We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A must if you visit Utrecht” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Tower

Dom Tower
Book In Advance
$54*
and up
3-Hour Walking Tour of Utrecht
Ranked #2 of 92 things to do in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must if you visit Utrecht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Climb it, enjoy it...the view is worth all the steps up! Look at all the old streets and canals. Go and have a look yourself ...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    413
    67
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
364 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We took al steps to the top of the Domtoren and enjoyed the magnificent view. We could see almost 50 miles - we heard that on days the air is dry and skies are clear, the Euromast in Rotterdam is visible. On the way up you can see the rooms in the tower and learn about the history of the Dom (including the part that's no longer there). Loved it! This tower is one of the reasons Lonely Planet voted the city as one of the hidden gems of Europe.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arjen_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
229 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great views over Utrecht”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The point of this "tour" is to get to the top and enjoy the view. It definitely delivers in that aspect. The views over the city are great and it's also interesting to see the bells en learn a little bit about the history. I am not fit and was able to get to the top without any issues.

Negatives: €9/person is too expensive for the experience. Our group was very large, I think about 30+ people and this slows things down to get started, than we were in a bit of a rush as we had to get down on time for the next group. So there was no time to really ask any in depth questions.

I've climbed the Westertoren in Amsterdam which was a much better experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaNLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice view on the history of the diocese of Utrecht”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We visited the Domplein and the Dom tower via the tourist information. We were accompanied by a guide, which was quite essential to fully appreciate the history and the little details on the Domsquare.
This square is really worth while, and it is surrounded by lots of cafes, which makes this part of town a very nice and cozy meeting place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ramon_vd_Werf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place in Utrecht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I'm not catholic but this place U have to see, special the gallery near the catedra it has to be seen. The entance is on the right from the catedra. We were lucky, there was a choi singing ( bautifull ...)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OlaBuona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dom Tower also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Dom Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing