We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good, inexpensive hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beurshotel

Beurshotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utrecht
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beurshotel
Ranked #28 of 29 Utrecht B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, inexpensive hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Don't go to this hotel expecting luxury but also don't be scared away by the comments in other reviews. This hotel provides acceptable reasonably priced accommodation for a short trip. It is located in a quiet neighborhood outside of Utrecht's tourist district. There are several restaurants, bakeries and a grocery store nearby. The public transport bus stop is in front of the hotel. The front desk staff is very helpful and speak English. My single room with shared bath was adequately sized and had a modern television and a small terrace. Wi-Fi was free and it worked well. There are several drawbacks however:This hotel is not within walking distance of the train station nor the tourist district. Despite the comments in other reviews, the hotel does not hide this fact. It should not come as a surprise to anyone. Heed the advise provided on the hotel's website and take bus #1 from the station. Also, the staircases are narrow and steep. Towels are not provided. The shared bathroom are small but functional. Breakfast is not free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mparadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    6
    7
    3
See reviews for
2
7
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you do not mind a long walk from the train station, incredibly steep and narrow stairs, a smelly bathroom,a mattress so hollow and soft that enfolds you like a taco and loud guests slamming doors in the middle of the night, you'll enjoy the place.

Ah, forget the wifi in the rooms. Only available in the lobby and perhaps in the main building.
The staff was friendly enough, although nothing could be done to change the dreadful mattresses and bed bases.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthimisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Utrecht hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The highlight of this stay was the friendly, helpful staff. Haayo, in particular, was amazing - he gave me a great suggestion on how to get to a meeting more easily using public transport, and even emailed me a google map! The other staff were great too. The single room with ensuite I booked was fine. It is in a separate building from the main hotel, but just around the corner and very safe. The room was small, but what do I need a big room for? I think a big room for one person is just a waste. It was adequate to my needs, and had plenty of powerpoints! There is no lift and the stairs are very steep - Haayo offered to carry my case up and I'm glad I agreed! I would stay again happily. The location is great, and easily accessed by many buses from the main central station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanineEchidna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

If your expectations are not those of spacious bathrooms, luxurious beds and bellboys carying your suitcase, then you won't find too much hardship in staying at this one star location.

Bathrooms are tiny, but have a working shower and toilet with warm water (there are some rooms without their own amenities).

Beds are fine, room looks a bit oldfashioned, but you get more then you usually do for less then 50 euro a night. The rate is totally fair in my opinion.

Book with the hotel it self to avoid having to pay the 5% tourist tax on arrival.

Location is easy to access from central station with loads of busses.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niels V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We booked three rooms for five of us, splitting the cost 4 nights wored out at Eu50 pppn. Location is excellent two good regular buses (74 and 77) Takes you through Centraal and on to stops at Neude, Janskerkhof and Heerenplein all on the fringe of the old town. The en suites were small but adequate I'm 6'4" but still washed. There are few hotels in this price range in Utrecht. The breakast was classic Dutch, cheese meat and bread. The staffwere friendly and helpful.
Why they didn't shoot the American whiners who stayed at the same time, is beyond me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Phall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

As a basis for my review I paid €136 for two nights at the Beurshotel.
The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from Utrecht Central station - on the same road so pretty simple to get there. Check in was very straight forward and the guy on the desk very friendly.
Rooms 1-10 were in a separate front door around the corner - the first challenge was the narrow staircases with very small steps, with a 23 kg suitcase it was a real challenge to stay balanced and get the case around the corners. There is no lift and I suspect people with limited mobility would really struggle, there was even one flight of stairs with inconsistent step heights - just like the trip steps you find in old castles. Not that it matters but the carpets were covered in stains. Room 10 was at the top of the building so by the time I'd got there I'd had a good workout at least.
The room itself was more like a student dorm than a typical hotel - it was triangular in shape with three single beds and a separate bathroom. The room had lots of windows and overlooked a junction which seemed to accumulate youths late at night.
There was a TV (not flatscreen) but no controller - it worked but wasn't tuned perfectly. There was a retro stereo system as well should you wish to play tapes...
Decor was pretty poor in appearance - the wall texture varied and there were some old damp stains on the ceiling.
There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms but there was free wifi which lots of bigger hotels charge a lot for these days. (€9 a day in the last hotel I was in). The bed was comfortable especially the pillows.
The bath room had a shower, sink and toilet and again looked a bit dated - there were lots of holes in the tiles and multiple curtain rails showing how things had been upgraded over the years. Everything seemed clean though.
The included continental breakfast was simple but effective and suited me (the last hotel I was in breakfast was €19 per day on its own for similar stuff).
I don't know about Dutch fire regulations but I did find it weird there was a sign posted fire escape onto a flat roof with no way down.

Overall I'd say that if if you're after a luxury break or are planning on spending a lot of time in the room - then probably you'll be disappointed but if you're after somewhere cheap to sleep for a night or two while visiting Utrecht and don't have any heavy luggage to get up the stairs, then this hotel will be fine.

Room Tip: Room 10 has 3 single beds - but is on the top floor with bad stairs, it also overlooks a fairly live...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRIS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Needed to stay one night for the weekend and found this hotel which is not very far from city center (you can take any bus from here to central station). The staff was friendly and allowed check-in near mid-night. The room was small, basic but clean (bathroom, bedlinen). The continental breakfast (included) was very poor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Ibis Utrecht
#10 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
NH Utrecht
#4 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Park Plaza Utrecht
#11 of 19 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#7 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beurshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beurshotel

Property: Beurshotel
Address: Balijelaan 1, 3521 GJ Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beurshotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing