We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hostel is good but it was the first time I had something stolen in a hostel in Europe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strowis Budget Hostel
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed over for two nights. The problem is that the locker is downstairs, and if you want to lock your stuff, you have to go two floors down. I left my stuff in a locker, and then I went out to some parties in the streets during the Queen's day. When I got back, I took my backpack to my room and left it there while I was downstairs drinking some coffee and talking to some people. In the following morning I noticed someone stole my toiletry bag from my backpack with a quite expensive shaver, perfume and somethings else in it. The problem is, I asked people at the reception to at least help me out, to check if I had dropped it downstairs in the locker hall or somewhere else, and they were just sitting there not doing anything, ignoring me and saying I should have kept my stuff in the locker.

The toilet was messy and definitely not clean. For all these reasons I'd recommend you to go to a decent hostel where people would care a bit more about their costumers!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cesar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 147 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

We only stayed for one night and we really liked it. Nice hostel, simple, but very well-located. The people were very friendly, and we could leave or backpack in the hostel even on the day of our departure (the whole day - which we´ve noticed is not that common, usually they told us to put it in the baggage locker or pay for another day, so we really appreaciated this offer).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veprovka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed for one night, single room (which turned out to be a double room just for me). The room was very clean, I actually expected less. Toilets and showers (two each) were both near the room, nice and clean. My room was on the top floor and there was one downside, the room was quite dark due to the lack of windows on the walls. Since I was only going to spend the night there before heading to Amsterdam, this was not a big issue.

What really sets this hostel apart from others was the servicemindedness from the staff. Very informative, always there to help out. The atmosphere felt very good and there seems to be a few individuals that really fought to get the hostel estsblished in the first place (information from one in the staff).

I would recommend this hostel if you're looking for a reasonably priced accomodation in Utrecht. I payed around 76 € with breakfast. They charge a credit card fee, 5 % on the amount, so bring cash if you don't want to spend 3 € extra on the bill (something I had to do).

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattias N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I only stayed here for a night. The hostel is quite okay, receptionist was fine...neither friendly nor unfriendly. I had a good sleep, it was summer and my first summer in Europe where the day is longer than usual. The nice thing, they sell, Indonesian noodle on their pantry... Internet connection was good.

If I'd go back to Utrecht, I'd considered to stay at this place again since the price is reasonable and not really disappointing. The most important thing, the location is close to Utrecht Dom Tower and city centrum.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rahma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I had to go to Utrecht for an academic conference and I was a bit short of money so I booked this hostel. The place is very nice, full of character and well located. Furthermore the guys are awesome and the bar and living room is certainly a plus. I had to work all night, and they had the most beautiful lamps and confortable seats where you can do it, and they will make you a double expresso if you need it. Btw they gave me a warm welcome with a free drink (a mint tea) as it was pouring outside and I was really wet.
I met some funny characters, but unfortunately I was on a business trip so I could not socialise much. I fully recommend the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WellingtonSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

i stayed one night location okee but the staff was unfriendly rude
breakfast simpel there wasn t enough bread
I couldn t take a showerthe showers were dirty
I paid for a big dorm 26;75 euro the cheapest
for hot water 50 cents to make a tea or hot chocolade
coffea and tea 1;50 euro
The location is perfect but it wasn t what I expected

Room Tip: go to another hostel in utrecht
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francoise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is the worst place to stay.. There is no proper internet connection and they charge extremely high rates for outsiders..Cheaters
they charge 7,50 for breakfast and it is poor
they charge 60 cet for a cup of hotwater to make your own tea

the next day we went to the city center and we spend the sameprice a perfect breakfast lesser money

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francois l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#7 of 23 in Utrecht
775 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
Court Hotel City Centre Utrecht
Hotel Oorsprongpark
#22 of 23 in Utrecht
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eye Hotel
#2 of 23 in Utrecht
288 reviews
Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Stayokay Utrecht - Centrum
Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Stone Hostel Utrecht
Stone Hostel Utrecht
#9 of 28 in Utrecht
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strowis Budget Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strowis Budget Hostel

Address: Boothstraat 8, 3512 BW Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht > Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Utrecht
Price Range: $48 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strowis Budget Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strowis Budget Hotel Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing