We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary K Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mary K Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely hotel, great location, warm welcome, would thoroughly recommend it, close to all attractions, restaurants, shopping and train station. Looks on to the canal, great reception and warm welcome. Ideal hotel.

Room Tip: Quiet room with balcony is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
88
12
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,053 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We booked this based on Trip Advisor recommendations, and except for one thing, mentioned below, the Mary K lived up to our high expectations. The staff is superb, our room was clean and well appointed, the mattress was excellent. So was the breakfast. Both mornings we had the very ample "Mary K" breakfast and did not need to eat lunch!

One point: we had a room, the Bedstead, which is more suitable for younger people than us, since one cannot walk around the bed. Having to crawl over one's partner to get to one's side of the bed is not my idea of convenience. A second chair would also be welcome. I gather other rooms are larger than ours.

We'll happily use this hotel again, but next time with a larger room.

Room Tip: Unless you are young, avoid Room 3, The Bedstead, which does not permit you to walk around the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank operalover939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I second the other reviewers. The rooms are modern, clean and the bed is fantastic. The owners and staff are very helpful and gracious. We didn't have the breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment this aspect. Just some "warnings": the stairs that need to be climbed in order to reach the rooms is very steep, so if you have some limitations be aware; the others are really minor- there's almost no wardrobe space but since most of the people don't stay in Utrecht for long periods I think it is ok. The last one: the bathroom door is a sliding door so it doesn't completely seals you inside the bathroom (sounds and other air carried phenomena). If you are not completely comfortable with your room mate you might have some issues. I would go back to the Mary K and recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had never been to the city before and chose the hotel based on the reviews of other guests. We were not disappointed. Having checked out the rooms on their website we booked and requested the Master Bedroom, which was what we got! Fantastic room with a view of the canals, large wet room bathroom and a very comfortable bed.

Hotel is a bit hidden on the banks of the canal, no sign out onto the street, but it really feels like you're in someone's home. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Ordering breakfast the night before feels a bit weird the first time, but it certainly saves on waste, and means breakfast is freshly prepared for you. Wifi was stable and fast.

It was 5 minutes to the shopping streets and 15 minutes maximum on foot to Utrecht Central Station. Certainly would stay again!

If you're a bit unsteady on your feet though I would be careful of the stairs up to the first floor, they are very, very steep!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belgian_EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time at this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The room was quiet, clean, and very comfortable! The hotel is in a quiet area on the main canal but just down the street from the hustle and bustle of town. We walked from the station and had no problem. We would recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SandEseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Was very pleased with my stay at the Mary K Hotel in Utrecht. The room was large, clean and bright. Friendly staff. Bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in for some time; warm soft mattress and pillows. Fun décor. Great showers. Easy, fast internet. Breakfast was delicious, if not a bit on the expensive side. Great location close to the train station and in the center of town. Many excellent restaurants and shopping nearby. Would stay again and recommend to any other visitors to Utrecht.

Room Tip: Stayed in 'Lofty B', which was great. Large and Modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Once a year I have a weekend with my best girl friend and we go shopping, have dinner and sleep in a hotel, so we can chat all night. When we arrived (its really so central) we stood in front of a normal town house and when the door opened, the cutest hotel opened to us. The receptionist (only available till 8 pm) was very cute and friendly and helpful. we could not check in yet as we were early and went power shopping first. The shopping streets are only a few minutes away and you could drop off bags every hour if needed :-) so we came back to the hotel around 7 and again had the most friendly person at the reception who showed us our room and said we could call all night if we needed anything. The room was spacious, we did only have one bed, but as we have been friends for 25 years, we did not mind sharing. It was all in white and we had a large terras, which we did not use to to the rain, but in Summer, it must be lovely.
We had a good sleep and then had a lovely breakfast. they do ask you friendly whether you are able to make a choice of breakfast the evening before, but again the whole place is so relaxed, that its really not worth fussing about it. I would for sure have breakfast there. Its not expensive and of excellent quality. They are green, so it tastes healthy and good. The breakfast is lovely. We also saw just married couples who apparently booked the special arrangement and they all looked delighted. So yes we can recommend the hotel if you are looking for something individual, are not in need of a large reception, hotel bar and pool. I would not stay there with kids, just because of the really steep stairs.

Room Tip: we slept in room 6, its overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liesbeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#3 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Eye Hotel
#9 of 19 in Utrecht
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 19 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Park Plaza Utrecht
#11 of 19 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
Carlton President
#4 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary K Hotel

Property: Mary K Hotel
Address: Oudegracht 25 | 3511 AB, 3511 AB Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary K Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mary K Hotel is a green deluxe art-hotel situated in a 18th century canal house on the well known 'Oudegracht' in downtown Utrecht. She accommodates nine rooms of various sizes and themes. We divided them in Cosy Small, Comfortable Medium and Large Deluxe. But every single one of them is totally different. For example "the Bedstead", where you can eat, sleep, read or watch television while watching the boats pass by. 'The Greenhouse", where you can rest yourself in a retro relaxed atmosphere with a sliding door towards the garden. And 'the Royal Rooftop" a suite with a beautiful canal view. Especially at night when the light come out. The whole interior of the Mary K Hotel was designed together with Utrecht based artists. Although Mary K offers you the comforts of a luxury hotel, we aim for the atmosphere to be laid-back, friendly and personal. We can safely say that we are one of the greenest hotels in Utrecht. During the development and renovation process, we have sourced our materials carefully. And now that we are up and running we do everything we can to work as environmentally friendly as possible. Just because we think that this is the only right way to run our business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mary K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing