We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Badhu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Badhu
Ranked #5 of 29 Utrecht B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed at the green room. The concept is really cool but there are some things that could be better. The shower is open, meaning that everything around gets completely messed when using it. The light in the room is, at some areas, too "intimate".
I guess it is a bit expensive for the value.
On the positive side, the food in the restaurant is really good, after staying for sleeping I've come back many times just for lunch.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Saroni82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Badhu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 83 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Interesting restaurant with a buzzing atmosphere. Very patient and helpful staff as most customers are experimenting. A little under spiced but may be for local clientele tastes. Range of Mezze from various country traditions. Serves alcohol and traditional teas too. Favourite is the fennel soup. Ned to book table even mid week. Did not stay so can't comment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travell_a_lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that as a restaurant Badhu is fantastic and did not disappoint, it's mezze dishes were both tasty and great value. We stayed 2 nights in the red room in July. The room itself is very basic but clean, with a lovely window seat and fresh towels in the morning. There was tea and coffee in the room and a tv also. However, there is no air conditioning whatsoever, just one fan. At the time of our stay Utrecht reached above 30 degrees Celsius and if you reckon the weather could be similar during your stay then it's just not worth it. The rooms are upstairs and our room was like an oven, the fan have little relief. Sleeping was uncomfortable and almost impossible on the second night. Until Badhu get air conditioning then I will not be returning during the summer months. My other criticism is the carpet in the sleeping area. The stairs are dark and narrow (I slipped on one occasion) and are covered in a dirty carpet that absolutely stank of damp and dirt and continues the length of the hall. Ripping up the carpet and flooring the hall with wood would make a massive difference. So all in all a stay if mixed opinions, but the staff were lovely and the food was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahGainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Authentic Arabic, Lebanese, Maroccan kitchen; mainly soups and mezze. Excellent taste and surprising mixes of ingredients. Both inside ad outside a good athmosphere. Unfortunately the Maroccan beer was not available. We didn't sleep over here, but my colleagues did and where quite enthusiastic.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here one day in July. We reserved the golden room but at check-in it turned out that room was double booked so we were given the white room. Staff gave us a key, waved us to the stairs and that was it. Not much service here because they're to busy running the downstairs restaurant and bar.

The room was nice, clean and looked very stylish but comes with a few impracticalities. For example there's a hairdryer in the bathroom but no power socket! (In fact we had to look very hard in the room to eventually find one (!) extra power socket somewhere hidden away in a corner) The shower is open so the whole bathroom gets wet when taking a shower and it's impossible to put stuff on the sink of bath so we ended up putting our shower gel and shampoo bottles on the floor. And as mentioned in other review we also missed the option for more light than only the mood light, especially in the bathroom. The next morning only one staff member was present so everyone had to wait very long for breakfast and check out.

On a positive note, the rooms are very cosy and the downstairs restaurant is great. Bus #5 to the center and train station of Utrecht stops right in front of the hotel. Would stay here again if they hire someone to run the hotel fulltime and make the rooms a little bit more practical.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and liked the hotel. Yes, it's a little quirky, but it's a small hotel and they're trying to be different. The staff are super lovely and friendly. We were gutted that we didn't eat in the restaurant as we have heard from the locals that they do good middle eastern food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

When all other hotels are trying to achieve calm , neutral , crisp white linen type interiors ......this place considers that the weary traveller would like their senses assaulted by a RED room......even the loo, bath, all lighting, with RED satin bedlinen.....my husband thought it looked like a bordello ( and how would he know ?! ). The food was okay though...but I didnt like sleeping in a slippery RED bed.

Stayed: May 2012
Thank hackettsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#4 of 22 in Utrecht
648 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
823 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Utrecht
#11 of 22 in Utrecht
526 reviews
Eye Hotel
#7 of 22 in Utrecht
166 reviews
Malie Hotel
#12 of 22 in Utrecht
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badhu

Address: Willem van Noortplein 19, 3514 GK Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Price Range: $103 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Badhu 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Badhu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing