We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, superb views and facilities”
Review of Hotel Mitland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mitland
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ely, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent value, superb views and facilities”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A little way out of the city centre, (city centre accessible by bus) but with superb views over the adjacent park (worth paying extra for). Has all the facilities of a far more expensive hotel: swimming pool, sauna, gym but at very modest rates. Restaurant was also excellent: food fresh, well prepared and reasonably priced.Has a conference centre feel, but the staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and well appointed with tea and coffee in the room but oddly only paper cups.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GhengisKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    336
    76
    21
    8
See reviews for
121
232
40
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and two boys, 5 and 7. On the plus side, the breakfast was good with a wide range of food available. The boys loved the pancakes (freshly made while you wait). It's a nice location - by a lake, nice view and pretty quiet. Some staff were helpful, some not so much. Our eldest had an ear infection and the receptionist found a doctor, arranged an appointment and gave us directions. Couldn't ask for more. The receptionist working the next day was surly and aloof, so a bit of pot luck regarding the helpfulness of staff.
On the down side, well, if you go for a quiet hotel it is likely to be out of the way. This was no exception (this might give you an idea: the goats on the other side on the lake woke me up a few times one night!), which is why the extra fee for parking seems so unreasonable. It's not in the middle of town, and even when there was a conference held at the hotel, there were still plenty of spaces. So why should paying guests have to pay for parking in the middle of nowhere? The receptionist told me I could leave my car outside the car park but it might not be so safe. Gee thanks.
Bit of a story about the minibar: Upon arrival, one of my boys opened the minibar and took out a can. We tried to put it back but each time you pull open the minibar another can pops out and you are charged for it. It looked like we were going to be charged for three cans, but upon leaving I told the receptionist that we left the cans on top of the bar as we didn't intend to take anything and she deducted it from my bill. Can't say fairer than that.
Finally, if you're with kids, the bowling is a big plus and they do a great snack platter there. The area is also great for walks, but I would recommend hiring a car. (We hired with the Avis at Utrecht station - although it was a bit of a walk with two small kids to the Avis office).
All in all, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view over the lake as it is worth it - even if the goats on the other side start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandlern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I booked the Hotel Mitland as a weekend getaway. The hotel was very nice, everything was clean. We had a tv in the room and a minibar which was very pricy. ( A coke can 3euros). We had to pay extra for parking which was 7.50€ a night. The Hotel describes that its a 5min walk to the city centre, but this isnt true we walked for at least 25 minutes and we are 25 years old. The pool and the spa are( steam room and a sauna) were nice, and included it the hotel price room. Around the hotel is a sport park and a little lake, which is very nice for a walk or to just be outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trischa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Although well outside Utrecht (don't go there without a car), the location is very nice with a beautiful artificial lake (pool?) and park nearby. You don't find often this kind of hotels. The hotel is nice (a litlle bit outdated, but OK) and the rooms are very nice and big as well. I think we had the biggest room we had in our Netherlands trip. The service was OK (although nobody seemed to care very much that we strugled with our luggage) and the breakfast was very generous and tasty, served in a really rare setting - near the small lake. The only minuses was the bad air condition in the room (personally, I love to freeze my room - and it is not possible in August with the tiny air condition they have there), the fact that you have to pay extra for the parking (1.5 E per hour from the third hour on) and for the breakfast (15 E or so). But, in general, this is a very good value for money.

Room Tip: view to the lake, and high
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lord_Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed in this hotel during a conference. The room was very good, spotless and had comfortable beds. There was free internet in the room.
I did not attend the breakfast beacuse it was bit pricey and was not included in room rate.
I did attend the lunch buffet which was quite good.
The pool is small, but there is also a steam bath and a sauna for the guests relaxation.
I found two small faults in this hotel:
First, as said here before, it is almost outside the city. There are no shops, caffes, bakeries etc. at a walking distance. Even the nearest bus stop is quite a walk away (about 10-15 mins).
Second, most of the time there was only one person at the reception. We had to wait quite a while during check-in and check-out.
Other than that I was really satisfied with this hotel and I would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a water-front view, they seem more quiet and have blakonies (other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olgitit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here while attending a conference at the University. It was one of the hotels arranged by the conference, and at the conference rate it was a good deal; I don't know what the normal rates are like. The setting was pretty. I had a room facing the lake, with a little patio outside a sliding door. The drawback to that was that noise from people on the terrace (where breakfast is served) could be heard in the room, plus it meant the room wasn't very private feeling, though that's what curtains are for. I was worried about noise but it did not prove to be a problem, as people typically did not linger on the patio late at night and by the time people were going out there to eat breakfast I was getting up anyway.

The facilities were all clean and pleasant and the room was an adequate size. The staff were friendly and, as is common in the Netherlands, all spoke English comfortably and were not fazed by speaking it to me (someone who speaks no Dutch).

Probably the best part was the breakfast, which included champagne along with the usual array of breakfast foods. My husband and I enjoyed having breakfast on the terrace looking out at the lake.

It is not located in the city and was not near my conference, but the bus stop is a short walk and they gave me instructions in English about how to get to the bus stop and how to return to the stop on the bus lines. I did not find traveling to the city a problem. The city center can also be walked to if you do not mind a half hour's walk.

I would recommend the Hotel Mitland to other travelers to Utrecht and would stay there again if I returned.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BunnyHugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#5 of 22 in Utrecht
581 reviews
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 22 in Utrecht
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 22 in Utrecht
505 reviews
Eye Hotel
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
144 reviews
Star Lodge Hotels
#7 of 22 in Utrecht
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mitland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mitland

Property: Hotel Mitland
Address: Arienslaan 1, 3573 PT Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Green Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Business Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mitland 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of Utrecht near the city centre offers Hotel Mitland a wonderful view of the old De Bilt fortress. Enjoy our quiet location in a speldid park, our luxuriously furnished hotel rooms and our restaurant, swimming pool, sauna, fitness and bowlingcentre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mitland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitland Hotel Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing