We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, very old building”
Review of Hotel aan de Dam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel aan de Dam
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Middelburg
Certificate of Excellence
Wevelgem, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, very old building”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in march 2013. It is a great building very close to the town center. The rooms are magnificent and you really feel like staying in an old castle. They have a special parking rate- ask for it ! We took the combination with diner in restaurant 'Scherp' wich is a must do! The breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan63Wevelgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    33
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
60
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just a five minute walk from the main street that leads to the town square, about 10 minutes from the railway station. Wonderful hotel in a traditional style with chandeliers and leather chairs in large rooms. On arrival we were greeted with a friendly chat and shown to the room, the staff are proud of the hotel and work very hard to maintain the welcome. Really comfortable bed and perfectly peaceful night sleep. Clean and warm bathroom for a shower or bath. In the morning a good fresh breakfast with warm rye bread, croissants, cheese, fruit and wonderful freshly squeezed orange juice which is a rarity these days as it normally comes out of a carton or machine. Freshly made coffee and scrambled eggs too.
Next door is a bar and restaurant that is great if you don't want to walk into the town when you arrive. We had steaks and local fish, all very good and served with a good selection of Dutch and Belgian beers. Try La Chouffe or the Tripel Karmeliet.
Overall a very pleasant stay in a traditional Dutch house in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for the large rooms, some have baths. The attic rooms are quite small and you might be disappoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent location in a former mansion looking onto the canal in the centre of historic Middelburg. But the lasting impression is a rather gloomy one: high ceilings, dark furniture, dark rooms, few guests, a trifle shabby. Nice garden. Friendly staff, public parking across the road.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We spent one night in this centrally located, charming, old hotel, in the top level suite, the Empire Suite, on the ground floor. The price was discounted to 150 euros, all in including breakfast and wifi. The reception area is small and uninspiring, and no one was present when I arrived, or for several minutes thereafter, and the desk bell was concealed.

The room was very spacious - about 600 sq feet with 13 (or higher) foot ceilings - and ornate, for eg, had an easel with a copy of an oil painting on it, several pieces of gilded antique furniture, two sitting chairs, and a dining table with 4 antique chairs. Drapes were heavy, and floor to ceiling. Tons of closet, drawer and floor space. Had an excellent clock/alarm radio and flat screen TV, both a bit far from where you would want them. The decor was tired and a bit shabby in places, and the movement of guests and staff in the hallways was plainly audible. Rooms were large enough for coffee and tea facilities, but none were offered, nor was there a mini-fridge which would have been welcome.

Bathroom was tiny but perfectly functional, with deep, soaker tub and hand held "shower" fixture. Excellent Braun blow-dryer. Two other rooms I looked at had only bath or shower, not a combination.

Heating worked well, the bed was wonderfully comfortable (singles box spring and mattresses pushed together, however, with a 2.5 inch mattress topper that made it a queen) and bed linens of high quality. Being on the back side of the hotel, the room was very quiet. From the comfortable bed, blackout drapes, and temperature control to the noiseless environment, we both slept exceedingly well.

Its most delightful feature was the two floor to ceiling windows that looked out on the garden. Even better, one window opened onto a little patio that lead straight to the garden lounge, where we relaxed with our books. Although we were the only guests in the garden patio, we were offered bar service there. It was the only suite in the hotel that had direct access to the back garden patio.

The breakfast room was large and attractive, if a bit dark. Looked onto the garden patio. Fare was an assortment of breads, meats, cheeses, bottled and freshly squeezed juice, yogurt, fresh fruit salad, coffee of your choosing, cereals, cakes and profiteroles (wow, were they good), and eggs prepared to your liking. Service was prompt, friendly and obliging.

The hotel is in a perfect location, 3 minutes’ walk to the main tourist street and 5 minutes to the square. A wonderful Italian restaurant, recommended by staff, is directly across the street.

I don't know what else Middelburg offers or whether it is a particularly expensive town or not, so it is impossible to judge whether Hotel aan de Dam is good value, comparatively. I can say that the hotel, while a "mixed bag", was more than adequate for our needs. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Empire suite - ground floor at the back, is the only room with its own entrance into the garden. Qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Very fine, though older, hotel in quieter part of Middelburg, a medieval town in the Netherlands. Very professional and courteous staff. Management more than happy to address concerns or queries you might have. Modern full bathrooms with tub and shower (bathtubs are hard to find in the Netherlands). Spacious rooms decorated with antiques - some people might not like this style, but we did. Plentiful breakfast included. No restaurant on premises, but several very good ones nearby. Short walk to shopping area, canals, cafes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duesseldorf
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel looks nice but the chambers are depressing.

I stayed there for one night and I could have better hotels for a cheaper price.

Plus:

-Friendly staff
-Nice garden where we took breakfast

Minus:

-The bed was used. There were hairs of my predecessor in the bed. After I asked two times they changed the bedding

-The chamber has nothing to do with the pictures of the hotel. Surprisingly when you want to take a picture it looks all bright. Actually the furniture depressed me. It is just old. I do not mean antique they are just ugly

-The room smelled muggy

- It is noisy if your room is to the side of the street. We where there on Saturday night. 100 meters away there are some pubs and a club and the young people made a lot lot of sound till dawn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpapadop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Lancashire.
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel is really well located close to the water and just a short stroll down the main shopping street into the centre of town. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room at the top of the building was modern and well appointed with decent views of the garden and town. Breakfast was delicious with freshly squeezed orange juice and a buffet of delights beautifully laid out in a room leading onto the garden.

There is also a really good bar/restaurant next door - 't'Witte Paarl' - where the young owner is happy to chat to you about everything from Trappist beers to the history of his building, whilst serving very nice food and drinks.

The only minor irritant is the car parking. There are plenty of spaces right on the doorstep but you can only put money in for 2 hours at a time which is awkward if you want to go into town. However if you ask at reception and leave the money and your keys, they'll even top up the 'meter' and put the ticket in your car for you. How's that for service!

Room Tip: The top floor rooms, where we were, are modern whereas I believe the lower ones are more traditional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middelburg
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
#2 of 10 in Middelburg
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen
Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen
#5 of 10 in Middelburg
108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Middelburg
13.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
#1 of 5 in Burgh-Haamstede
1,318 reviews
1.3 mi away
BMG Hotel Middelburg
BMG Hotel Middelburg
#7 of 10 in Middelburg
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel aan de Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel aan de Dam

Property: Hotel aan de Dam
Address: Dam 31, 4331 GE Middelburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Middelburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Middelburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel aan de Dam 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel aan de Dam is a splendid monumental building with 11 unique rooms. In the rooms you experience the atmosphere of before, with all facilities of today. After a restful night sleep, a delicious breakfast will be served. Young and enthusiastic hosts surround you with care and attention during your stay. Hotel aan de Dam is also an ideal location for a meeting, diner, brunch, or a High Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel aan de Dam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing