We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mix of cultures and times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Museum

Central Museum
Ranked #17 of 95 things to do in Utrecht
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“mix of cultures and times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The best was the ship in the ground ( You cant miss it m ) LIght instalation and sounds make an impression on me ! Here U find a totally mix the culture and times, it was something new for me. I didn't understand it but it was realy interesting

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OlaBuona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    67
    65
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Loved this museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I absolutely fell in love with this museum. Its not boring or typical, every Exposition is diffirent, inspiring, suprising or even shocking. I also didnt have a problem to find it. The stuff was very helpfull, one particular man-guid was willing to share all the info he knows and he knew really a lot. There is a very nice comfortable atmosphere, so in the end you wont want to leave.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olinkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guernsey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great art work, fantastic 300 years of peace treaty exhibition. only real disappointed was, that we visited in August, which I presume is when a lot of tourists are around, however the cafe was closed, the resturant was the only thing open. The resturant had only one cook who had to take the orders, cook the food, be the waitress and charge for food! I.m not joking, it was awful to watch how hard this lady had to work and we had to wait for along time for a simple hot sandwich. Just couldn.t believe a large museum relied on one person to feed its visitors.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rsherrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Skip it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This museum is just okay at best'. If you have the museum card and happen to be in town and maybe looking for a way to spend a rainy day go for it, otherwise the road construction and difficult parking make this not worth the effort.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5Americans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,131 reviews
433 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
“Great building; wonderful exhibits.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Occupying several reclaimed and adapted buildings, and dealing with art, archaelogy, and history, this is a splendid venue. The collection of painting is not huge, but is well selected, with particular attention to the Utrecht Caravagists, Van Baburen, Van Honthorst, and Ter Brugghen. The modern art is also very good. Of special interest this summer and fall is an exhibition devoted to the Peace of Utrecht (1713), which combines art and history in an impressive fashion. The restaurant is limited in its offerings but serves very good salads and sandwiches. This museum is very much worth visiting!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank operalover939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Museum also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Central Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing