We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful place”

Bed & Breakfast Chez Cho
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Chez Cho
Ranked #18 of 28 Utrecht B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This place was just perfect. The location is great: In the center of the town, but there in a quiet street. However, just walking down the street (one minute), you are at the canal (gracht), with many nice shops and cafes, just a nice atmosphere! From there you can explore the city.
The apartment itself leaves nothing to be desired. The sauna and the whirlpool are great (see pictures). Everything is clean and high quality. The owner is a very nice and helpful person too! We definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: There is only one apartment - no choice ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 16 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

Chez Cho has the perfect location! Right in the centre of Utrecht very near the Dom, but with hardly any noise. The apartment is very spacious and comfortable, good beds, and a huge bathroom. The only negative aspect was breakfast, which consisted of only a sandwich with cheese or jam, orange juice and coffee or milk. Furthermore the owner was not there and the person who did the honours in his place was friendly but seemed to be in a rush.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I traveled solo, but there is enough room for a couple not to be cramped.

The only noise you deal with are church bells and the sound of bicycles going down the street. There might be an occasional car or truck, but those were infrequent.

Factoring in location by the Oudegracht, the ease of the journey to/from the Central Station, and the comfort of the apartment, I wholeheartedly recommend staying here.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
3  Thank onealism713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

When planning our city break to Amsterdam, we were recommended by a Dutch friend to consider staying in Utrecht because apparently the quality of accommodation within our budget range was better, Utrecht is less heaving with drunken British stag parties, and is a charming town in itself with good transport links to Amsterdam. Taking our friend's advice, we browsed the website UtrechtYourWay.nl and discovered Chez Cho.

What an absolute little gem of a place! We loved it and were sorry to only stay for 2 nights! Though Chez Cho is advertised as a B&B, the accommodation was actually a little apartment with basic self-catering facilities available if required. I think there is the option to have breakfast prepared for you, but we chose to save 10 euros and go without breakfast. Still, with a bakery not too far away and filter coffee making facilities in the room, we enjoyed a lovely breakfast of pastries and coffee each morning.

The apartment is spotlessly clean and very spacious with everything you could wish for. I have already mentioned the cooking/coffee facilties which were a big plus, but other facilties included free Wifi internet, cable TV, a dining table and chairs, an extensive book and DVD collection and comfortable beds (twin, but pushed together to make a double). The piece de resistance of this apartment however has to be what is found in the basement....a jacuzzi bath and sauna! Incredible!

95 euros per night is at the very top end of our budget, but we found the apartment to be exceptionally good value and don't regret the decision to stay there for a moment. The owner Nico is a very pleasant man and very helpful when recommending things to do and see in Utrecht, and places to eat and drink. We thoroughly recommend the tapas restaurant "Amor" on the Oudegracht (main canal). Once you get past the shopping mall monstrosity that is the Hoog Catherijne, Utrecht itself is absolutely adorable - we both said it's the kind of place you could happily spend a whole summer, or even live. There are plenty of museums to keep you entertained, the view from the top of the Dom is we worth the 465-step climb, and there are seemingly hundreds of sweet little cafes and bars to choose from. We liked Sector 3 for the delicious coffee and hot chocolate.

We journeyed into Amsterdam on 2 of the 3 days of our weekend break and really enjoyed it - it's a beautiful city and we found plenty to do despite many of the main museums being closed for refurbishment. We're so pleased with our decision to stay in Utrecht though - it's only half an hour away on the train (14 euros return) and it was refreshing to come back to Chez Cho at the end of the day to escape the crowds, the girls in the windows and the smell of cannabis in the air!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank kerlainemouton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Buffy1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
0.7 mi away
NH Utrecht
NH Utrecht
#8 of 23 in Utrecht
754 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bastion Hotel Utrecht
Bastion Hotel Utrecht
#19 of 23 in Utrecht
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stone Hotel & Hostel
Stone Hotel & Hostel
#6 of 28 in Utrecht
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
1.5 mi away
Ibis Utrecht
Ibis Utrecht
#13 of 23 in Utrecht
539 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mitland
Hotel Mitland
#5 of 23 in Utrecht
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Chez Cho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Chez Cho

Address: Haverstraat 8, 3511 NC Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Price Range: $130 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Chez Cho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing