We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dom
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

After my recent stay and rereading the earlier reviews I understand them most accurately describe my own stay. Interesting rooms, there are several different types/styles - quiet, tasteful décor but maybe not always the most functional layout. Overall, pleasant and eye pleasing.
The staff is helpful, engaged in assuring the hotel guests good experience during the visit.
The location is very good with beautiful sites on all sides of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DASBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
35
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Hits all three of my requirements for work travel: excellent location, very stylish and ready for the business traveller. My room is beautiful with big windows and the most comfortable bed I can remember sleeping in at a hotel. The weird elevator is actually very modern and cool if slow... but there are only three stairs in the hotel. Once you get your luggage to your room just take the stairs. Utrecht is way cooler than I'd anticipated, and this hotel is in the middle of it all. Only downside is that the carillon of the Dom plays every 15 minutes all night so bring earplugs.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jfg2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

What a disappointment. We went with such excitement to this hotel and were expecting something different.
Instead, we found an abandoned what used to be intended as probably a hype hotel. At night, there was no one there, no reception, no security...we had to let ourselves in. Not to mention the lift which is a platform and is slow and terrifying.
You can tell someone tried to make something fancy here, but it failed miserably. :(
The bathtub was broke in the room, the whole place had a feel of grubby.
The breakfast was some croissants and jam, we had to ask for some eggs and butter extra...really poor.
At 200eur per night, this was quite a shock. Never again.

Only positive is location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

I spent a night here recently (not my first) but it definitely reminded me of the things that I do not like about it and I will stay at another hotel in the future.

It all looks great .... But, lift very very very slow (I'll leave this as quirky) restaurant/cafe with no menu, no options, even no wine list just suggestions from a waiter which, like the hotel, looked good but really did not deliver.

The rooms are interesting but fail with, a safe that doesn't work, no water, no plug for the sink ( this drives me nuts when I am trying to shave so you end up wasting litre upon litre of hot water - not very Eco )

Positives, good location, it all looks good and great fast free internet

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed there for one night in January 2014. Looking to relax and catching up on some sleep (we are new parents) we choose this hotel for the location, good beds (they mention on their website that they have Auping beds) and bubble bath. At first the room looked great. It was clean, large and the we really liked the open plan. The first disappointment was that the bubble bath was not working (we stayed in Suite #4). We called the reception several times but there was no answer. We went to bed and found that there was a gap in the middle (my husband kept rolling to the middle). We ended up not sleeping so well which was a big disappointment. We mentioned the above to the staff the next morning and would have appreciated some sort of compensation but there was nothing. The choice for the hotel was Dom or the Court Hotel, next time will we try the latter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I must say that this niche hotel was quaint but memorable. From the weird lift that reminded me of one from an indoor construction site, through the very Dutch breakfast (which is served an hour later on weekends but nobody tells you that) to the eclectic room layout it was all very European but strangely welcoming. This hotel is comfortable and well positioned.

Room Tip: Make sure you close the door after exiting the lift or the next person ail not be able to call it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardeecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant hotel in excellent location. The room very clean and tidy with a good selection of toiletries for free. Comfortable bed and huge TV. Breakfast was typically Dutch with cold meats, cheese, pastries & cereals on offer. I found the lift annoying since you have keep the floor button pressed throughout the assent / decent or the lift stops and it was very slow.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 19 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Eye Hotel
#9 of 19 in Utrecht
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Utrecht
#3 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
Court Hotel City Centre Utrecht
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 19 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dom

Property: Hotel Dom
Address: Domstraat 4, 3512 JB Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht > Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city centre of Utrecht, just several meters from the Dom church you could find our Boutique hotel “Hotel Dom”. In a historic monumental building from the 18th Century we found a way to combine the art and the elegance of an old building merged with modern design and interior. Hotel Dom is a four star Design hotel located in the shadow of the Dom tower.Our hotel counts eleven Suites which two of them are Executive Suites. These last two Suites include a private roof terrace. On our first floor we have four Private Lounges which are especially suited for meetings, drinks and Private Dining.On our Ground Floor we have a Restaurant and Cocktailbar named “Four”. In our Cocktailbar we welcome our guests and hotel guests. The Cocktailbar is a place to relax, meet each other and enjoy bites, great wines and good cocktails. Our restaurant counts 45 seats and views the beautiful and relaxing inside garden.Our name does not only come from the DOM tower but also stands for:Desire, of the beautiful things in life.Opportunities, seeing and creating chances in life.Modesty, the courage to try new things, always charmingly modest and without any pretention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing