We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A fun experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of shabu shabu

shabu shabu
Ranked #18 of 210 Restaurants in Amersfoort
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: all you can eat,top,lekker,betaalbaar,lief personeel
Charlottetown
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fun experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

It was our first time at a Shabu Shabu and it definitely won't be the last time. We were in amersfoort for the night and found this place through Tripadvisor. We had friendly and efficient service and everything we ordered was delicious. We loved the use of a tablet to order the food and there were enough non-seafood options as well if you are not a fan of sushi. We can't wait to try something like this again!

Helpful?
Thank FoodVanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    63
    25
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laag Zuthem, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, good prize”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This japanese all you eat can eat is very good. It has a nice modern interior, it is big and light, and the atmosphere is lively. The food is very tasty, and the ingredients are of good quality. Service is very accurate and fast because you order your food by tablet. The desert rounds are very nice too, because you can order as many deserts as you can eat, and they have a great variety of them.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Precious water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A crowded popular " all you can eat" restaurant. The quality of the dishes is beyond question. The portions are generous, service quick and efficient due to ordering by tablet. It is, in my opionion, at most a once every three months experience, but th kids love it. House wines are nice, but the staff have been instructed not ro serve tap water. I can imagine that providing free water would lead, in Holland, to " all you can drink" so why not ask a modest amount for a carafe of water instead of charging 6 .50 for a bottle of water from Bunnik insteD of Amersfoort?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chroniceur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlierden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
363 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Did not expect such quality in an 'all you can eat sushi'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We where pointed to this restaurant by the hotel receptionist, normally we prefer to eat sushi in a real sushi restaurant, but this is an all you can eat restaurant. We had some minor experiences in similar all you can eat so we where a bit hesitant. Well, no reason for that, the food was good and sometimes even a bit better, the sushi's itself looked a bit smaller then they should be, but then again it is all you can eat so ou order again. Ordering goes through a mini-tablet, that is remarkably accurate. Soon after oredering the food arrives. The service is a bit unpersonal, the waitresses have a big round to do, but then the girl serving the drinks had plenty of time for a friendly chat. In the end, no complaints whatsoever. Would I go back, yes no doubt.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterEijsbouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gimmick”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

In This restaurant the customer uses ipads to order his sushi. You can order as much as you want. If you are not carefull your table will soon be overflowing with little dishes with sushi. The drinks have to be ordered with a waiter and this took forever with us. The waiters are all willing but not always well trained. The manager did his best to salvage the situation. The food is not good. The noodles were so overdone that they were almost a paste, the rice was tasteless as was much of the fish.
Fun for a night out because you can continue to order as much as you want but not recommended for sushi-lovers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenWRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed shabu shabu also viewed

Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 

Been to shabu shabu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing