We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting museum and...you can keep your children happy there”

Railway Museum (Het Spoorwegmuseum)
Ranked #3 of 107 things to do in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
houten
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Interesting museum and...you can keep your children happy there”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We visited this museum with our two grandsons, 5 and 9 years old. For both it proved to be a succes. The history of the Dutch Railways was very interesting for the older one and there were enough other things that kept the younger one happy. You can easily stay there for a whole day.
If you go to Utrecht by train, you can travel directly from Utrecht Central Station to the museum ...by train!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank linette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    321
    68
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have been to several railway museums, my other half liking the things, but this one I actually enjoyed. The trains and exhibitions themselves were as usual, but what saved this for us was the addition of a couple of rides which although we had to queue for them were good fun and added to the overall experience. "Trial by Fire" especially had us laughing as we tried to work out (not understanding Dutch) what on earth we were supposed to be doing and beyond that I will say no more so as not to spoil it for anyone else thinking of going.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
275 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Impressive history of Dutch Railways”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited the museum when part of it was dedicated to railway history during wartime (WW I, WW II, ...). It hlds an impressive collection of historical trains. There's a lot of background information. We were especially impressed with the trains holding cannons and that were used to transport people to the concentration camps in WW II. It give us goosebumps hearing the stories of the survivors.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arjen_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting museum”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited this museum around Sinterklaas and it was a lot of fun - they had an indoor skating area and seasonal food and drinks. The museum has a lot of interesting collections and some impressive engines. Fortunately we had with us my boyfriend's grandfather, who used to work as a mechanic on German trains during the WW2 and knew everything about the trains we saw. Overall, an interesting museum for all ages and with a lot of fun things to do.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Wonderful history of Netherland Railroads”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We first visited the museum in 2003 at which time they were getting ready to close for a complete rebuild of exhibits. They did a great job. Beautiful displays of equipment, models, and lots of artifacts. Two exhibits are very interactive - one where they provide English head sets takes you from an English coal mine all the way through steam engine history to the first train in the Netherlands the other exhibit is like a Disneyland ride with a crazy train driver. Nice store & cafe
Pay to park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsbyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railway Museum (Het Spoorwegmuseum) also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Railway Museum (Het Spoorwegmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing