We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
69
63
12
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
69
63
12
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice garden bed dorm bohemian atmosphere shared bathroom small kitchen sleep quality within walking distance central utrecht other guests lockers toilet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 159 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

We arrived in the late evening to Strowis and the gentleman behind the counter who greeted us was lovely, very helpful and very attentive even offering to help us with our bags. The lady at the counter the next day was equally as great and helped with a map and ideas of things to do. Had low expectations of sleep quality because it was a 16 bed dorm, but the other guests were very respectful to everyone. It’s a homey hostel, nice garden. Had a nice short stay. Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank trippinouthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Strowis has everything you could need from a hostel. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the lockers are located in a separate area downstairs so you don't get woken up by people rummaging through their stuff! There are plenty of toilets and showers, and towels/sheets etc. are provided.

I really liked the downstairs bar/chillout area and the garden. The free wifi worked well. And the hostel is really well located, within walking distance of everything in central Utrecht.

Probably the best thing about this hostel was the staff. They really cared about their guests and went out of their way to make sure you had an enjoyable stay.

Highly recommended!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Great atmosphere, and a nice little small kitchen, lovely garden, amenities are enough, conveniently in the center. I need to remember this for a small group trip! That's why I am reviewing this on TripAdvisor!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank CylerC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend recently stayed at this hostel during our trip to Utrecht. The hostel really is a lovely little place to stay if you’re looking for somewhere relaxed, to meet and chat to people. After we had a long delay with our flight, we didn’t arrive to the Hostel until 3am (was meant to be 8pm) we rang the hostel in advance (as reception closes at 1am) and they told us not to worry they would wait up for us, which was extremely kind and made us feel less stressed! We asked to book into our own room to avoid hassle disturbing other people in a shared dorm, which they told us was not a problem and offered us an ensuite double for the price of a none ensuite. This offer was carried on throughout our time which was a bonus and something we are extremely grateful for! The staff in general are really lovely and helpful, the people we met in the hostel were likewise and there is a kitchen where you can make your own meals. Everyone just wanted to have a beer and get to know each other. They also have a beautiful garden! We had a great time at Strowis and would recommend :)

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Shauna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

I was doing my internship and I was staying in a hostel as it is impossible to find a place in Amsterdam. The hotel was nice and they have a garden where you can talk to travellers and locals. The bathroom is huge and you can put all your things there (it is important for girls like me). The staff is nice and friendly.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews