We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel is the synecdoche of Middelburg's exquisite charm.”
Review of Hotel aan de Dam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel aan de Dam
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Middelburg
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This hotel is the synecdoche of Middelburg's exquisite charm.”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I would say that not going to Hotel aan de Dam when in Middelburg is tantamount to missing something of the charm while touring in Middelburg. Well located and "run" by students, it combines both the feeling of past times and allour 21st cent. day-to-day inescapable conveniences and amenities. The price, for this kind of hotel and service (which even includes a wonderful breakfast with “oeuf à la coque” if you want to), is fair enough.
Manuella,,Portugal. (stayed from 27th to 29th Oct 2010)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marygla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    32
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
57
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

What an excellent hotel, with great staff and a friendly welcome.
Arriving late in the evening, staff had made a special effort to stay up to welcome us. I left a shirt hanging in the waredrobe of my room which the hotel posted to me in the UK promtly at no extra charge!
Brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances_Lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

i would definately recommend this charming hotel. Staff are welcoming & friendly. Excellent breakfast. Spacious rooms. (Avoid the Sun room - it was noisy as it was right by reception and some quests choose to check out at 6am).
Street parking (9am - 6pm) can be expensive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isobelsgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my patents to celebrate my mother's 85th birthday. The first advantage of the hotel is it's location - right in the centre of this charming town and overlooking a canal. Although there is no dedicated hotel parking, there is ample parking right outside and we had no problems finding a space.

The next thing is the hotel is in a very attractive old building maintained to an exceptionally high standard. Each room is different with it's own name. Some are very grand, decorated in empire style; others modern. We had a fantastic shower room with modern shower - with a choice of music, lights and several different shower heads - an experience in itself.

The main thing about this hotel though is the exceptionally high standard of service. Each day there were different staff on duty and without exception they were pleasant, friendly and very helpful. Nothing was too much for them and they appeared genuinely pleased to go out of their way to help you. The breakfast was excellent and when the weather is good there is a delightful enclosed garden.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and really could find no fault - quite exceptional it seems these days. It was definitley one of my best hotel experiences.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jylSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level Contributor
137 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I stayed here with my 2 sisters for a reunion. We were all born in Middelburg so knew that the hotel was in the centre of town. This is without doubt one of the best hotels in Middelburg but then there is very little competion.There was confusion in terms of the rooms. My sisters had booked a twin bedded room but on arrival were allocated a double bedded room. This caused confusion etc. but it was sorted out. It was also on the ground floor and one should avoid this location. Both rooms were charming but the bed in my room was very low and the bathtub in my sisters room was difficult to get into.
Breakfast was good, typical Dutch style, cheese, ham, boiled egg etc. There is no bar in the hotel nor is there a lounge to sit in; the only communal room is the breakfast room. There are no facilities for dinner but there are a number of restaurants close by. You can park outside the hotel or nearby but you have to pay at meters.We were told on booking that "parking vouchers" would be supplied for a days parking but that was not true and one has therefore to feed the meter regularly. We found the staff, whilst friendly, inexperienced and the girl serving breakfast surly.The owners were not much in evidence. All in all I liked the hotel for its central position and the very spacious and well equipped bedrooms. We were disappointed that there was no bar or communal area. In summer one could sit in the garden. The cost per room is reasonable for the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leusden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

The Hotel aan de Dam is located in a very beautiful well restored 17th century stately home, close to Middelburg town centre. Parking can be an issue here, but it was easy for us during the weekend. The hotel is run by students of the local ROC hotel school, who go out of their way to please their guests.
We booked a brand new attick room (Damzicht) which was very spacious and featured all mod cons plus a kitchenette. The twin beds were excellent and despite the location close to the town centre it was very quiet. Due to busy Easter weekend we were asked to use the breakfast room service, which was excellent.
We had ordered a gastronomic package deal which includes a four course menu at the local restaurant Scherp, which proved to be an excellent choice. Very good food and service at a very reasonable rate (€200 for hotel plus a culinary evening for the two of us) .
We will return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batavenoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

The room was a surprise, at least 20 by 30 feet and very high, decorated in empire style.
The empire style bedboard guarded a 20th century bed; one of the best beds we experienced ever.
The modern ameneties, including a spacious bath, were hidden behind a sliding door.
Outside, through the big windows, there was the garden, now white with the winter snow, but promising a nice outdoor dinner in the summer.
The hotel is run by post-graduate students from the hotel school, so the staff is eager to discuss the hotel business and well-being of their guests.
Breakfast was exellent.
Parking in the center of Middelburg was a bit of a problem, since there was no long-stay parking space close by; but if you travel on the water you'll find the marina next door.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0H0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Middelburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
#2 of 10 in Middelburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen
Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen
#8 of 10 in Middelburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Rivage
Hotel Le Beau Rivage
#4 of 10 in Middelburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amadore Hotel Restaurant Arneville
1.3 mi away
BMG Hotel Middelburg
BMG Hotel Middelburg
#6 of 10 in Middelburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel aan de Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel aan de Dam

Property: Hotel aan de Dam
Address: Dam 31, 4331 GE Middelburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Middelburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Middelburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel aan de Dam 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel aan de Dam is a splendid monumental building with 11 unique rooms. In the rooms you experience the atmosphere of before, with all facilities of today. After a restful night sleep, a delicious breakfast will be served. Young and enthusiastic hosts surround you with care and attention during your stay. Hotel aan de Dam is also an ideal location for a meeting, diner, brunch, or a High Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel aan de Dam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing