We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Absolutely beautiful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed & Breakfast Chez Cho

Bed & Breakfast Chez Cho
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Chez Cho
Ranked #9 of 29 Utrecht B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This place was just perfect. The location is great: In the center of the town, but there in a quiet street. However, just walking down the street (one minute), you are at the canal (gracht), with many nice shops and cafes, just a nice atmosphere! From there you can explore the city.
The apartment itself leaves nothing to be desired. The sauna and the whirlpool are great (see pictures). Everything is clean and high quality. The owner is a very nice and helpful person too! We definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: There is only one apartment - no choice ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hardenberg, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Chez Cho has the perfect location! Right in the centre of Utrecht very near the Dom, but with hardly any noise. The apartment is very spacious and comfortable, good beds, and a huge bathroom. The only negative aspect was breakfast, which consisted of only a sandwich with cheese or jam, orange juice and coffee or milk. Furthermore the owner was not there and the person who did the honours in his place was friendly but seemed to be in a rush.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

I traveled solo, but there is enough room for a couple not to be cramped.

The only noise you deal with are church bells and the sound of bicycles going down the street. There might be an occasional car or truck, but those were infrequent.

Factoring in location by the Oudegracht, the ease of the journey to/from the Central Station, and the comfort of the apartment, I wholeheartedly recommend staying here.

Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank onealism713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

When planning our city break to Amsterdam, we were recommended by a Dutch friend to consider staying in Utrecht because apparently the quality of accommodation within our budget range was better, Utrecht is less heaving with drunken British stag parties, and is a charming town in itself with good transport links to Amsterdam. Taking our friend's advice, we browsed the website UtrechtYourWay.nl and discovered Chez Cho.

What an absolute little gem of a place! We loved it and were sorry to only stay for 2 nights! Though Chez Cho is advertised as a B&B, the accommodation was actually a little apartment with basic self-catering facilities available if required. I think there is the option to have breakfast prepared for you, but we chose to save 10 euros and go without breakfast. Still, with a bakery not too far away and filter coffee making facilities in the room, we enjoyed a lovely breakfast of pastries and coffee each morning.

The apartment is spotlessly clean and very spacious with everything you could wish for. I have already mentioned the cooking/coffee facilties which were a big plus, but other facilties included free Wifi internet, cable TV, a dining table and chairs, an extensive book and DVD collection and comfortable beds (twin, but pushed together to make a double). The piece de resistance of this apartment however has to be what is found in the basement....a jacuzzi bath and sauna! Incredible!

95 euros per night is at the very top end of our budget, but we found the apartment to be exceptionally good value and don't regret the decision to stay there for a moment. The owner Nico is a very pleasant man and very helpful when recommending things to do and see in Utrecht, and places to eat and drink. We thoroughly recommend the tapas restaurant "Amor" on the Oudegracht (main canal). Once you get past the shopping mall monstrosity that is the Hoog Catherijne, Utrecht itself is absolutely adorable - we both said it's the kind of place you could happily spend a whole summer, or even live. There are plenty of museums to keep you entertained, the view from the top of the Dom is we worth the 465-step climb, and there are seemingly hundreds of sweet little cafes and bars to choose from. We liked Sector 3 for the delicious coffee and hot chocolate.

We journeyed into Amsterdam on 2 of the 3 days of our weekend break and really enjoyed it - it's a beautiful city and we found plenty to do despite many of the main museums being closed for refurbishment. We're so pleased with our decision to stay in Utrecht though - it's only half an hour away on the train (14 euros return) and it was refreshing to come back to Chez Cho at the end of the day to escape the crowds, the girls in the windows and the smell of cannabis in the air!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#4 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Utrecht
#11 of 19 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#7 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
Court Hotel City Centre Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Chez Cho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Chez Cho

Property: Bed & Breakfast Chez Cho
Address: Haverstraat 8, 3511 NC Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Chez Cho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing