 10 in Middelburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel aan de Dam
Hotel aan de Dam
#3 of 10 in Middelburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
#1 of 5 in Burgh-Haamstede
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
4.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Rivage
Hotel Le Beau Rivage
#4 of 10 in Middelburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen

Property: Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen
Address: Loskade 3-5-7, 4331 HV Middelburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Middelburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Middelburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is managed in a "personal" and friendly manner, housed in a large stately mansion in the historic center of Middelburg. Middelburg offers within a radius of 15 km. natural beauty, walking and bike trails, dunes and beaches. The hotel is located directly opposite of the railway station at the other side of the canal. Sufficient car parking is available and bicycle's can be parked in our enclosed bicycle parking. The small size of our hotel creates an atmosphere where you feel at home. We offer 28 modern styled bedrooms of different sizes with either the canal view or garden view. The atmospheric lounge can be used for relaxing, reading or watching a wide variety of television programs at a wide screen television. Our atmospheric and popular bar is a venue and "The Place to meet" for all our (international) guests. Throughout the hotel, bar, lounge, terrace and garden we offer free- and unrestricted wireless internet access. Our "guest" computer can be used at your disposal and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing