We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, basic and friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beurshotel

Beurshotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utrecht
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beurshotel
Ranked #27 of 29 Utrecht B&B and Inns
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, basic and friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Needed to stay one night for the weekend and found this hotel which is not very far from city center (you can take any bus from here to central station). The staff was friendly and allowed check-in near mid-night. The room was small, basic but clean (bathroom, bedlinen). The continental breakfast (included) was very poor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    6
    7
    3
See reviews for
2
7
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here one night midweek in october. The room was very basic and tiny, the bedlinen was worn and very old fashioned. We had to climb three flights of very steep stairs to get to the room and the window directly overlooked the busy road below. The toilet was separate to the shower, in a tiny closet, I am 5' 2'' and I couldnt close the door if I was using the facilities, it was that small. All of this would perhaps be acceptable if they charged hostel prices but we paid 109 euro for a tuesday night. Of all the hotels I've stayed in over the past few years this was one of the worst.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Utrecht hotels

galway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Arrived with a group of friends for a weekend, the staff were very helpful from the start allowing us to check in early.

The rooms were basic but they were clean and serviced each day. I stayed in the rooms that were not part of the main hotel which are 2 minutes walk away.
At the back of the hotel the room was quiet and comfortable, the only downside is having to use a shared toilet. (On the 3rd floor it's possibly the smallest bathroom I've ever seen)

Breakfast was nice and the people behind reception were flexible enough to give us breakfast when we were a bit late one of the mornings.

The hotel is a good 20 minutes walk from the main train station and 20 minutes walk from town

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank godzillalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed only one night - having booked via the VVV for three nights.. The place was dismal, the room was very cramped with tatty 1960's furniture. The stairs are very, very steep and difficult for the less agile.
Breakfast was adequate, and the staff were helpful. But its price is far too high.

The experience was relativly expensive and best forgotten!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ZoeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

We arrived late on a Friday night. We were traveling with a group of 9 friends having a bachelor party in Utrecht. Parking arround the hotel was free. Upon arrivel we were upgraded to an appartment in stead of the seperate rooms we had booked. The appartment was great. Very spacious, nice living, big flatscreen TV (though we didnt use it). We walked to the nightlife area which was about 20 minutes depending on where you want to go. Also there is a busstop in front of the hotel and the central station is near. Breakdfast the next morning was good.

To sum up, we had a wonderdull time and we would absolutely go back. We were with friends but I would also recommend it for families or other groups. We booked through Booking.com the night before arriving and had an absolute bargain!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

Yes, friend, you have entered a Dutch Twilight Zone. Not that the very small staff was not friendly. They were. This hotel is located in an" interesting" low end student area at a major intersection across from what we would call in the states a "Junior College". This was a pre-arranged happening and we arrived late in the day with plans of a one night stay. There is no elevator and the staircase to the second floor is more like a mature ladder..seriously..steep and with stairs only a few inches wide..an ice ax would have been handy. The staircase leads to the Twilight Zone. We asked the staff member who appeared to be a student..."this is the staircase?" He responded "yes!" with an enthusiasm suggesting that he was either very proud of what challenge was before us or was prepared to be entertained. No offer to assist us was made but I don't think this was so much rude as it was clueless. Room was plain, appeared clean, very sparse. This is basically a hotel for students..almost like a hostel. There is no staff available at night and the front door is locked after hours. We were given a side door key, which was okay(?) but we questioned security. Breakfast was served with the deal and it too was prompt and clean with some Dutch pink meat cuts and boiled eggs... a Denny's Grand Slam would have been welcome at that point. We recommend this hotel for students although the price, by comparison to US standards, was not student pricing. About 90 Euros per couple for the experience of one night!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeritasChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

Three of us stayed three days at the Beurshotel, expecting one large room we got a newly refurbished two-bedroom apartment directly across from the hotel. The apartment was spacious, tastefully decorated in mostly IKEA furniture and the beds were firm and comfortable. It was a good place to be and reminded me how little one needs to be comfortable, i.e. less is more. Breakfast was included as was the free Internet. Being in the Netherlands, public transportation was virtually outside the door. We found parking on the street, sometimes outside the door or within a few metres walking distance. When we were checking out a man and his mother came in demanding a room (none was available) and considerable assistance finding another. The receptionist despite knowing virtually no French did her best to be helpful. My daughter fluent in French and Dutch stepped in to translate.
Despite the intruder being quite rude the receptionist remained courteous.
The receptionist did her best to find accommodation elsewhere within the same price range. Now that was good service.
All the comments about the style of the hotel apply entirely to the apartment we had. (The hotel itself is not impressive but then it's only a three star or perhaps two star. So the reception and breakfast area are not fancy)

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Ibis Utrecht
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Stone Hotel & Hostel
#5 of 29 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
B&B Oudegracht
#20 of 29 in Utrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Mother Goose Hotel
Mother Goose Hotel
#1 of 29 in Utrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Domstad
#14 of 29 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beurshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beurshotel

Property: Beurshotel
Address: Balijelaan 1, 3521 GJ Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beurshotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing