We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel a bit over priced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton President

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton President
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel a bit over priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Have stayed there for four weeks so it cant be that bad.
The menu is limited but reasonably priced, the drinks are expensive (hotel prices), the bar man has an excellent memory and is very friendly.
The rooms are comfortable, the beds may be a bit old but are ok. The bathrooms are ok but the shower cubicles are small.
There is a small gym room, a sauna, steam room & Jacuzzi. Beware of naked men and women strolling about.
Overall I quite like this place and have booked another couple of weeks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it very much.
We understand that a variety of the menu is appreciated when staying longer in our hotel.
Should you visit us again, please allow us to help you with an alternative menu.

In regards of the bed; we’ve just recently provided all rooms with new topperbox-beds to increase the quality of the rooms.

We are very pleased that your long stay was a pleasant experience and we are looking
forward to welcome you again later this month!

Kind regards,
Bart Blikman General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    212
    75
    23
    2
See reviews for
42
184
25
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

What a wonderful Hotel!!! We were traveling on vacation and found this hotel to be exceptional. From the immaculate rooms and grounds, to the amazing staff (especially bartender Frank Snijders) to the quick and easy access to busy Utrecht's City Center to the quite town of Maarssen. I found the staff to be very pleasant as they have gone out of their way to make our experience an amazing one! I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peanie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Peanie6,

Thank you very much for this great review. So nice to see that we exceeded your expectations.

Your positive words have been shared within the team and sure work as a motivation for all of us!

I just spoke to my bartender Frank and complimented him with is great work.

Maybe we can meet in person during your next holiday?

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is located in Maarsen. If you have a car is an excellent location. Is very quiet, a lot of green around, a small forest on the back. The hotel has a nice restaurant with a patio (terrace), good for breakfast or dinner. Also a bar inside the hotel, with good beer. The parking is free and is on the hotel courtyard, well protected.A bar code ticket is used to get out of the parking. This bar code ticket is available at reception desk.
What we liked most: is a quiet area after a day spent on a crowded place. The orange juice machine available for breakfast. Free Wi-Fi. Private bar on the room.
We will be back at same hotel, when in Utrecht area.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms opposed to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DecQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear DecQ,

Thank you so much for these kind words. It is a pleasure to read these positive reviews.

Hope to see you soon back at your Carlton President.

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
164 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We've had the pleasure to stay at this hotel for 3 times now and it's been superb all the way.
Beautiful rooms, great service, AWESOME breakfast, great connection to Utrecht ...
Clean, friendly ... beautiful spa with sauna, Turkish bath, whirlpool, fitness ...
Once we didn't like a room on the ground floor and we immediately got transferred to another ... wonderful service!
5 star all the way!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Food L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Food L,

What a pleasure to read your comment with regards to your stay at Carlton President.

Thank you very much for sharing them online.

I hope to meet you soon in person when you are travelling back to Utrecht.

Best regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is pretty good, I liked the room. The spa was OK, small but functional. Good breakfast and service. The drawback is that the hotel is in the outskirts of Utrecht, about 15 minutes by bus. Luckily, there is a bus going to the city. The bus stop is 5 min walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Traveller_HT,

Thank you very much for your very kind review. It’s really appreciated!

Hope to see you soon back at Carlton President.

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Carlton President for four weeks while I found an apartment in Utrecht. I found the room to have everything I wanted. It was comfortable and well laid out clean and the bed with its selection of pillows very comfortable. The free WiFi was a very welcome surprise. Housekeeping were thorough and friendly as were all of the front and back office. Although located in a business area with few outside attractions travel to Utrecht by public transport was low cost and buses were frequent.
All in all I would highly recommend a stay, short or long, at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Japhro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Traveller_HT,

Dear Japhro,

How great it is to read your review on Tripadvisor.

I will compliment the Housekeeping staff on your behalf.

Maybe when you want to enjoy again our hospitality in stead of staying at your apartment, you are always very welcome ;-)

Thanks again for the review.

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel in itself was okay, comfortable rooms, clean bathroom and an okay wellness centre with sauna. However our relaxing weekend was greatly disturbed by a fire alarm at 4 am in the morning, which went off for 5 min, and then suddenly stopped. Thereafter there was no communication, and nobody we could reach who could tell us if it was a real fire, an exercise or something else....
We went down to check at the reception, there was only one person picking up all the phones and he didn't even have the time to face us And inform us on the situation. We just heard him on the phone telling the other person that somebody was smoking in the room and therefore the fire alarm went off!!!
Okay, for a four star hotel I expect managers to act upon this situation right away. But as there was only person working, not much could be done And guests were left wandering and worrying about the situation. We complained the next day about the procedure, talked to a manager, but didn't seem they took this serious. Telling us that a fire alarm incident in the middle of the night, would only happen once in four years... So? But it happen on our night and I was greatly disturbed and couldn't sleep the whole night. We wanted feedback on the process, he said he would keep us informed, but he didn't even bother to note down our contacts!
So, so much for a relaxing weekend, luckily the receptionist didn't ask me if I enjoyed my stay.... As I didn't want to start and complain again.

Room Tip: Would choose a room on ground floor, in case there is really fire, you don't have to search for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophey X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Sophey X,

Thank you for posting your review.

First of all our sincere apologies for the disturbance during your stay at Carlton President.

Smoking is prohibited in the hotel and we have very strict rules regarding this. Unfortunately one of the guests did not care about this and smoked anyway in het room.

Within 7 minutes after the fire alarm the fire department was already present at the hotel and the chief fire brigade is assisting our night manager. At that point I am already informed and decisions are being made within these minutes. I am sorry if these actions did not came to your attention at that point.

Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel, rooms and wellness centre.

Via this site I can not contact you directly. I would like to offer you some sort of compensation. Please contact me via e-mail: bblikman (at) president . carlton . nl.

Again thank you very taking the time to inform me and hopefully we will be in touch soon.

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
3.6 mi away
NH Utrecht
NH Utrecht
#3 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
3.7 mi away
Mary K Hotel
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 19 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ibis Utrecht
Ibis Utrecht
#6 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Mitland
Hotel Mitland
#5 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton President

Property: Carlton President
Address: Floraweg 25, 3542 DX Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Business Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton President 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton President, on the edge of Utrecht, offers a free shuttle service to De Wetering, Papendorp, Oudenrijn and Maarssen Railway Station. This 4-star hotel also offers free use of both its business centre and leisure centre which includes a sauna, spa bath and steam bath.The Carlton President provides tastefully decorated rooms equipped with modern and luxurious facilities.The Garden Brasserie serves seasonal dishes and the Exchange Lounge is a comfortable place to relax.The A2 offers easy access to the Jaarbeurs Convention Centre and Schiphol Airport. There is a bus stop 200 metres away which offers access to the centre in 15 to 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Carlton President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton President Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing