We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

Such a great hotel! Terrific breakfast, numerous amenities and absolutely perfect service. All the staff were amazingly kind and friendly, and I felt like at home. They even put my wife's fax on my pillow, when the ordinary faxes were always on the table or under the door. That says a lot.
I would love to stay there again, if only I had to travel to Utrecht again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank todobrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    198
    53
    7
    7
See reviews for
58
232
39
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

My husband and I and our babies were back in Karel V this August and were again greeted nicely by the very professional and friendly staff of Karel V Utrecht. Our delux rooms in the new part of the Roman wing were really well appointed and I liked teh split level idea, so you have separate place for work. Breakfast was superb as always, and the ladies that worked there extremely kind and accomodating. We dined several tmes at the adjacent restaurant Good Louise, food was really good and prices adequate, although there are only a few things to chose from. The hotel location is unbeatable for Utrecht. It's very central, yet quiet and the restaurant garden is amazing with all the fruit trees and arches. I totall recommend the hotel to business travelers as well as families.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanNomad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

It truly is a great location in Utrecht. Its garden backs on to the old city and the rooms in the original old building have charm. (It was once a monastery). However becareful about the second floor. We checked in to a superior room at about three o'clock. As we came out of the elevator there were four laundry carts blocking our way. Unfortunately our room was only one door down and the laundry for the hotel was diagonally across from it. The door to the laundry was open and the smell of detergent and softener was overwhelming. An hour later the carts were fewer but the smell overwhelming. Evidently there is no ventilation in the laundry and leaving the door open to the hallway necessary for the poor people who must work in these conditions. The next morning the hallway and chairs between our room and the elevator was again stacked with laundry.
The view from room 208 is all roof. It was not pleasant. I think others on the same hall have the garden. . The decorative curtain behind the bed was unhooked at the top. The mattress seemed to be about four inches of foam. The shower leaked all over the floor. The design of the room and furnishings were very nice, but someone needs to do some quality control. At 265E per night ($350) in Utrecht, it should be better!
The porter was very friendly and accomodating and upon checking out the receptionist responsive to my concerns and offered a discount.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celebrationtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

A city centre five star, a spacious and luxurious room, a lovely, interesting garden to sit in or explore, plus fascinating little streets and bars and antique shops just outside the garden walls - all this should have been enough to wow me anyway, but we had dinner there too. The restaurant proper was closed for refurb and they were only offering the Brasserie. We had drinks in the pretty courtyard and went in for what was one of the very best meals of my life. I was ecstatic. Cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

The room in the modern block was comfortable though lacking in character and the inefficient aircon had to be left on all day to maintain a reasonable temperature. The bar and restaurant were closed for the six nights I stayed and even though the brasserie food was excellent, they only changed the 'daily menu' (one choice per course) weekly and the al a carte had only 4 / 5 choices per course, so it was impossible to eat there nightly even though I would have liked to. They made an error in my final bill and made a second charge to my creidt card after I'd left without notification or authorisation, which I found very discourteous in the least. This really is a conference hotel rather than a liesure hotel and I think it's over-rated here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gar1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

The Karel V Utrecht is an opulent hotel and you are very well catered for. My executive/queen room had in particular a lovely marble table to work at, internet connection (free), trouser press and leading off a bathroom with a huge bath, a separate shower, toilet and hand basins and was well lit. (I always rue hotels with dingy bathrooms since I imagine there is something to hide!). There were other touches too that made one feel that the room was more a home than an impersonal anonymous hotel room. If one is to mildly criticise anything then I was surprised a little that the bed was not quite as comfortable as others I have slept in lower star rated hotels. However there is no doubt that the Karel V provides top notch accommodation and I felt comfortable being a guest there. I dined in the restaurant which in my book was very expensive (but these things are relative and I wouldn’t have expected anything other than this in a hotel of this stature). The approach was that food was more of an ‘art form’ than simply wholesome fare and this being the case it would be unfair of me to criticise or say anymore about what I really felt. The porter who was on duty when I arrived was more than helpful, showing me to my room which lay in one of the adjoining buildings. His manner and attitude clearly were a credit to the establishment. In summary, a sumptuous place to stay if you want to splash out a bit. You will be well cared for and will come away feeling good about yourself and perhaps a little spoilt.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ooDormouseoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

Perfectly located within very easy walking distance of the train/bus station and the town center. Trust me you do not want to drive in this bike-mad, and canal criss-crossed city! A very nice room, including tea/coffee maker, bathroom had space and all amenities. Lovely buildings sympathetically restored wihout losing style. Nice outdoor space will be lovely in warmer weather. Handy to have a pleasant bar, brasserie and dining room on the premises. We were able to get drinks or coffee in the lobby area as well. Food was OK, but they do serve wonderful almond cookies with coffee.
Popular with business travellers: the only noise was one night of very loud English and American voices returning to their rooms at silly o'clock. Luck of the draw as it was peaceful otherwise.
We had a private reception there and it was very successfully organized.
Plenty of eateries within very easy walking distance. Utrecht has lots of charm.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chwarae422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 21 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
NH Utrecht
#5 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#7 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Eye Hotel
#9 of 21 in Utrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Park Plaza Utrecht
#11 of 21 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht

Property: Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
Address: Geertebolwerk 1, 3511 XA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Karel V is a unique 5-star hotel in the historic centre of Utrecht. This is where medieval charm and modern luxury come together. The splendid complex of buildings and magnificent courtyard gardens dates from the 14th century and was reopened in 1999 after an impressive renovation. Where the knights of the Teutonic Order once resided, with Charles V and his sister Maria of Hungary among their prominent guests, these very walls now house: •121 exceptional rooms and suites, •Restaurant Karel 5 - Elegant Dining •Bistro Karel 5 - Casual Classic •Events Karel 5 - Inspired Solutions: 12 magnificent stylish function rooms where your meeting, congress, conference, product presentation, dinner, wedding or family party is guaranteed to be an outstanding, prestigious experience •a wellness centre with indoor swimming pool •10,000 m2 courtyard garden with a delightful terrace - the best kept secret in Utrecht Our enthusiastic staff will do everything to provide all you need for an unforgettable stay in a relaxed atmosphere. Central location Grand Hotel and Karel 5 is located in the heart of the historic centre of Utrecht, at walking distance from all the major sights and entertainment venues, with a view of the Dom, close to the Central Station and arterial roads. The hotel has its own car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing