We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Authentic Arabic Inspired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Badhu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Badhu
Ranked #15 of 29 Utrecht B&B and Inns
Southern England
Level Contributor
269 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Authentic Arabic Inspired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Interesting restaurant with a buzzing atmosphere. Very patient and helpful staff as most customers are experimenting. A little under spiced but may be for local clientele tastes. Range of Mezze from various country traditions. Serves alcohol and traditional teas too. Favourite is the fennel soup. Ned to book table even mid week. Did not stay so can't comment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travell_a_lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
3
32
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that as a restaurant Badhu is fantastic and did not disappoint, it's mezze dishes were both tasty and great value. We stayed 2 nights in the red room in July. The room itself is very basic but clean, with a lovely window seat and fresh towels in the morning. There was tea and coffee in the room and a tv also. However, there is no air conditioning whatsoever, just one fan. At the time of our stay Utrecht reached above 30 degrees Celsius and if you reckon the weather could be similar during your stay then it's just not worth it. The rooms are upstairs and our room was like an oven, the fan have little relief. Sleeping was uncomfortable and almost impossible on the second night. Until Badhu get air conditioning then I will not be returning during the summer months. My other criticism is the carpet in the sleeping area. The stairs are dark and narrow (I slipped on one occasion) and are covered in a dirty carpet that absolutely stank of damp and dirt and continues the length of the hall. Ripping up the carpet and flooring the hall with wood would make a massive difference. So all in all a stay if mixed opinions, but the staff were lovely and the food was great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahGainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Authentic Arabic, Lebanese, Maroccan kitchen; mainly soups and mezze. Excellent taste and surprising mixes of ingredients. Both inside ad outside a good athmosphere. Unfortunately the Maroccan beer was not available. We didn't sleep over here, but my colleagues did and where quite enthusiastic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here one day in July. We reserved the golden room but at check-in it turned out that room was double booked so we were given the white room. Staff gave us a key, waved us to the stairs and that was it. Not much service here because they're to busy running the downstairs restaurant and bar.

The room was nice, clean and looked very stylish but comes with a few impracticalities. For example there's a hairdryer in the bathroom but no power socket! (In fact we had to look very hard in the room to eventually find one (!) extra power socket somewhere hidden away in a corner) The shower is open so the whole bathroom gets wet when taking a shower and it's impossible to put stuff on the sink of bath so we ended up putting our shower gel and shampoo bottles on the floor. And as mentioned in other review we also missed the option for more light than only the mood light, especially in the bathroom. The next morning only one staff member was present so everyone had to wait very long for breakfast and check out.

On a positive note, the rooms are very cosy and the downstairs restaurant is great. Bus #5 to the center and train station of Utrecht stops right in front of the hotel. Would stay here again if they hire someone to run the hotel fulltime and make the rooms a little bit more practical.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and liked the hotel. Yes, it's a little quirky, but it's a small hotel and they're trying to be different. The staff are super lovely and friendly. We were gutted that we didn't eat in the restaurant as we have heard from the locals that they do good middle eastern food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering Northants
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

When all other hotels are trying to achieve calm , neutral , crisp white linen type interiors ......this place considers that the weary traveller would like their senses assaulted by a RED room......even the loo, bath, all lighting, with RED satin bedlinen.....my husband thought it looked like a bordello ( and how would he know ?! ). The food was okay though...but I didnt like sleeping in a slippery RED bed.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank hackettsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We choose the purple room. As soon as you walk the door you might say "wow" beacause it looks really stylish....but it wasn't practical.
There wasn't enough light, ok the soft light gives a nice atmosphere, but you should have the chace to have more light. It was impossible to put make up on! or even to read!! There is not bed side table.
In the bathroom, there is just a very small sink...with no space to put stuff on such as the toothbrush...ok i get the minimalist style...but an hotel is suppose to be comfortable as well.
I appreciated the nespresso coffe machine with complimentary coffe in the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alroItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 19 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
NH Utrecht
#3 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Utrecht
#7 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Hotel Dom
Hotel Dom
#14 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badhu

Property: Badhu
Address: Willem van Noortplein 19, 3514 GK Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Badhu 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Badhu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing