We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic high quality food and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blok's

Blok's
Ranked #5 of 213 Restaurants in Amersfoort
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: excellent restaurant
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic high quality food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went for the 'surprise' menu, and we were very pleasantly surprised! Great food combinations and lovely wines, coupled with excellent service. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area. For the quality of the food, this was well worth the money!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NelNas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Taste Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

From the 'Amuse' (as the Dutch call it!) to the petit fours served with coffee, dinner at Blok's was an amazing taste experience with excellent service to go along with it. The kitchen was glass fronted and It was good to see the chef actually in the kitchen cooking unlike some other Michelin starred restaurants!
We partook of the €45 four course menu that, considering the quality if the food served, was excellent value especially compared to the fairly average but expensive food served in the restaurants in the two town squares. Add to that the excellent, unobtrusive service and peaceful ambiance, this is a superb way to spend an evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordeloos, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
394 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Costly starshine...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you're in for a healthy walk from your parked car (at the periphery of the, almost, car-free old city center), through a beautiful historical environment to the Blok's restaurant, you will not be disappointed. That is to say, if you're prepared to pay a healthy bill... The restaurant has been awarded a Michelin star, and you'll find yourself paying toll for that. Nevertheless, the food is original, elegant and beautifully served; the house wines are tasty and well chosen in harmony with the menu, and service is what you can expect when you're bathing in starshine. We haven't seen a menu as we followed the waitress's recommendation to trust on the chef's inspiration. This yielded us mackarel, haddock (which you would not expect in a top restaurant) and lamb meat, to give you an idea that the chef makes unconventional choices. A final, critical comment is that the restaurant, located in a fairly narrow room, was very noisy at the busy evening that we were there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JWG_080353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
296 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“My very first time in a star restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have been travelling both for pleasure and mostly for work since more than 20 years now. However, I never dined in a restaurant with a star. My colleague reserved a table for the both us in this restaurant without telling me it had a star. It is well deserved. The welcome was very friendly, the food was lovely, the wines were great. If you are in Amersfoort and you want to spend a lovely evening with great food and wines, this is where you need to go. Fab!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank degtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good food in a nice setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Nice, modern, restaurant. High end cuisine.

The kitchen is in the back with windows so you can see the chefs work.

Elegant and tastefull dishes. Matched with wine by the glass (if you like).

I had a 4 course "surprise" menu. Elegant and good food. Small extra dishes in between the regular dishes.

Not cheap but very good value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PogoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blok's also viewed

Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Blok's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing