We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton President

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carlton President
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp
Level Contributor
292 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed 1 night in this hotel with a special discount rate issued by a magazine. The hotel is located in a green area on the outskirts of Utrecht, on the way to Amsterdam.

The staff at the reception and breakfast area are extremely friendly and helpfull.
The room was quiet , the bed is nice and you can order pillows according to your taste (firm, soft, anti-snoring...). The breakfast buffet is ample and varied. (cereals, yoghurt, eggs, all sorts of sandwiches and breadrolls,a variety of bread-spreads, cheeses etc., fresh fruit, juices, coffee, differents sorts of tea).
There is also a leisure centre with sauna and fitness on the premises, the use of which is free for the hotelguests, but unfortunatly we didn't have the time to use it.

It is true that the location is better for business than for leisure, but there is a busstop (Zonnebaan) some 300 m behind the hotel. You can buy a buscard with 15 strips for 7, 60 euro in a supermarket (Hoogvliet) in the nearby suburb (10 to 15 minutes walk). You need 4 strips per person per ride into town or back to the hotel (duration aproximatly 20 minutes to Utrecht Central Station) Information in Dutch about prices and schedules on www.gvu.nl. or at the reception of the hotel. Parking in downtown Utrecht is very expensive, so you better take public transport.

The centre of Utrecht is lovely and lively with many interesting museums, old houses, lots of small canals and charming restaurants on the waterfront (former warehouses at waterlevel of the canals). We've enjoyed our stay and will be back again !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelcrazyAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    249
    90
    24
    3
See reviews for
49
222
25
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

We had a great time. Didn't do out of the hotel, stayed whole weekend. Restaurant is amazing, facilities good. personnel very friendly.
we'll definitely come back

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kukusabina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

This Hotel is about half hour away from Amsterdam, it's in a very quiet position. The hotel itself is very clean and tidy. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. Reception staff were really helpful.
We stopped for only two nights and wish we could have stopped for more.
The bedrooms were very spaciuos and very comfortable with all the extra's you need, iron ironing board, large screen Tv with loads of chanels. Tea and coffee tray, Mini Bar(Expensive, but arn't they all).
The Bathroom was very spacious with bath and seperate shower.
This is a 4 star hotel and it lives up to it's name as a 4 star.
Class Hotel, would defintely go again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanFagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

As a frequent traveler on business, i noticed many things that were missing:
1. Location was horrible, cant do anything without a taxi.
2. Rooms are quite small
3. Price is very high

Despite that, the hotel is very nice looking, it has a nice breakfast and the staff was very helpful!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbenjamin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stay 6 nights in last January, for a business meeting. The hotel service was good, the leisure center fantastic. The restaurant a little expensive, and no other options on the area. It was located close (by bus) from downtownThe staff was friendly, and always able to help. Internet wasn't free, but the weekly fee was reasonable.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank carcalumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

I'm really thankful that they allow us to check in early in the morning at around 7:00am. Our flight arrived at Amsterdam at around 5:30 am. Our first stop was Utrecht. We had nowhere else to go in the early morning and I was feeling unwell on that morning. Fortunately, after taking a rest in the hotel room, I felt a lot better. So that was really important for me. I was very happy about the room and the service. It'w worthy of the money I paid. But I think it's more suitable for travellers that have cars to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breeze1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

Stayed with my teenage son while attending an athletics event. We found the hotel to be clean, tidy and the staff very friendly. Enjoyed an excellent breakfast, spaceous room and while not ultra modern the decor and room were very comfortable and of a very reasonable standard given the room rate. extra pillows and towels were left in the room though one may need to request a daily replacement for shampoo/shower gel.
we would be very happy to stay here again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWalshIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
3.6 mi away
NH Utrecht
NH Utrecht
#4 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ibis Utrecht
Ibis Utrecht
#10 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Mitland
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
3.7 mi away
Mary K Hotel
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 19 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton President

Property: Carlton President
Address: Floraweg 25, 3542 DX Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Business Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#4 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton President 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton President, on the edge of Utrecht, offers a free shuttle service to De Wetering, Papendorp, Oudenrijn and Maarssen Railway Station. This 4-star hotel also offers free use of both its business centre and leisure centre which includes a sauna, spa bath and steam bath.The Carlton President provides tastefully decorated rooms equipped with modern and luxurious facilities.The Garden Brasserie serves seasonal dishes and the Exchange Lounge is a comfortable place to relax.The A2 offers easy access to the Jaarbeurs Convention Centre and Schiphol Airport. There is a bus stop 200 metres away which offers access to the centre in 15 to 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Carlton President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton President Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing