We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded All Expectations”
Review of De Saffraan

De Saffraan
Reserve with
De Saffraan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 242 Restaurants in Amersfoort
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceeded All Expectations”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our first visit to this restaurant. We were somewhat sceptical when we saw that it was a "boat", but from the moment we arrived on board we knew that we were in for something good. We had the 7 course meal, which was absolutely superb. Each course was unique and delicious. The dessert was a mini-3 course treat with mouth-watering flavors. The service was impeccable and perfectly timed. The restaurant's ambiance was charming and comfortable. Would we eat there again? Most definitly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guymat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    38
    20
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
2 reviews
“Excellent experience of food and more”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I missed the special offer in 2012, finally this year got an special offer to give it a try. We had a tasting menu, which contain 7 dishes. De Saffraan offers flexible wine paring, you can choose either three or more wine to combine with the dishes.
All and all it’s a very nice experience, it’s not just about the food itself but also
how they pay attention too all small details like put some toiletries in the lady’s room.
They even changed the wine they have chosen for me first and before the dish serve,
they just change it and the reason is the 2nd one matches the dish better than the first one I got. The dessert wine from Austria matches cheese plate perfectly. There must be a reason why De Saffraan can be a one star restaurant, not just the food, the wine, but also about their ambition and the passion of food
Pricy or not, it’s subjective, can only compared with other star restaurant if you have been to many. Nevertheless it is a memorable experience, would like to visit them again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Experimental, exciting and excellent”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

De Saffraan is super. Their style is an inspirational mix of classic basics but always with an exciting twist (a flavour from Asian food for example surprising you with a traditional fish dish, or just the lightest, most exciting piece of foie I've been served). It's not "easy" as the courses challenge you to discover the what makes them special, and I really enjoyed that. Every plate was beautifully presented, and some highlights were the veal tartar and the lamb. Wine pairings hit the spot, again with surprising combinations that sometimes made us wonder why had the wine been chosen until the dish itself was brought to the table. All in all a superb experience, well worth traveling from Amsterdam or other cities to enjoy this. We'll definitely be back in the summer to enjoy the terrace on the boat deck as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LassiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“not really a michelin star restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had dinner here a few weeks ago. Been before to this restaurant but only once we thought yeah this is a star restaurant. This time it was nice but didn't have a wow factor.I would rate it between average and good. For a normal restaurant it would be good but with a michelin star you expect more. Combination between food and sauces for example didn't allways work for us. Friendly staff, good winelist, expensive

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great ambience with refined food”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

For the ambience, we enjoyed both being on the refreshing deck and in the romantic cabin. The service was friendly. The wine arrangement was really good. We were satisfied with our 6-course menu "Heden en Verleden". The presentation and food quality was excellent! We were quite entertained by some creative dishes.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LivanRoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Saffraan also viewed

Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 

Been to De Saffraan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing