We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B, great hosts.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elsa's Home

Elsa's Home
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utrecht
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elsa's Home
Save
You added Elsa's Home to your Saves list
Ranked #26 of 29 Utrecht B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice B&B, great hosts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

I was surprised to read the negative reviews here. I found both Elsa and Gianfranco to be lovely people, who always had time for me and have great charisma. Breakfast was typical Dutch breakfast, but with the added bonus of fantastic coffee. Elsa even made me a pack lunch when I had to be in the office early, which was great and met my needs. The room was large, a double bed and clean. The toilet and shower were shared, but I didn't find this a problem. The location is in a nice part of Utrecht, a quick bus ride to the center or get hold of a bike and its a 10 minute ride - there are parks nearby as is a small supermarket. I liked the hosts and the overall stay was great. The part I disliked was that while staying there were road works which were happening nearby and this meant the bus was on a reduced service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DickyVanDerBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    0
    0
    7
See reviews for
2
8
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
schiedam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

arrived late at night and was welcomed with a nice hot cup of coffee and very friendly conversation
elsa and gianfranco made me feel at home
next time i go to utrecht i try and stay longer it really feels like visiting family
sarah

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orithsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

this is the 2nd time i have stayed with elsa and gianfranco at their home in utrecht. if you want the generic comforts of a large chain hotel this is not for you BUT this is a wonderful place to stay due to the two genuinely welcoming hosts who greet you like an old friend, for the pots of tea and coffee and home made cakes in the afternoon, free wifi, the homely comfort of all the rooms and the feeling that you are at a home from home. a fantastic find with only a few rooms so book early. i would stay there every time i am in utrecht and would totally recommend it.

Room Tip: the back double room has a tranquil little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GST2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I have to say that I really enjoyed my time there. The hosts are very friendly and give you either a family - like or a silent atmosphere. They are fluent in almost every European languages and are successable by giving you a very warm welcome. Being flexible they can give you individual conditions. The room is simple but lovely, clean and silence. An invitation to an original Italian espresso is included and will be renewed often (if you like)! A bus stop with direct city-connection every 10min is located in front of the house. Jogging paths through a park or along the cannel are available. Can’t imagine that some guys had so bad experience there…

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank espresso_in_Utrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Bad company, money money and no clean toilet, kitchen, very cheap old food,(amateurs for money)so the first and last time!!!!!!! do not go to this place!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Honestlyspeakinghaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Utrecht hotels

Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

A very friendly atmosphere in a nice city. Wireless Internet included.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mantaraya36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

this is our sixth stay at this excellent friendly Guest House, Wonderful hosts always making us feel so welcome, with superb breakfast to set us off for the day. Bedrooms are excellent and clean with all amenities available. We would highly recommend a stay at Elsa's home

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinyaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Ibis Utrecht
#7 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Mother Goose Hotel
Mother Goose Hotel
#1 of 29 in Utrecht
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
In de Sonnehoeck
#6 of 29 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Stone Hotel & Hostel
#5 of 29 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
NH Utrecht
#4 of 19 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elsa's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsa's Home

Property: Elsa's Home
Address: Lessinglaan 100, 3533 AZ Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing