We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Al Hofuf, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The hotel is very nice and with a unique design and located in a quiet area very close to the beautiful Utrecht city center and many restaurants and shopping. Hotel is very old with simple over utilized furniture. The bed’s matrices are completely uncomfortable and annoying during sleep. Hotel’s staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The bed’s matrices are completely uncomfortable and annoying during sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adnan-Almuslem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    205
    57
    8
    8
See reviews for
62
246
43
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here a few times over the years. The hotel has a special character and style. I found the reception staff very informative, friendly and helpful. The morning shift concierge is a superb representation of the charm and individual character of the hotel.
The hotel's interior and the gardens are historically interesting and memorable, breaking the modern tradition of bland top class chain hotels.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ZZHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

A couple of years a go I had a nice stay in one of the 'historical' rooms of the Karel V hotel. Some months ago, I enjoyed a most wonderful light lunch in their brasserie (though I was in a hurry (no problem to their staff), their food and service deserve to take time to be fully enjoyed). This past week, I organized a half day conference in this hotel; and this is the reason for taking some time for this review...
I have seldom met staff that was as helpful and thoughtful in addressing the needs of their guests. While setting up a beamer and other conference paraphernalia, staff gave proof of empathy with the speakers convincing them that nothing could go wrong here. The same attitude was felt in attending the needs of our guests. This must be the fruit of training and efforts to create a typical hospitality atmosphere. No doubt they are taking customers seriously.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buntinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The location of the Karel V is wonderful and it has a beautiful courtyard. The main building is also very impressive. The staff are excellent. I have stayed here repeatedly over the past few years, both in the main building and in the so-called Roman building. The rooms are a nice size and should be comfortable, but I have the impression that the hotel is getting a bit complacent. Even in the more luxurious rooms the beds are not great and when I stayed in a standard room, the bed was a disgrace. One mattress was getting lumpy and the other one sagged. This was solved by putting a plank under the mattress (euphemistically called a "soft" bed by the reception ladies) and a spare duvet between mattress and under sheet. I have also twice had a problem with the heating in the bathroom. I notified reception and nothing happened. When I left after several nights, the heating still was not working. Then they have also apparently installed water-saving shower heads. Basically a good idea, but in some rooms these work so well that you wonder whether you can rinse off the shampoo.
All this is really a shame as it is a lovely hotel, which should be wonderful, but the infrastructure needs some attention. They should replace worn-out mattresses (and maybe some of the slightly smelly pillows at the same time), repair faulty heating and have a look at their shower heads.
As I am sometimes in Utrecht for work, I shall probably stay here again and I sincerely hope to see some improvements next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

As I read the other reviews, I can't help but wonder if they are referring to the same place. I stayed in the Roman Wing - it was terrible! It's a run down 1960's style building that reminded me of my college dorm, and not in a good way.

The room was tiny and run down The bed was tiny and basically just a foam sponge which left my back killing me. I ended up giving up on the bed 1/2 way through the first night and sleeping on the floor. The bathroom looks nice, but smells like a locker room. The furniture in the room is old and nasty. And the entire room has a "loamy" smell to it.

And don't even ask me about the fitness center. It's about as big as a one-car garage with ~5 or 6 machines in it. Certainly no more than 2-3 people in there at a time please.

I'm completely mystified how this could be considered a "five star" hotel as they claim in their brochure. It's 2 stars at best. - I've stayed in Holiday Inn's in the US that were WAY nicer.

Be warned! Stay away. This place is a trap.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A1041TKAlexS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Good location, spacious room, professional staff, quite good food in restaurant. I’m visiting Utrecht quite often and usually prefer to stay in Amsterdam, as it is much more live place and connection to Utrecht is good. Nevertheless when staying in Utrecht I rate Karel V as the best hotel in town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank __Monsz_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here a lot of times for work. Simply an excellent hotel, set in an impressive building. The staff are great, as is the atmosphere of the hotel. Very nice rooms, easy parking, and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludovic0_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 22 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
NH Utrecht
#4 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Eye Hotel
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Park Plaza Utrecht
#11 of 22 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht

Property: Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
Address: Geertebolwerk 1, 3511 XA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Karel V – Historical Hospitality From former monastery to a military hospital to a 5* hotel that tells its guests the story of the building’s extensive history. The monumental Napoleontic wing and modern Roman wing together boost 121 exclusive rooms and suits and offers modern facilities, such as Nespresso coffee, digital television and wellness facilities. “Taking care of you, inspired by our historical DNA” Karel 5 GASTRO · BISTRO · EVENTS – Culinary experience & Memorable events Restaurant Karel 5 represents ‘Elegant Dining’ is guided by Chef de Cuisine Vito Reekers and Maitre-Sommelier Johan Kragtwijk. Bistro Karel 5 – one of the oldest monastery kitchens in The Netherlands – is defined as ‘Casual Classic’ and offers lunch, diner and bits. The Bar & Lounge, which is a part of Bistro Karel 5, is a hot spot for a one-on-one business meeting, a cup of coffee and drinks with bites. Every day vibrant events take place at Karel 5; from intimate business socials and international congresses to weddings and family dinners. Inspiring solutions for every event at a special historical location. Situated in Utrecht city centre With a view on the Dom tower and the hotel’s 10.000 m2 of city gardens, the hotel is a green oasis in the midst of the roaring city center of Utrecht. Together with ample parking facilities and in just several minutes walking distance from Utrecht Central Station, Grand Hotel Karel V is the perfect venue to explore the city’s museums, shops and canals. The highlights of the city are, amongst others, the Dom tower, DOMunder and the Central Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing