We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing on the edge of the river”
Review of Dara Amersfoort

Dara Amersfoort
Ranked #11 of 235 Restaurants in Amersfoort
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Relaxing on the edge of the river”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

A Turkish/North African approach to food with tapas size dishes that didn't let us down. The inside of this place is quite impressive in terms of design but we preferred the outside for its relaxed atmosphere of wine bar on the edge of the river.
Shame about the service though.. Slow, slack and inattentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ByeByeBlues7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    124
    51
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
160 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“thumbs up for a good restaurant”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went here with a group of 4 and had a very nice dinner. The restaurant is located next to the river Eem right opposite of the Koppelpoort, the medieval city gate that is a kind of symbol of Amersfoort.
Plenty of different seating available: outside (weather permitting), downstairs on long tables and upstairs. We chose a table on the second floor next to the window, enjoying the views.
Waiters are very young but they were friendly and did a good job.
The restaurant has a rather unusual concept specializing in 'world cuisine', serving arab, turkish, mediterranean and asian dishes.
I did fear that this lack of specialization would lead to indifferent food, or to unnatural combinations of dishes but this fear was not founded.
We ordered the 'mezze menu' and had a nice moroccan wine with it.
The menu consisted of a first course with turkish bread and different dips/little dishes to go with it.
The second course had several bigger dishes, ranging from an indian curry to a turkish aubergine dish.
And finally some really nice dessert, we were totally full and really enjoyed it.
Now the only minor criticism is the fact that dishes are probably not really authentic or as spicy as they will be served in India but I do not mind that tastes are adapted to the local palate.

All in all a very nice evening. Definitely will go here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nielshartgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The service was wonderful, good for groups because the second floor has lots of space AND windows, so you don't feel like you are being stuffed away in a back room.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cosy, efficient, good food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We took a selection of small dishes and tasted both fish, meat and vegetable dishes. They were all good and very different. Staff were friendly and efficient and we paid less than 20 euros a person. Recommended!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cocobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Long wait for excellent food”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

When entering the restaurant we were seated upstairs at a window table. The restaurant is nice and spacey, not crowded with no room between the tables as lots of other restaurants.

After ordering and getting our drinks we ordered our meal. While waiting we enjoyed looking at the large plates being served at other tables. It all looked beautiful and prepared with care.

When our food arrived we were already starting to get rather hungry: speed is nog a virtue in this restaurant. When our plates finally arrived we ordered some new drinks. The food was delicious, however our drinks did not arrive until after we asked for a second time and had already finished our food.

For desert we ordered a coffee and an Indian Chai. Shortly after that we got two coffee. Not what we ordered so I sent the waiter back for my Chai. Though there were several of the personel at the bar no-one seemed to be working, only chitchatting. Therefor it took almost fifteen minutes for my Chai to arrive.

So in short:
+ great food
+ plenty of space between the tables
+ great location

- slow service
- lots of mistakes

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dixet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dara Amersfoort also viewed

Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Dara Amersfoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing