We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely unexpected treat!”
Review of Carlton President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton President
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Utrecht
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We decided to look for somewhere to stay in Holland on our way back from Germany and came across the Carlton President. We were absolutely delighted with everything from the room to the service we were given,

Our room was huge and I was over the moon to find I could have a bath as so many rooms only have showers.

I used the free internet provided on the ground floor and a member of staff was very helpful helping me get connected. The staff were all extremely efficient and pleasant.

After a comfortable nights sleep we had an lovely breakfast, the variety of both hot and cold food offered was all of excellent quality. Now rested and full we checked out and continued out journey back to the UK. My only gripe is that we weren't able to use the pool and sauna as we didn't have swimwear with us!

Without a doubt we would happily return to this lovely hotel.

Carry on with the good work you are all doing a wonderful job, many thanks to you all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaureenR098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Maureen,

Wow, what a great review. Thanks a lot!

You make us feel very proud!!!

Hope to see you soon back at Carlton President.

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 708 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

I expected a standard hotel with standard service, i was wrong the service standard was excellent, as good as anywhere i have ever stayed, friendly, helpful, even took me, free of charge, to my local meetings. Never had this before.
Truely wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Bob,

Thank you so much for your review.

We are really proud reading your post on Tripadvisor. I will pass on your compliments to my team.

Hope to see you soon back at Carlton President.

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed 2 nights as part of our return trip to the UK from Austria, stopping off to visit friends and family in the Utrecht area. We chose the hotel for its location, and had been recommended to it by our family as a good value ideal location for our stay.
Our room was adjacent to the entrance but quiet and contained all the facilities we required for our stay, including the baby cot we requested, except the tea/coffe making tray didn't have any milk even after the room was remade, a minor thing that was easily rectified with a call to reception.
The bathroom was small but contained a bath, loo, and separate shower, but no shower gel or shampoo tubes or sachets were provided.
The Leisure Centre looked good with sauna, steam room, gym area and large whirlpool, but with a 15 month old we didn't get an opportunity to use it.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the hotel face onto the motorway slip road which was quiet at this time of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeMonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear mr. Lemonte,

Thank your very much for taking the time to write the review.

Very nice to read that you had a good time at Carlton President.

I can not explain why the amenities where not provided. Our large selection of amenities is a standard in all of our bathrooms. Apologies for this inconvenience.

Hope to see you soon back at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Over the past 18 months spend about 90 nights at the Carlton President hotel.
This all in view of my professional activities.

This hotel is situated in Maarssen on the outskirts of Utrecht.
The rooms are adequate but room fittings and furniture do sometimes date some time back but are well maintained.
Bathroom is very functional and usually everything is working properly.
Staff tends to be very friendly and helpfull.
Due to the fact that a lot of people tend to repeatedly use this hotel it sometimes gets you a kind of 'family' feeling.

The bar is decent and well stocked. Bar staff is very communicative and friendly.
Restaurant staff (for breakfast and dinner) is very friendly too.
Food quality varies but is absolutely acceptable to good.

The hotel started to feel a bit like 'as second home' in the end.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thibojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this very kind review. It is very much appreciated.

Hope to speak to you soon in person, in your home away from home.

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Carlton President Hotel Utrecht is a place where I regularly stay because of its central location and high service! The hotel is convenient to Amsterdam, therefore I am within 20 minutes in the heart of capital. Then park the car at a P & R (eg Olympic stadium) and pay for only 8 euros for the whole day. The hotel staff are all very friendly and genuinely interested in you. The rooms are spacious and equipped with all luxury; bathroom with bath and shower. I find the cozy bar is a big plus, you get professional service in a friendly atmosphere and there is always time for a nice conversation. Many hotels are impersonal and give you the feeling to be a number. This hotel is my second best "home".

Room Tip: They are actively engaged in social media. Each Foursquare checkin is good for a free drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear R v,

What a great review. It is really making us feel proud. I will pass on these kind words to my staff. Hope to see you soon back at Carlton President.

Kind regards

Bart Blikman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nice place with friendly staff! Good food, and health centrum sauna , fitness etc near to high way, near to Utrecht centrum business area. nice beds, big rooms , private parking tv bad shower etc shuttle service , good breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Jean B.,

Thank you very much for this review.

I was wondering about your remark concerning the TV or Shower. Does the remark “Bad” apply on the TV or the shower? The wide screen LED TV’s are new and since October we also invested in the quality of the TV signal.

My e-mail address is bblikman (at) president dot carlton dot nl

Hopefully I will here from you soon.

With the kindest regards,

Bart Blikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is hidden gem in Utrecht. After a long day of business meetings I look forward to a quiet retreat in this great boutique hotel.
Great staff right from the top ( Hotel Manager ) and Sales Manager ( Echo ) to the front desk up to the Shuttle service driver ( Paul ).
Room is fairly size with a great veranda.

Room Tip: You will never go wrong with President Carlton
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sistema888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear sistema888,

Thank you very much for these kind words! It is really a pleasure to read your review.

I will pass on your compliments to my Sales Manager and the shuttle bus driver.

Hopefully we can meet in person next time you visit the Netherlands and hopefully our hotel.

Kind regards,
Bart Blikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
3.6 mi away
NH Utrecht
NH Utrecht
#8 of 23 in Utrecht
750 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Mitland
Hotel Mitland
#5 of 23 in Utrecht
939 reviews
5.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Eye Hotel
Eye Hotel
#2 of 23 in Utrecht
264 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton President

Address: Floraweg 25, 3542 DX Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#6 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range: $80 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton President 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton President, on the edge of Utrecht, offers a free shuttle service to De Wetering, Papendorp, Oudenrijn and Maarssen Railway Station. This 4-star hotel also offers free use of both its business centre and leisure centre which includes a sauna, spa bath and steam bath.The Carlton President provides tastefully decorated rooms equipped with modern and luxurious facilities.The Garden Brasserie serves seasonal dishes and the Exchange Lounge is a comfortable place to relax.The A2 offers easy access to the Jaarbeurs Convention Centre and Schiphol Airport. There is a bus stop 200 metres away which offers access to the centre in 15 to 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton President Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing