We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring but does the job”
Review of NH Centre Utrecht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Centre Utrecht
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Boring but does the job”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have stayed here multiple times.

This is a small 3 star hotel located quite near the centre of Utrecht.

The rooms are quite small, with a small TV, a fridge and a desk. The bathroom's quite small and needs some manoeuvring to use. There's a bar and cafe downstairs which has good drinks and sandwiches available. There's also a full service restaurant that's open for dinner.

It's just another dull identikit European hotel chain.

Service is good, the receptionists are always helpful. The wifi used to be free and easy to use. Now it's still free but there's a complicated password and log in required, just a hassle.

For me in Utrecht, in this price range, this is the best hotel. The only other competition that I'm aware of is the Court Hotel. But recently that's gotten far more expensive for almost an identical level of comfort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miran_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    227
    123
    24
    16
See reviews for
65
154
33
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Walking diastance to the center, and railwaystation. Friendly staff. OK breakfast. Was a little late for that and they closed the door to the hotel from the restaurant, so I had to go outside and around the corner to come back to my hotelroom. And if you are 2 persons make sure that you all get a key. You can't get in on the floors without key!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a very nice accommodation centrally located for the train station and exploration of the city!! The rooms were very clean. There is a restaurant available onsite. We did not eat there as we were in the city for a wedding. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. Nice amenities in the room. We are from the US.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times over the past 20 years. The rooms could use a bit of updating and more light, but are kept very clean. Room location can be a roll of the dice, front facing rooms receive a lot of noise from the street below and back facing room sometimes receive smells from the bar and resteraunts below.

Be aware free internet is throttled back and you'll need to upgrade for more bandwidth.

Overall I continue to come back but also continue to look for a hotel a cut above.

Room Tip: Try to get fast internet included
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIYADON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for business - it fuses traditional with modern. Rooms are large, but roadside ones are noisy.

Great WiFi. Did not try breakfast, which is served in the adjacent bar.

The cliental appear to be mainly are business customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstLast34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, Usa
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is on a busy street with constant bus traffic. They provide ear plugs as a solution, but that doesn't work if you need to get up early to catch a train. Some of the lights in the room didn't work, which helped them hide the fact that the room wasn't very clean. The drain in the shower also didn't work well. I'll try another hotel on my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Whilst many have had good experiences in this hotel mine was not. Bicycle dodging is a great skill to have but trying to find the car park at this Hotel is next to impossible. Given that you cannot park outside to find out where it is I resorted to parking on a meter about 1km away. Driving around to find a space took around an hour. I suspect the best plan is to opt for public transport and normally this is what I would have done however I had covered over 400 kms across the country and needed to have the car to hand.

Given that I had been travelling all day I was looking forward to a simple bowl of pasta and a glass of wine. I was informed that the Brasserie is open until 2200. Okay so pitching in at 2115 and only to be told that the kitchen is closed. Even when challenged the bar staff stated that it closes at 2100. So the reception desk information is wrong and the hotel directory in the room is also wrong. Ordered a beer and the staff were then busy putting tables and chairs away and shutting the doors at 2130. Feeling really welcome at this point.

So up to the room. Lift doors open and we have peeling wallpaper and loo rolls in the corridor. I almost went back downstairs to check that Basil Fawlty isn't running the place. So access corridors are a bit messy and it feels tired. Also lots of suspended ceilings which are usually there to cover up all sorts of nasty things. The room is a bit dark and the windows look out on to the vent ducts. You can just hear the bells over the hum of the ventilation system ... just. Also I couldn't work out if one end of the room looked like a waiting room in a cheap office suite or not - sorry to be a bit harsh. There is a huge rub mark across the centre of the door as well, it just looks a bit trashed really - interestingly on the coasters in the bedroom reads the following: "We avoid stains on the tablecloths, the tables and even on your clothes, and, despite this, we still get unnoticed. Just the way we want it to be." So whilst this applies to the coasters I think you would want the room to either really please/wow you or be unremarkable so that you can concentrate on your enjoyable day?

Overall you come to Utrecht to be outside the Hotel and savour the atmosphere and culture of the place. However your Hotel room needs to be a little oasis after a long day surely? This is not really that and I am hoping that breakfast is better than the other reviews otherwise a motorway service station calls ...

Room Tip: Firstly, maybe consider somewhere else? If not avoid room 218, I guess something on floor three mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webwurzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
0.7 mi away
NH Utrecht
NH Utrecht
#4 of 22 in Utrecht
595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
0.2 mi away
Eye Hotel
Eye Hotel
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mary K Hotel
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 22 in Utrecht
231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mitland
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Centre Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Centre Utrecht

Property: NH Centre Utrecht
Address: Janskerkhof 10, 3512 BL Utrecht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht > Lange Nieuwstraat , Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Centre Utrecht 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star NH Centre Utrecht hotel, set inside a charming historical building dating from the 1870s, offers old world atmosphere combined with modern facilities and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Centre Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Utrecht
Nh Hotel Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing