We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stone Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #4 of 29 Utrecht B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very good hostel, although the day hostess wasn't very nice. Its has a very good location, nearby restaurants, bars, cinemas, coffee shops, nearby everything. Comfortable beds and a small but cozy common room .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andres P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 97 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

the rooms are too small too expensive the staff is friendly but after one day I went to a other hostel it is pity because I saw the pictures and looked nice
the stairs with a lot of bags is a crime but when you are upstairs you are hsppy that uo==you survive it
pity nice staff horror rooms

Room Tip: ne prend pas des chambres prive c est horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francois l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Good location, walking distance to the old part of the city and the center, clean, great staff, very friendly and helpful. Yes the rooms are small, but so are the rooms in most dutch hotels and yes the stairs are narrow, but so are the stairs in most buildings in Holland. Kitchen very well equipped, computers and free internet to use, I would definetely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stones is an excellent hotel in the heart of Utrecht,excellent facilities,safety and a well equipped kitchen. Stones has an excellent staff and owners who attend to all needs of the guests in a warm friendly manner. Well situated...and near most Utrecht attractions.....Stones is definately the best hostel/hostel I have stayed at...in the Netherlands...at the most affordable price.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean,safe..with excellent bathrooms,wifi and plugs available and constant attention t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The staff was the best during our stay, the two nice helpful girls at the desk and the kind and very friendly man as well.

This hotel was the worst I have ever seen in my life until now. There were so many bad things that I dont know where to start from. The hotel is a bit far from the center, ca 18 min walk. The room was a prison cell, even smaller than it, not more than 9m2, awfully dirty, not painted, bad smell, just a very small window, which you could not leave it open to let air fresh air inside, because the heating was off during the whole night and when we woke up it was the same. Bedsheets and the tiny duvet were horribly dirty and made of ugly polyester . Hairs of other hotel guests or animals could be easily found on them. Apparently, it was a very animal friendly hotel, since few of guests brought huge dogs inside. I am happy I did not pay for the breakfast, I cannot dare to imagine how it would have been. I still cannot accept it, that a sort of these hotels can still exist. But as humans, we can adapt ourselves to everything, even for one night...If it would be your last choice, I beg you not to go.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Florian300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Pros:
- Very friendly people
- Very secure (password to enter in the hotel and in the room)
- Good common room with free access to computers and printer
- Room with bathroom
- Good localization
- Organized common kitchen
- Good cleanness

Cons:
- No Wi-fi inside the rooms
- Lack of lockers to put the bagages
- Little noisy
- Stairs very narrow and can be dangerous

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marciofleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stone Hotel&Hostel was the best solution during my staying in Utrecht, while searching for a permanent accommodation (as a student).
Since we had to stay many days, and we had to book a room from day to day, we have seen 3 of the hotel rooms that this property has, and all of them were pretty good. They weren't the huge rooms, that one might be expecting, but they were really convenient, clean, with their own bathroom and good lighting/ventilation.
The best clue of the accomodation is the really nice and friendly staff, who will help you figure out everything!
Last, but not least, the hotel is laid in a 7-minute walking distance from the centre (Oudegracht and Dom).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian_Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#10 of 22 in Utrecht
553 reviews
Ibis Utrecht
#12 of 22 in Utrecht
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Utrecht
#4 of 22 in Utrecht
673 reviews
Eye Hotel
#7 of 22 in Utrecht
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hotel & Hostel

Address: Biltstraat 31, 3572 AC Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Price Range: $70 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone is an informal hotel & hostel in the center of Utrecht, in the heart of the Netherlands. Stone is well situated for a holiday or business visit to the city. The friendly atmosphere, makes the hotel & hostel very suitable for families, backpackers and groups. Stone has several dorms and basic private rooms. There is a fully equipped kitchen that you can use. Stone is within walking distance of the old city and is easily reached by car, bicycle or public transport. There is ample parking in the street and two parking garages around the corner. All rooms have free wireless internet and TV (no TV in the dorms). Breakfast from 07:00 till 10:30 for only € 4,50. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Stone Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing