We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Hotel but very pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing Hotel but very pleasant staff”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Having seen that this hotel was voted 12th most luxurious hotel in The Netherlands on Tripadvisor and having stayed at the Hilton (voted 2nd) and Des Indes (voted 6th), we were keen to visit and see how it compared.
Sadly, we were disappointed in the hotel. As an old hospital, it still felt like a hospital or a museum - cold and impersonal with high white walls and no character. There was no central lounge area to relax and only a tiny bar in the cellar which took some finding.
The bedroom was large but certainly not luxurious. I fed comments back after the first night but no response from the hotel at all. The bathroom has a separate toilet but the shower was not well maintained and the door was cracked at the top. The bed had 2 single duvets and we had booked a double.
The pool was very small and not big enough to swim as I had hoped. On the plus side, the staff were welcoming and helpful and the hotel is well located for Utrecht centre and train station.The breakfast was very good as well.
So, overall, disappointed considering the cost and our expectations not being met re Luxury standard awarded to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacobs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    199
    56
    7
    8
See reviews for
59
238
41
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Excellent hotel, very kind staff, always a plessure to stay here! Perfect location,
Right in the middle of the city, good wellnes, kindly awoken by the bells of the dom.
Nice food, good restaurants in the hotel, and also nearby!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Having lived in Utrecht for 6 years I've always been aware of the prestige reputation of this establishment. I'm currently traveling full time, so when I came back to my home town to see friends and family I knew I wanted to stay here. I stayed in one of the Deluxe Double rooms which was very spacious and is laid out over two floors. The room is beautifully decorated and the king size bed was huge. The bathroom was huge too and the toilet was separate from the bathroom. The room had a water cooker with tea sachets and instant coffee mix. The room also had free wifi which I think is an absolute win. What I didn't like about the room is the fact that I wasn't able to get it completely dark when going to bed. If they would fix this issue (get fully blinding curtains) the room would be perfect.
I did encounter some black hairs on the bed spread and toilet when I arrived. Maybe from house keeping? it didn't really bother me too much but was worth mentioning.

I used their fitness room the next day which was small but contained all the necessary items and on top of that offered free vitamin water.

Room service was quick and top quality.

So to sum it all up..

What I liked:
- Huge Room
- Free Wifi
- No Fee for Fitness Room + Free Drinks
- Only 25 EUR for late check out

What I didn't like:
- Black hairs on bed spread
- I had some problems with the Wifi on my iPhone (it was very slow - laptop was fine)
- Room couldn't be darkened completely

I had a great stay at this hotel and will definitely book here again when I'm in town. They deserved all of their 5 stars in my book.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to one of their deluxe double rooms with duplex floor layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WytzeNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was vistiing a friend in the beautiful dutch city Utrecht. This hotel Grand Karel V was in the corner from his flat. We went to eat one day, the attention was good but the food very expensive and with made with no love, dedication and attention, it seems the cook was or angry or bad paid !!!
It is better to walk thought the city and have a falafel for 5 euro than an slice of white bread with a almost dead lettuce and bad cut tomatoes and a piece of salami for 15 euro. Perhaps this hotel to sleep is very good but the food .no comments !!!! very bad and expensive !!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank divinegourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I like this hotel, you can walk across the road from the station, and walk out the back door and you are in central Utrecht, without any of the noise
Not cheap unfortunately, but good service and good food

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkholidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Every year my friend and I meet up somewhere in the Netherlands for a girls weekend out: We need to be in walking distance of the shopping streets, the restaurants, bars, we then sleep in and close our trip with a nice breakfast. The hotel proves to be historical, beautiful location, nice reception and only a minute walk to the shops. We spent the night in room 130 which was good in size and we liked it. We came back late at night to our room and then a type of generator or so kept us awake half the night, it was so loud we regularly woke up. Anyways the next morning we complained about it and the receptionist was immediately very helpful and found a suitable solution for us in terms of compensation. So all in all, it was a pleasant stay in a top A location.

Room Tip: Please avoid room 130
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liesbeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Very atmospheric historic hotel, converted from a former officers' barracks with different wings or blocks around a very large central courtyard. Top notch facilities, our room had a mezzanine level with an additional desk and other furniture upstairs. Huge bathroom with separate large bath. Canopy bed. Courtyard view, very quiet, yet a short walk out the back gate to the heart of the old city while out the front entrance an equally short walk to the train station. Great breakfast buffet.

The only thing to complain about was the spa water in the health club could have been hotter. That probably says it all when the only complaint is so trivial. Really this is a wonderful hotel, one of those where you regret checking out.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Swagfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 22 in Utrecht
222 reviews
NH Utrecht
#4 of 22 in Utrecht
516 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 22 in Utrecht
475 reviews
Eye Hotel
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
129 reviews
Park Plaza Utrecht
#11 of 22 in Utrecht
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht

Property: Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
Address: Geertebolwerk 1, 3511 XA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Karel V – Historical Hospitality From former monastery to a military hospital to a 5* hotel that tells its guests the story of the building’s extensive history. The monumental Napoleontic wing and modern Roman wing together boost 121 exclusive rooms and suits and offers modern facilities, such as Nespresso coffee, digital television and wellness facilities. “Taking care of you, inspired by our historical DNA” Karel 5 GASTRO · BISTRO · EVENTS – Culinary experience & Memorable events Restaurant Karel 5 represents ‘Elegant Dining’ is guided by Chef de Cuisine Vito Reekers and Maitre-Sommelier Johan Kragtwijk. Bistro Karel 5 – one of the oldest monastery kitchens in The Netherlands – is defined as ‘Casual Classic’ and offers lunch, diner and bits. The Bar & Lounge, which is a part of Bistro Karel 5, is a hot spot for a one-on-one business meeting, a cup of coffee and drinks with bites. Every day vibrant events take place at Karel 5; from intimate business socials and international congresses to weddings and family dinners. Inspiring solutions for every event at a special historical location. Situated in Utrecht city centre With a view on the Dom tower and the hotel’s 10.000 m2 of city gardens, the hotel is a green oasis in the midst of the roaring city center of Utrecht. Together with ample parking facilities and in just several minutes walking distance from Utrecht Central Station, Grand Hotel Karel V is the perfect venue to explore the city’s museums, shops and canals. The highlights of the city are, amongst others, the Dom tower, DOMunder and the Central Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing