We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Stay, Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mitland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mitland
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Stay, Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here while attending a conference at the University. It was one of the hotels arranged by the conference, and at the conference rate it was a good deal; I don't know what the normal rates are like. The setting was pretty. I had a room facing the lake, with a little patio outside a sliding door. The drawback to that was that noise from people on the terrace (where breakfast is served) could be heard in the room, plus it meant the room wasn't very private feeling, though that's what curtains are for. I was worried about noise but it did not prove to be a problem, as people typically did not linger on the patio late at night and by the time people were going out there to eat breakfast I was getting up anyway.

The facilities were all clean and pleasant and the room was an adequate size. The staff were friendly and, as is common in the Netherlands, all spoke English comfortably and were not fazed by speaking it to me (someone who speaks no Dutch).

Probably the best part was the breakfast, which included champagne along with the usual array of breakfast foods. My husband and I enjoyed having breakfast on the terrace looking out at the lake.

It is not located in the city and was not near my conference, but the bus stop is a short walk and they gave me instructions in English about how to get to the bus stop and how to return to the stop on the bus lines. I did not find traveling to the city a problem. The city center can also be walked to if you do not mind a half hour's walk.

I would recommend the Hotel Mitland to other travelers to Utrecht and would stay there again if I returned.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BunnyHugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    281
    60
    20
    5
See reviews for
96
181
35
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We recently stayed here, Utrecht was one of the cities on our driving tour of Netherlands, Germany and Belgium.

On arrival this hotel was beautiful set just off the main road accessed through a residential estate with a lovely canal running alongside with a hint of wildlife.

Looks as if it caters for business meetings. The reception area was spotless and it led through to the restaurant which looked lovely - never sampled the food.

We'd booked a ground floor deluxe room? The bathroom was huge a bath and a shower cubicle and in general the room was very modern and of a high standard even liked the touch of our names showing on the tv. Had a great sleep even though the road was adjacent to our room never noticed the noise unless the door or window were open. The black rubber duck in the bathroom was also quite quirky - I'm assuming it's a reflection of the ducks in the river by their hotel. They could be bought from the hotel reception.

The location was the only let down for us. We walked up to visit a coffeeshop one that was closest to our location and it was quite a distance and we hadn't even reached some of the main attractions, we decided to walk back and get our car then headed to a qpark in the city.

That aside I would definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Have stayed at Mitland twice. The first thing that hits you is the space they have - both in your room and around the hotel. It costs about 15 euros to get from utrecht central station to the hotel by taxi. its location is secluded and away from the city - but utrecht is not too spread out to complain about distance. 10 minutes is all that it takes to reach business or sights around the city from this hotel. The rooms are excellent and the most spacious i have seen in utrecht. so are the bathrooms. the property is well maintained, clean and has some good inhouse entertainment including a bowling alley. Breakfast if included in your tarrif has a brilliant choice of cuisine. Families traveling with children might like this location because there's room for the kids to run about or even cycle in the property. The hotel had national hockey teams as guests on both the occassions that i used their services - so that talks about the 'roominess' of the property. Online rates are a steal and well worth their money. The hotel is due for a rennovation as some furniture (especially in the lobby) has some stains - but im sure this is planned soon - but dont let it be a deterrent. It is a good place to stay. Beds are excellent (if sleeping is apart of the plan on your visit to utrecht.

Room Tip: Families with children - remember to fix the PG settings on your room TV. That apart - stay close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randomtraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We booked this hotel as we wanted to stay somewhere quiet – which is what the hotel claims on its website: “The setting and architecture of the hotel make you feel as if you’re in the middle of the countryside”. All the hotel’s pictures show a peaceful parkland setting. However, BEWARE! The nice park is only on one side of the hotel; the hotel is actually between two very noisy dual-carriageways, one being the busy Utrecht ring road. We realised this when we arrived, and asked for a quiet room. Despite checking in early at about 4 pm, such room was not given to us and we ended up very disappointed, though they did move us from a very noisy room to a merely noisy one. The receptionist even told to us that she wonders why so many of their guests tell them they expected a peaceful setting, and are surprised that the hotel is so noisy. Well, maybe it has to do something with their misleading website …

Otherwise this hotel has its pluses and minuses. On the other ‘minus’ side, the free wifi they promise (and was the second main reason why we booked it) is very sensitive to what security you have on your computer – it would not connect until we disabled some connection encryption software we have – specifically for keeping snoopers out on an open wifi connection!
If you have no car, the hotel is quite far from the Utrecht city - about a 30-minute walk. The nearest bus-stop is 10 minutes walk away (and it is €2.50 per journey), and the walk goes via an underpass – not brilliant at night. The nearest non-hotel café –something to bear in mind when breakfast in the hotel costs €15 per person, and a snack (two croquets with bread) costs €12! – is also 10 minutes away by the bus-stop. Budget to pay extra for everything at this hotel - parking, breakfast, even the lovely lakeside terrace they make big deal about on the website is only available for customers ordering food or drinks, otherwise it is not available for hotel guests.
Their swimming pool should rather be called a pool – it is very small, just 7 or 8 swim-strokes, and if there were more than 3 other people (which was most of the time), there isn’t really room to swim.
The last thing we didn’t like was they allow smoking on balconies, which meant that our room was way too often filled with smoke coming from other balconies or the carpark, which was just below our “quiet” window.
On the positive side, the room itself we liked - it was good size and nicely equipped, and everything was very clean. The bed was large and comfortable, and the bathroom had both a bath and a good shower. The air-conditioning was quiet, so it is possible to shut out the noise and smoke if you don’t mind using it.

Overall, it is difficult to see who this hotel is aimed at – it is too far out of the city centre and too far away from the university for anyone with business to stay there, and it is too noisy for holidays. The expense of the hotel (though Utrecht is a very expensive place in general) makes it unattractive for the sort of people that might accept the distance for a reduced price.

Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fidgetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My (142 euros a night) room stank of body odour. The carpet gave off a smell and so did the curtains. The carpeted staircase to the first floor of the hotel also smelled. Another person in our group complained too and a third thought she saw a flee junp up from the carpet. This hotel is not clean! It is also not recommended for light sleepers as there is a lot of noise from the corridors and adjacent rooms. The people at reception are sometimes pretty ignorant and tend to be a bit arrogant. This is not a four-star hotel!
However, the location is nice, the restaurant is fine and the pool is warm and seems clean enough (although there are never any towels). It is a 15-minute walk into town and there is easy access to the motorway. All in, I found the hotel far too pricy, lacking in cleanliness and the service was not brilliant. I hope I can stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cocobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Not a cheap hotel, beware of the costly extras!!! A bit of a Ryanair job!!!
My friend and I arrived to the hotel, he had booked two rooms for us, which had been pre-paid.
The receptionist was nice and check-in was very smooth. She asked if we would like breakfast @ €31 for the two of us, a bit pricy we thought, as it is an average hotel. What a disappointment to have one room with a view looking straight into two parked cars and another with a view of the road to the car park with a footpath right outside the window and being awakened by people passing by as they wheel their luggage. When checking out, we realised that breakfast would appear to actually be served in the long 'foyer' of the hotel. I had brought my own car for the trip by ferry from Harwich to Hoek van Holland and had parned in the hotel's car park. What a surprise to be charged €7.50 for parking at a hotel that is surrounded by parkland, not city centre! Given the fact the rooms cost well in excess of €100 each, breakfast extra, what a rip-off I thought. I did inform the receptionist I would be giving the hotel a 'bad' review on Trip Advisor. Would we stay there again? Never!

Room Tip: The best rooms are at other hotels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jobone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#5 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 21 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#7 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Eye Hotel
#10 of 21 in Utrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Park Plaza Utrecht
#11 of 21 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mitland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mitland

Property: Hotel Mitland
Address: Arienslaan 1, 3573 PT Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Green Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Business Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mitland 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of Utrecht near the city centre offers Hotel Mitland a wonderful view of the old De Bilt fortress. Enjoy our quiet location in a speldid park, our luxuriously furnished hotel rooms and our restaurant, swimming pool, sauna, fitness and bowlingcentre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mitland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitland Hotel Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing