We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great entertainment”

Railway Museum (Het Spoorwegmuseum)
Ranked #3 of 107 things to do in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great entertainment”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Where as the National Rail Museum in York is mainly a collection of engines, rolling stock and railway items, the Utrecht museum is full of entertainment, and great for all the family

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NorfolkRailFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    320
    68
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for kids and train lovers”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you've got kids, this museum is a must see. It's got trains - of course - real trains, old ones and new ones, but also interactive "worlds" in which you can experience the railway history in an exciting way - eg with a fast moving trolley in the dark or in the proof of fire - a very physical cinematic experience.

For small kids there's a mini train the kids can ride. As for the train enthousiasts - you won't be disappointed. Original orient express (the real one) is in this museum as well as many old models and the first train ever on dutch rails.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank japrowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“fun”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The railway museum is always intresting. Besides the fabulous old trains and the amazing fassion in cabins there is always a new theme and lively exhibistion. You could easely spent a whole day there yust enjoying.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaatjeUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great museum; interesting rides”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Go there once and a while and am always pleasantly surprised. The building itself is impressive and very beautifully located. Lots of gorgeous old trains from the Netherlands and elsewhere. Good historic overview of the railways. Also a few very good and exciting rides, that you should not miss

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryannl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
656 reviews
421 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“fascinating history and displays”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

If my son and I hadn't got another train to catch that afternoon, we would have stayed even longer examining the historic 'beasts'... the static displays are very impressive and give a sense of how the trains were run and maintained and of the history they helped form.
I was both moved and terrified when I stood inside one of the railcars used to transport Jews to the concentration camps.
My Museumkaart has been an excellent value and I have visited museums I would not have otherwise considered!
If ever I am back in Utrecht, I will definitely re-visit the Spoorwegmuseum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KLsWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railway Museum (Het Spoorwegmuseum) also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Railway Museum (Het Spoorwegmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing