We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern and nondescript with a few gripes” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amersfoort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
NH Amersfoort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Amersfoort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Modern and nondescript with a few gripes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Staying for a week. Hotel modern. Nice and modern room. Got a "superior" room that is large and fine.

Gripes:
The wifi in the room is extremely slow
Every day my key card stops working and I have to go to the reception to fix it
Room is cold. Can't adjust it any warmer
AC is noisy
Arrived on a sunday and the restaurant was open but had no real food. Just microwave-ish stuff
TV remote doesn't work (tried to exchange it but something is amiss. Don't care enough about tv watching to exchange it twice)

Room Tip: High up is probably better. The AC is so lout you don't hear the trains in the back anyways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PogoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    310
    60
    11
    6
See reviews for
68
260
44
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was very surprised with the rooms, they seemed like they had just been redecorated and were very clean. The beds were comfortable and there were a large selection of pillows of varying hardness available from reception if required. The car park is located around the back of the hotel. Spaces were limited but it seemed very secure, and costs 15 euros for 24 hours. Staff were extremely helpful, but one downside was that WiFi was advertised as free in the lobby but when I tried to connect it kept asking for payment. (I didn't get a chance to ask the reception about it, so there might be a simple solution). Very close to Amersfoort, about a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SL92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Booked a room at the hotel through the website, but forgot my credit card downstairs, so could not yet pay for it.

Then, downstairs, I decided not to bother to go back up, and booked through mobile.
I almost didn't believe my eyes when I saw a 50% off button on the mobile website.
Clicked the button, went through the booking process and got my room, excluding break-fast for €37.50 instead of the Budget rate of €75!

So folks, check the mobile website to book ANY NH Hotel! They have better offers then the regular site.

Aside from that,

Spacious room, clean, choice of 4 pillows.
Nice empty mini fridge to put some stuff in.

WiFi is only free for 15 mins. then you get the ridiculous Swisscom pricing for Internet.

Hotels in Europe really do need to get with the program that Internet is not an extra service, but something that is expected to be free in hotel rooms.

Bed: Great
Noise: Great! Asked a quiet room, got one!
Staff: Friendly enough.
Breakfast: Didn't use any.

Great choice if you need to be in Amersfoort or Utrecht area in Holland.

Room Tip: Book through their mobile site! Save money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niels V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Booked NH Amersfoort as it is new and conveniently located near the railway station. When booking, I requested a non-smoking room, as I am allergic to smoke.
I checked in late. When entering the room I noticed a funny, strong perfumed smell but did not think much else of it. I went to bed straight away but woke up in the middle of the night and found the funny smell had made way for an intense ashtray odour:it appeared I was given a smoking room.
I complained to reception the next morning. The reception manager kindly explained to me that 'the fact that I request something does not mean I get it'. And of course when checking in the hotel staff never told me that I was allocated a smoking room. To make up for the error, I was offered a cup of coffee (which I declined, after paying €130 for one night in an ashtray) and the promise they would add a note in their booking system, ensuring I would get a non-smoking room the next time I book. Well, there will not be a next time: I now know what 'NH' stands for: Not Healthy.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rutger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Situated a short walk from the train station, the NH Amersfoort offers a great location for both travel and site seeing. A short walk down the road and you are in the centre of this beautiful and historic city. The hotel is friendly and very clean. The rooms are spacious and air conditioned although this can be a little hard to control sometimes. The food is in the main is good but there are plenty of bars and restaurants in the centre. Tom, the barman is excellent and always welcomes you back. There is free wifi although this ranges from good to bad depending how busy the hotel is. In all, a good quality hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
174 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Modern clean room. Huge bathroom. Friendly staff.
Conveniently located between the train station & town center (both walkable)
Breakfast ok- but I have been at better NH Hotels for breakfast.
Nice with kettle in the room and there is an empty fridge which is good if you are staying a couple days and want to keep some drinks cold.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC_Malmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
219 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is a good choice when staying in Amersfoort. Conveniently located between train station and city centre, with restaurants and shops at walking distance, and with nice, modern rooms. Nothing fancy, just everything you need, clean and friendly room and a good room size. Slept very well. We did not have breakfast in the hotel, so cannot comment on this aspect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerrisXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amersfoort hotels
Coninckstraat
Hotel de Tabaksplant
Hotel de Tabaksplant
#8 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Lange Jan Hotel
#4 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princess Hotel Amersfoort
#7 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amersfoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amersfoort

Property: NH Amersfoort
Address: Stationsstraat 75, 3811 MH Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Amersfoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Amersfoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amersfoort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amersfoort hotel gives you the advantage of a central location in the historical city of Amersfoort, just five minutes walking to the Amersfoort Central Station and two minutes from the old city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your NH Amersfoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing