We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This would have been rated good had we had the bedroom we were given on the second night. This was advertised as a 4star superior room. Oh no it was not. I could just get through the gap between the end of the bed and the desk and chair but had to sidle pass the bed and the wall to get into bed. The room was very hot, no air con, but a fan was provided. On querying our room I was told that there were only two standards of room, superior and executive. Well there should be three. Standard at least. We stay in many hotels and I know what we expect from a so called superior room. We later stayed in a 3 star hotel in Ostend which was far better. The receptionist told me that there were no other rooms available for that night but would move us the following day. Bit of a pain packing again but it was worth it Good sized room again no air con but again fan provided. The breakfast room is spacious and has air con. Good selection of food and really good cakes. If travelling by car it is a fair distance through the town to the car park. If you pay at the hotel the price is reduced from 36 euros per night to 27.50 euros. Still expensive but worth it for the city centre location of hotel.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the rooms beginning with 9
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patmar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
There are newer reviews for Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 830 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

NOISY

I asked for a quiet room because I needed a good night's sleep ahead of a busy business day. The first room they gave me was right over the busy main street intersection - motorbikes, buses, car horns etc. I asked for a different room. In this second room, I could hear the clanging of church bells every half hour or so, but I guessed these would stop at 11pm or midnight or some reasonable hour. I was wrong. Every half hour, all through the night, this church or belltower or whatever it was marked the occasion with a 40 second peal of bells, followed by the actual striking of the hour. Sounds unbelievable, but it's true. Of course, by the time I realised this nightmare reality, it was too late to do anything about it. So, thanks to the Apollo Hotel brilliantly placing me in this room, I got virtually no sleep at all

WIFI
They charge you for Wifi in your room. They say that there is free wifi in the communal coffee area on the 2nd floor, and maybe this works for some people but it didn't work for me at all. So no wifi.

BREAKFAST
It's a typical European breakfast buffet, but with less variety and selection than you're probably used to, and virtually no staff on hand so you're pretty much just left to your own devices. If anything runs out or you need assistance... tough.

There are lots of nice hotels in Utrecht, and many provide good service and good value. Choose any one other than the Apollo and you'll probably be okay.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel if you want to get any sleep. Almost any other hotel you choose, even a...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Apollo. Our room was clean and of a good size, nicely decorated with a lovely large comfortable bed. Spotlessly clean en suite with a good shower.The staff were helpful and friendly. We especially liked the fact that there was free tea and coffee in the lounge and also free wi-fi access. (In the lounge). Breakfast was exceptionally good, a really good choice and plenty of it. The only drawback was the lift was quite small which made it difficult on arrival and departure, with everyone needing to use it to get their luggage to their rooms.

Room Tip: We had room 415 which was a corner room so it was a good size and quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southernbelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A shameful headline for a reluctant review of a wonderful place with an embarrassing flaw: 9 euro for wi-fi for one device, 4.50 for another, chunked into 12-hour slices. I logged on at one thirty in the morning, was told my clock had 10 1/2 hours to go. Such a shame that the email confirmation hid this so sneakily "Free coffee & tea, WIFI, safe". This may come from their partnership with Phi-Hospitality.net, the provider whose "concept" ... "offers your guesty a variety of content and packages, creating a higher revenue..."

I understand that businesses have to make money. The Apollo can't put up its bar prices because it has no alcohol license, which is okay, it could make great money in a market that doesn't drink.

I understant that hotels need to keep out random people from walking in at all hours. That's why hotels like the Apollo use anonymised cards that have neither hotel name, address nor room number anywhere on them. BUT STILL you have to wait to be buzzed in like a child after curfew. To your room which is beautiful with a view over the city, IN THE CITY CENTRE.

This is a great hotel, a top location, with staff that are entirely smiles and helpful, honestly doing their best in this clean, sharp and modern hotel right inside the Matrix, haunted by some stupid cats that insist on staying in the past.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great central location. But no place to meet anyone or wait for them unless on the 9th floor lounge! No bar. But with the night life of Utrecht you don't need a great hotels.
Rooms are clean and comfy. But try and get rooms on floors 7,8 away from the traffic.
No air con can compromise things.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Super centric hotel, we got a great room, prixe was fair, I really recomend this place, is like 3 minutes walk to the central station, and also near the main center. Everything was new in the room, it was quite warm when we got in the afternoon and they didnt had air conditioner but it was ok, in the night it was comfortable

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Andres Mauricio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Welcome on arrival was good. small lobby area with no facilities. Room is a single, but comfortable. I forgot they existed! Tea making facilities, but no real tea...all fruit nonsense. but noisy, single glazed, ill fitting window and paper thin walls. Bathroom clean but small and poorly laid out. Breakfast excellent, lots of fresh fruit and veg! Including orange juicer. Overall, ok but pricey won't be rushing back

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llamaman888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#4 of 22 in Utrecht
651 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Utrecht
#13 of 22 in Utrecht
1,342 reviews
Eye Hotel
#7 of 22 in Utrecht
166 reviews
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 22 in Utrecht
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre

Address: Vredenburg 14, 3511 BA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range: $107 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre offers modern accommodation right in the heart of Utrecht, only 300 metres from both Central Station and the historic Oudegracht canal. It features an internet lounge and 24-hour reception.All hotel rooms are equipped with a spacious bathroom, a comfortable seating area and tea facilities. They are decorated with bright colours and modern lighting. Some rooms have a panoramic view on the surrounding city scenery.Every morning, Apollo Hotel City Centre offers an extensive breakfast buffet. In-room breakfast is available as well. Guests can catch up on e-mails at the Internet & Coffee Lounge with a free cup of coffee or tea.The city of Utrecht offers characteristic canals, lovely shopping streets, a wide range of museums and the famous Dom Tower. In the surrounding area of Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre, there are many cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utrecht Apollo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing