We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stone Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #4 of 29 Utrecht B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was really impressed in a good way! Ok it is not Hilton but for student and young people who are like me, it is perfect! Staff, especially guy, who was checking me in, what so kind, nice, helpful and still keep smiling ;) Also is very good that you can cook your meal if you like and save money for party, which are really crazy! :)
The last circule is empty because of old man who was sleeping in the same room and was snooring almost whole night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zachary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Stone Hotel & Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 94 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Good place nice person and a beatiful living room. Safe and near the center of the small city. The room (6 beds) are little but clean and warm. Free coffee and tea, but breakfast is not included and maybe too expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lookaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very good hostel, although the day hostess wasn't very nice. Its has a very good location, nearby restaurants, bars, cinemas, coffee shops, nearby everything. Comfortable beds and a small but cozy common room .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andres P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

the rooms are too small too expensive the staff is friendly but after one day I went to a other hostel it is pity because I saw the pictures and looked nice
the stairs with a lot of bags is a crime but when you are upstairs you are hsppy that uo==you survive it
pity nice staff horror rooms

Room Tip: ne prend pas des chambres prive c est horrible
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francois l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Good location, walking distance to the old part of the city and the center, clean, great staff, very friendly and helpful. Yes the rooms are small, but so are the rooms in most dutch hotels and yes the stairs are narrow, but so are the stairs in most buildings in Holland. Kitchen very well equipped, computers and free internet to use, I would definetely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stones is an excellent hotel in the heart of Utrecht,excellent facilities,safety and a well equipped kitchen. Stones has an excellent staff and owners who attend to all needs of the guests in a warm friendly manner. Well situated...and near most Utrecht attractions.....Stones is definately the best hostel/hostel I have stayed at...in the Netherlands...at the most affordable price.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean,safe..with excellent bathrooms,wifi and plugs available and constant attention t...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The staff was the best during our stay, the two nice helpful girls at the desk and the kind and very friendly man as well.

This hotel was the worst I have ever seen in my life until now. There were so many bad things that I dont know where to start from. The hotel is a bit far from the center, ca 18 min walk. The room was a prison cell, even smaller than it, not more than 9m2, awfully dirty, not painted, bad smell, just a very small window, which you could not leave it open to let air fresh air inside, because the heating was off during the whole night and when we woke up it was the same. Bedsheets and the tiny duvet were horribly dirty and made of ugly polyester . Hairs of other hotel guests or animals could be easily found on them. Apparently, it was a very animal friendly hotel, since few of guests brought huge dogs inside. I am happy I did not pay for the breakfast, I cannot dare to imagine how it would have been. I still cannot accept it, that a sort of these hotels can still exist. But as humans, we can adapt ourselves to everything, even for one night...If it would be your last choice, I beg you not to go.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Florian300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Ibis Utrecht
#10 of 22 in Utrecht
526 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
539 reviews
Bastion Hotel Utrecht
#17 of 22 in Utrecht
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Utrecht
#4 of 22 in Utrecht
648 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
823 reviews
Eye Hotel
#7 of 22 in Utrecht
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hotel & Hostel

Address: Biltstraat 31, 3572 AC Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Price Range: $70 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone is an informal hotel & hostel in the center of Utrecht, in the heart of the Netherlands. Stone is well situated for a holiday or business visit to the city. The friendly atmosphere, makes the hotel & hostel very suitable for families, backpackers and groups. Stone has several dorms and basic private rooms. There is a fully equipped kitchen that you can use. Stone is within walking distance of the old city and is easily reached by car, bicycle or public transport. There is ample parking in the street and two parking garages around the corner. All rooms have free wireless internet and TV (no TV in the dorms). Breakfast from 07:00 till 10:30 for only € 4,50. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stone Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing