We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of the best restaurants....in Holland!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Podium

Restaurant Podium
Ranked #9 of 493 Restaurants in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $70
Cuisines: European, Central European, Gluten Free Options, French, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With no pretention and full of ambition, a young team is ready to give you the best!Fine international quality cuisine with a focus on the best fresh ingredients.Chef Leon Mazairac and it's team prepare a monthly changing fixed 3 and 7 course menu.Everything is freshly produced, homemade bread and delicate, but recognizable dishes.In a relaxed and correct ambiance, the service staff will take care of all your needs.The sommelier will serve you perfectly matching wines. There is also a great wine list with (natural) european wines, or classic well known domaines.
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
152 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Still one of the best restaurants....in Holland!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Every now and then we have dinner here, either with friends or the family (it's closeby to our home).
Getting even better every time I come here. Consistently the highest standard in food. Daring menues and perfection in their wine-suggestions, also offering very good wines from less known regions/countries in the world.
Mr Michelin, pay attention here!!!! It surely deserves one or in my view even two stars. But OK, take it easy and grant them one....for starters..

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HPBKraaijeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    30
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level Contributor
455 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Great food, nice ambience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Although we live quite close to this restaurant, we didn't ever have the occasion to go there. it is open only few days per week and as it is a small and cozy restaurant with fe table, you'd better book in advance.
It was a very pleasant surprise.
We decided to take the full 5 courses menu of the month as the cuisine doesn't offer other choices.
And just to be on the complete lazy side we decided to go with the wine arrangement.
The menu is changed on a monthly basis, but it didn't reflect the season in terms for example of the vegetables present in summer.
Anyway the different plates were presented very well, with the typical french touch you find in high clss restaurant in the Netherlands, but still played with a right equilibrium.
The atmosphere is elegant and sober, with a nice decor played with a dominant red and grey colors.
The wine arrangement was a good selection of wines from The Netherlands ( a good pinot gris), Italy, France and Germany.
in general, apart from one, I think they represented a good choice.
The service was appropriate and good, not too fast and not too long.
A good impression which put the Podium among one of my best choices of restaurants in the Netherlands and definitely in Utrecht.
We paid for 2 97 EUR including wines.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alfalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Utrecht's finest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This might just be the best restaurant in Utrecht. Very cosy atmophere, very tasty food & fabulous wines.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rpd051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Our 6-th visit was again a good surprise in many ways. The Podium menu is, as always, excellent and combines very well with the wines served ('wijnarrangement'). Podium again surprised us with a very good greek wine and its special, the raviolo, but also the skrei. The staff knows what they are talking about and provide for an entertaining, comfortable evening out. The industrial red interior matches that feeling; a modern and never boring atmosphere. So go spoil yourself with an evening out at Podium! It is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee77188616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
152 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Top cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We have been coming here for years now and the food keeps on getter better. Strongly undervalued restaurant, probably mainly because they are open for dinner just from Wednesday to Saturday. "Mr. Michelin" still has to discover this - in my modest view by far the - best restaurant in Utrecht.
It started with a cooking school (still running, other address) for larger groups and a couple of years ago the chef - Leon Mazairac - opened this small but well designed restaurant.
The chef was trained by o.a. the best chefs in France. And currently he's even got his own televisionshow, all about food, where to get it and how to prepare it..
It's all about the right ingredients and he gets them from the best places. Great winelist and excellent food/wine recommandations.
When in Utrecht, you just have to eat here. Great food, very attentive staff; you won't be disappointed! It's top-level at a very modest price. (by the way; they serve two set menus)

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HPBKraaijeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Podium also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Restaurant Podium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing