We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great meat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Ternero

El Ternero
Lieve Vrouwestraa 22, Amersfoort, The Netherlands
0334638705
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 206 Restaurants in Amersfoort
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Known for their beef dishes.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great meat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great food. Modern, stylish athmosphere. Full, make a reservation, also on weekdays. Booths look good but are hard and uncomfortable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wouter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    30
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Real steak in wonderful interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Although this restaurant deserves a whole evening we choose to have a main course before we went to see a play at Lieve Vrouw Theatre. Full meal with soft juicy meat, delicious salad bar and very friendly personel. The cook came to our table.

Helpful?
Thank TessaVeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good steak in fancy environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Steak is not very special or extra ordinary but It is the best steak I had in Amersfoort so far.
Staff are very nice and they speak English :)
Environment is so cool and designed very well. I really like their woody decoration. It 's art!
Potato with sour cream is so good, but Salad bar doesn't have so variety. Sangria is not as good as Sangria I had before.

Generally, when I want to have a nice steak in Amersfoort my first choice is "El Ternero".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank minaeimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average food and poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant looks nice but it's just a shame the food and service don't match the surroundings.

The steaks are fine but nothing special.
The spicy rice was a microwaved plain type with a small amount of seasoning sprinkled on top. Very poor.
The buffet salad is a nice touch.
Service is its biggest drawback, very poor.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sigur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We came here for the meat. It was ok but nothing out of the ordinary. There are better argentinian restaurants to be found in Hilversum or Amsterdam.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank MichelSchudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ternero also viewed

Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 

Been to El Ternero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing