We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Amersfoort
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    276
    64
    27
    13
See reviews for
69
272
51
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Friendly reception, could check in earlier. Good location, walking distance to town and to station, free parking. Spacious rooms with fridge and kettle. Good supermarket just across street and some shops in the same complex as hotel. Very good value for money, online rate included breakfast. Would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Nala2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Nala 2007,
Thank you for your review and the compliment towards our team members.
We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.
With kind regards,
Martin Lindelauf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a new hotel and it has it's share of teething problems. I stayed on 2 separate occasions: for 10 nights and for 22 nights:

The good: Brand new hotel -- new beds, new (and large screen) TV, close to Amserfoort town centre (10 mins walk), close to Amserfoort train station (10 mins walk) and directly across the street from grocery store, fast food outlets and movie theater.

The bad:
1) One person at the reception (you should see the lines during peak check-in/check-out times)
2) Coffee -- my room came with Nespresso machine, but had to repeatedly ask for coffee for the machine
3) News Paper Delivery-- Staff asked what paper I wanted, but delivery was poor, some days I got a paper, other days got a paper but not the one that I ordered and other days no paper at all.
4) Restaurant -- or rather lack of hotel restaurant. A restaurant is in same building as hotel, but not part of the hotel. And it is expensive (17 Euro for breakfast). Dinner is all you can eat in 2 hours (27+ Euro) or 3 hours (31+ Euro) -- with very limited ala carte menu. However many restaurants / shopping in Amersfoort town centre.
5) Room cleaning -- very hap-hazard, sometimes did a good job, other times not, sometime forgot to leave clean towels, other days got double the towels
6) Le Club points -- I have had to fight to get my Le Club loyalty points (on both occasions)

In summary, good hotel, although probably not

Room Tip: Ask for room away from construction site (on one side of the building). Corner rooms are large (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank INHONGKONG925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time taken to write down the remarks regarding your stay.

As mentioned by you we are open since few months and daily we are improving our services to our guests. We can inform you that all your remarks have been discussed with the department head involved.

Good news is that from the 1st of July 2013, we will manage directly the breakfast.
Concerning your Accor Le Club points they are added to your card (apologize for the delay).

We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay with us, and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to show you our high standard of hospitality during your next stay.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to the Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre in the future.

with kind regards,

FS Apreda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I've been coming to Amersfoort for around 18 months now. I usually stay in the NH but thought I'd give this hotel a try instead. All in all I'm relatively happy but there a few points the management should address.These are room cleaning and taxi's.

Plus points:
Looks modern
Great location - Cinema, supermarket and canal just across the road.
Very good breakfast & nice bar. In fact, the restaurant and bar are the two main reasons I'll likely come back here instead of the NH. That said, the restaurant isn't part of the hotel so your bill cannot be added to your hotel tab. You can do this in the bar though.

Negatives:
Room cleaning isn't the greatest. My room was serviced and maid had rinsed out a dirty glass then placed it back on the bathroom counter. Certainly not 3 or 4 star service there.
Staff numbers: I've only ever seen one member of reception staff in the hotel at any one time.
Taxis: Mercure seem to favour a local company called Bestax. If you're on business its not the sort of cars you want to use. Dated and sometimes smelling of smoke etc. I usually use Taxi Boute as they are very clean and modern vehicles. I have ended up organising my own taxi's in the morning.

In summary: Good, not great but generally better than the NH Hotel due to the restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sigur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Front Office Manager at Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Sigur,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time taken to write down the remarks regarding your stay.

As mentioned by you we are open since few months and daily we are improving our services to our guests. We can inform you that all your remarks have been discussed with the department head involved.

We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay with us, and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to show you our high standard of hospitality during your next stay.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to the Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre in the future.

with kind regards,
FS Apreda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, Holland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

It's a brandnew hotel so you expect a lot. And you get only average. At checkin the clerk takes a few calls and talks with me at the same time, how rude!
You also must pay 50 euro's for expenses at checkin, but there is no minibar and the restaurant and bar is from another company. So why the 50?
On a sunday night the hotel dit not have a lot of guests but we were getting a room at the pretty sight of a construction area.

The shower and the WIFI are great but the TV signal is very poor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasperw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Owner at Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Jasper, I am sorry to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We will take your comments into our meetings, and I can assure you that appropriate actions will be taken by us.
With kind regards,
Martin Lindelauf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Charming rooms with all facilities included. It was a good choice far from the crowded Amsterdam. We all loved it. A buffet restaurant at the top level, even though it's another property, completes the vacation.Very nice people at the reception, not always easy to find around Holland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Cookymilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Owner at Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Cookymilano, thank you for the comments. It was good te read that the service and accomodation did meet your expecations. Thank you for sharing this information with all other potential guests.
I hope to meet you again in the near future at Mercure Hotel AMersfoort Centre
With kind regards, Martin Lindelauf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have visited Amersfoort before but never stayed. This time we chose this new hotel which is a very short walk to the centre of Amersfoort. It is in an area being developed and at a roundabout but it was a pleasant surprise. It is so new that there is no information about Amersfoort or the hotel itself in the rooms or reception but it will come no doubt. There is a restaurant in the hotel, not run by the hotel, but this was excellent and recommendabe to those not staying at the hotel. My only little objection to the hotel is that it did not offer free late checkout for those of us that are Accors members. This is the first time I have experienced this and found it petty.
Amersfoort is a lovely place and well worth a stay even though some travel guides write little about the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Norwegian11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Owner at Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing the information on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that you did not receive a late check out. This should have been enbabled my me and my staff.
I hope that you will return to this lovely city and hopefully we will meet then. I can assure you that your comment was discussed in our front office meeting
With kind regards, Martin Lindelauf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amersfoort hotels
NH Amersfoort
#1 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Coninckstraat
Hotel de Tabaksplant
Hotel de Tabaksplant
#8 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Jan Hotel
#4 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Princess Hotel Amersfoort
#6 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre

Property: Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre
Address: De Nieuwe Poort 20, 3812 PA Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Amersfoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Amersfoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing