We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Quirky and interesting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum Speelklok

Museum Speelklok
Ranked #4 of 96 things to do in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Museum Speelklok, the most cheerful museum in the Netherlands! During a visit to the typical Dutch Museum Speelklok, cheerful live music will surround you from centuries-old self-playing musical instruments. The history of these instruments started back in 16th century the Netherlands with the use of church carillons. Over the centuries, the general desire of people to be surrounded by music, led to the invention of all sorts of self-playing musical instruments: musical clocks, musical boxes, orchestrions (self-playing orchestras) and the traditional Dutch street organs. All of these instruments, including the famous street organ named Arabier and the so-called 8th world wonder the Violina, can be admired and heard during the lively museum tour. Thanks to the highly skilled Restoration Workshop, the collection is kept playing and this craft can be passed on from this generation to the next.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quirky and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We took refuge here early on a very wet Sunday morning and was surprised to really enjoy this museum. There was no tour available when we arrived but the young attendants were enthusiastic and I enjoyed my turn "playing" a pianola as they showed us how some of the exhibits worked. Generally all rather good fun and a welcome distraction from the rain.

Visited October 2013
2 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
456 reviews
252 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Something completely different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

There's a tour aroud all kinds of bell and organ related items (clocks for example). Very interesting, with explanations by a guide in Dutch and English. It something you will find in very few places.

Visited November 2012
2 Thank Arjen_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very recomended for children”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

It is very nice museum, for childre special, for me ( age around 30 was a little boring ) I don't recomended for people in my age guided with tours, our guideman was very boring and he looks he didn't like this job, but for children speeklok presentation was for sure very exciting, its nice museum with nice gofts in the shop:)

Visited September 2013
Thank OlaBuona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydon Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surpassed my expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I'm afraid I was not expecting to enjoy this museum but it ended up being one my favourites in Utrecht. The exhibition is really interesting and very interactive. I would recommended this to anyone visiting Utrecht.
I think it would have been expensive if I didn't have a MuseumKaart.

Visited September 2013
3 Thank RuthEChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Make sure you visit this FUN museum on your Utrecht outing! There are 3 parts to the museum: the guided tour, the upper level galleries, and the exhibit with stories and a movie.

Start with the exhibit that includes prerecorded stories and facts about the whole experience. The "theater" experience is narrated in Dutch, but has an entertaining English written narrative. It was honestly my favorite part, and I wishes we had done it first! After that, go on to the guided tour, which is done in English along with Dutch. After those 2 things, you can roam the rest of the re-vamped cathedral and look at the remaining displays. Fascinating!

After you visit, you will be even more entertained as you wander the centrum on a Saturday and hear the music in the streets!

Visited September 2013
Thank ESWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Speelklok also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province

Been to Museum Speelklok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing