We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business hotel, good rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Amersfoort A1
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Amersfoort
Certificate of Excellence
Exloo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel, good rates”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night/Sunday morning; during weekends the rates are even more reasonable than they normally are at this hotel chain. The rooms are spacious, and comfortable, a bit too modern to my taste, but that is personal of course. The beds are of a very good quality (they even offer them for sale). The bathroom has a wonderful walk in shower with plenty of hot water without having to wait for it, and oh joy, the bathroom mirror is heated, so you can see yourself and shave after the shower without having to wipe it first.
At breakfast there is a good choice, with eggs made to order, really fresh orange juice and everything one might wish - also at a fair price. What I particularly liked was the attention of the waiters - as a solo traveller it regularly happens that your table is cleared during the time you go to the buffet for a second round. Here they kept an eye on you, and that does make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the corridors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    303
    84
    18
    7
See reviews for
86
318
21
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Good hotel, adjacent to highway A1. Very nice and cozy rooms. perfect place to break your drive when criscossing Netherlands. There is a Mc. Donalds next to the hotel. which works 24 hours. so no problem of late coming. Good staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabhakar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nandrin, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

As all the van der Valk, this hotel is situated just near an highway but sound isolation is so good that you don't listen anything. Very comfortable room, with a nice decoration. Service is very good and the breakfast is simply incredible...

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Benedicte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a newish hotel with very reasonable rooms, good bathrooms and a good restaurant. It is mostly a business hotel but there was quite a mix of clientele when I was there.

Service was great and the food both at dinner and breakfast was very good.

Breakfast is completely self service (which personally I prefer), with a good selection of different breads, fruits, cereals and hot food also.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Van Der Valk hotel in Amersfoort was absolutely wonderful. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was superb. We enjoyed the mini-bar that was included in our package, and also felt that the breakfast buffet was simply scrumptious. We would highly recommend this motel to anyone staying in the Amersfoort area for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodegraven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Good value for money in the true van der Valk tradition.
This is one of the newest and most modern hotels belonging to the chain. The rooms are just comfortable and very clean indeed. Beds are great!! A nice bathroom with walk in shower, no bath tube. Very conveniently located next to the highway leading to Amsterdam but you do need a car though. On the edge of an industrial estate there is not much to enjoy when have an after dinner walk. There is plenty to enjoy in Amersfoort downtown but this is not walking distance.
There is a nice restaurant and a cosy bar in the hotel. Typical van der Valk food: not really good, not bad either but good value. Plus a lot improved in the past 5 - 10 years.
but if you don't like, there is a WOK restaurant nextdoor and a big M across the road.
Breakfast id very good indeed with eggs being life cooked as per your liking.
Staff is friendly with customer focus. All in all the hotel gives the good feeling of staying in a higher priceclass hotel than waht you paid for. W'll be back, no worries..
.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tejostr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
273 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Since the last time I was here (a month ago) the hotel has changed their Internet solution. And this means that the hotel has gone from being a good business hotel in close proximity to my office, where I could work in the evenings, to a hotel where I can only sleep because I have to spend the evenings in the office.

First of all, the login solution in place is horrible. I get disconnected all the time, so I have to type in user name and password all the time, and on all of my devices. This is truly annoying. Second of all, the speed of the net is drastically reduced.

If they fix this, I would have no problem coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thorhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amersfoort hotels
NH Amersfoort
#1 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Coninckstraat
Hotel de Tabaksplant
Hotel de Tabaksplant
#8 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Jan Hotel
#4 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Princess Hotel Amersfoort
#7 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Amersfoort A1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Amersfoort A1

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Amersfoort A1
Address: Ruimtevaart 22, 3824 MX Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Amersfoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Amersfoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Amersfoort A1 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Amersfoort A1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing